We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Splendid cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
view
view
view
Welcome to Two Owls Lodge
view
view
view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Darley Dale, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David B
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Splendid cottage”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Two Owls Lodge is an immaculate modem cottage sharing extensive grounds and woodland with the owner’s house. We found it extremely clean, tidy, superbly furnished and recently decorated. The kitchen is well equipped with everything one might need, and the bathroom contains a Jacuzzi bath and a wonderfully powerful shower. Both bedrooms are very comfortable and our daughter loved the cosy single room.

There is a lot to see and do within easy driving distance. Matlock, Matlock Bath, Bakewell and Ashbourne are well worth a visit. Further afield, the Tram Museum is a grand day out, and the National Trust owned Hardwick Hall is spectacular with a very interesting history. The Old Hall on the same estate, although owner by English Heritage, is free to NT card-carrying members.

Lesley the owner (Jane is her agent) made us feel very welcome and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern facilities and immaculate state
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to place a review and such a lovely one at that. We really appreciate your comments and it gives future guests the confidence to book with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We take pride in our cottages and always appreciate feedback. I do hope that you will consider staying with us in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
pgoodland
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Happy Find”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a fabulous stay at Two Owls Lodge. A wonderful cottage in a very picturesque setting. The Owners were very friendly and helpful and would have left us to ourselves if we hadn't wanted to bother. The cottage has top quality fittings and it was a true pleasure to stay. We will be back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Two Owls Lodge, your comments are very much valued. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay and do look forward to you returning to us soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane E
Matlock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Could not fault the accommodation or the surroundings”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Luxury and very comfortable holiday cottage. Amazing views and great walks. Only a short stroll to the local pub.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2016
Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on our luxury accommodation and appreciate you time to comment .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing