We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True rest and relaxation”
Review of Spring House Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castleton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spring House Farm
South Beds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“True rest and relaxation”
Reviewed 14 May 2011

We have recently returned from our fifth visit (and our sixth visit is already booked) to Spring House Farm Cottages – we stay in Harry Eye with our 2 grand children joining us for our first weekend and their parents stay in Shippon Cottage. Being about a mile from the road means that kids are safe and the animals are a great distraction.

Both cottages are well equipped, very comfortable and immaculately presented with lots of homely touches.

We can sit and watch the newborn lambs gambolling in the field (about ten feet away) and the hang gliders over Mam Tor from the sun trap garden at the back of Harry Eyre. Even if the weather is unkind the thick walls and warm fires keep us snug.

There is always a very warm and caring welcome from Maeve, Mark and Alice and their 5 four footed friends (3 horses and 2 dogs) not only for the humans but for our dog as well. Two stables are adjacent to Shippon with further stabling adjacent to the menage and paddock.

We cannot recommend Spring House Farm Cottages more highly as a holiday base for the beautiful surrounding Derbyshire countryside. Located at the crossroads of two walks, the villages of Hope and Castleton can be visited “off road”. The climb to the top of Lose Hill is rewarded with spectacular views over both the Hope Valley and Edale with the option to walk along the ridge to Mam Tor.

Try the cottages …... you will be as “hooked”as we are.

Liked Best Arriving

Liked Least Leaving

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnSouthBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Have stayed here several times now and always feel very comfortable. Being made to feel very welcome by the owners who are approachable and always willing to help and advise. Cottage in a fantastic location. You can park you car and leave it until you go home as there are fabulous walks right from your doorstep and it is a lovely 15 minutes walk into Castleton itself, although you will need a torch in the evening. Lots of nice pubs in Castleton (our favourites being The Cheshire Cheese Inn, The Peak Inn and the Castle). We had an excellent meal in the Castle at a very reasonable cost. All-in-all, this is a very relaxing place to stay and wouldn't hesitate in recommending this to anyone. If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of life, then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2010

I had a wonderful stay in the beautiful cottage - it was fantastically comfortable and very well facilitated and beautifully detailed. I would definitely recommend Spring House Farm to a friend

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cabaiste_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2008

Spring House Farm Cottages (near Castleton) has two cottages--we stayed two nights in Shippon Cottage, which has two storeys, with kitchen, living room and full bathroom downstairs, and a large bedroom with four poster bed and a second sitting room upstairs.

The cottage was genuinely comfortable and very clean. The setting, with views over Lose Hill, was very quiet (and very far back off the main road).

The owners, (whose house is next to the cottages), were too nice for words. We found a complimentary bottle of wine and box of chocolates and fresh flowers in the cottage. They lent us a torch so that we could wander into Castleton at nighttime and told us about lots of walks.

From the cottage you can walk up to Lose Hill and then along the ridge between the Hope and Edale Valleys. Getting to the ridge is a steep climb, but the views were fabulous.

I would definitely recommend this as the perfect place to stay if you would prefer self-catering rather than a B&B. They even provided us with food in the fridge for Breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo6284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
0.8 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#2 of 13 in Castleton
230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Swiss House B&B
Swiss House B&B
#3 of 13 in Castleton
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
1.3 mi away
YHA Castleton Losehill Hall
2.2 mi away
The Rambler Inn
The Rambler Inn
#1 of 5 in Edale
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring House Farm

Property: Spring House Farm
Address: Hope Valley, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Castleton
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Spring House Farm Castleton, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing