We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5* Beautiful Cottage - Highly recommended”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
view
view
view
Welcome to Two Owls Lodge
view
view
view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Darley Dale, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stephanie...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5* Beautiful Cottage - Highly recommended”
Reviewed 9 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second trip to this wonderful little let in Darley Dale. 5* hotel almost with log burner, Jacuzzi bath, little chocolates and flowers on the double bed and cream tea on arrival. Great views from the living room and a very quiet location if you are looking to get away from the hustle and bustle though you are not far from busier areas if you wish them. Great gardens to explore along with local walking routes. Kitchen is spacious with all the facilities you could want and the bathroom is amazing. We will be back a third time as the hosts are very friendly and accommodating and we couldn't recommend any improvements for this cottage. This a perfect one

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2017
Thank you first of all for returning to our lovely cottage and secondly for such a lovely review. I am so pleased you are considering a third stay with us. We aim is to ensure that all guests enjoy their stay and leave feeling relaxed. It is much appreciate that you have taken the time to leave your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excursion...
2 reviews
“5* hotel luxury but self catering!”
Reviewed 28 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a fabulous stay at Two Owls Lodge. The accommodation was clean, fresh, and the standard of a 5* hotel. We felt truly spoilt!
The pictures of the inside of the lodge are accurate, it is as it looks online.
The location is great, the views lovely, and we will not hesitate to return. No disappointment on arrival, as sometimes happens.
We were blessed with fabulous weather too, so we really did have the best time. Friendly owners too!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2017
Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on our luxury accommodation and appreciate you time to comment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry J
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 23 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The location great for visiting numerous places and walking
Truly home from home a credit to Jane the house was beautifully furnished and spotless. The cream tea on our arrival was a lovely thought and very welcome.
We will certainly be returning. Would have no hesitation in recommending
Thank You Jane
Pat and Larry

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2017
Thank you for taking the time to complete your review. It is very much appreciated and we value your feedback as potential future guests can be guaranteed of their expectations. We truly hope to see you again in the not too distance future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yodelady
Painted Post, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really heard owls!”
Reviewed 28 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

It was a very comfortable detached house next door to the owners. The extra nice touches were: all the fixings left for a cream tea upon arrival; tea and instant decaf coffee supplies were in the kitchen and also another set and kettle upstairs in the master bedroom.

We had to arrive in the dark and although directions were supplied, they could have been improved. Saying after the hill, turn right, would have been better if there was some reference to what road, even saying the road is unmarked, would be an improvement, but we found the place after one wrong turn.

As a non-British resident, better instructions about the washing machine and dishwasher would have been better. I wasn't really sure what pod was for which machine, as they were stored together and not in the original boxes, but I was glad they were supplied for a couple washes. A tumbler would have been useful as it was quite damp each day and we had to finally hang the laundry inside on hangers overnight despite them being outside on the line all day. This was not easy with hangers that were hotel style you could only use in the closet. (Nice big closet.)

It was intimidating to have the owners dog barking loudly at me the whole time I was at the clothes line, even if he was on the other side of a wall. I didn't know if he could jump over it or not. But overall, we liked our stay and would recomend it and would stay again if in the area, now knowing what to expect.

We were pleased to hear owls and to see a pheasant walk next to the front of the lodge, on the patio, near the glass doors.

If I lived there, I'd get better bedroom curtains to block out the street light shining in my eyes while I was in bed. (I hate that.) And I'd certainly re-arrange the furniture to allow better access to plugs for charging cell phones or plugging them in for use as alarm clocks and also for the hair dryer (thanks for providing it, although I had no idea where to find it) near the vanity. The master bedroom was arranged to look nice and hide the plugs, rather than make them reachable.

But again, overall, we liked it there and these complaints (except the directions) are minor.

The bathroom towels were large and fluffy, the bathroom was large. As a person travellingfrom overseas, it would have been nice to have some soap in the shower, but there was liquid hand soap for hand washing. I'd have liked to open the window to air it out after a shower for a couple minutes, but they were locked.

Recommended!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am sorry to hear that you struggled with the directions and thank you for your comments. I will certainly look into improving the directions. All your other comments will be looked into also and thank you again for your views. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and maybe you would consider staying with us again in the not too distance future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shuulem
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven in Stone and Mortar”
Reviewed 6 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is perfect in every single way.. Set in a breathtaking location, this stunning house is decorated to a luxurious and supremely tasteful standard, has top of the range branded appliances throughout (especially in the kitchen which makes preparing food a real treat), a huge lounge, a bathroom you may never want to leave and a master bedroom truly fit for kings and queens.. Every conceivable need has been anticipated and provided for by the hosts, a sure sign that the delightful owners of Two Owls Lodge really do give a hoot :-)..... We will definitely recommend you to stay here.... It may just be the best holiday decision you can ever make.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2017
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. Our aim is to ensure that all guests enjoy their stay and leave feeling relaxed which you seem to have achieved. It is much appreciate that you have taken the time to leave your comments and truly hope that you will return to us again in the not too distance future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam04770
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely lodge weekend away”
Reviewed 28 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Stayed here for the weekend. Lovely cream tea on arrival. Everything was first class and could not fault. Unfortunately I wasn't feeling my best. Would love to stay again and take more of the area in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Two Owls Lodge but sorry to hear you were not feeling your best. Hopefully when you visit us again you will be on top form.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clc1973
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Stayed at the Lodge from the 05th of August until the 12th August,had a warm welcome from Lesley the owner and had a lovely cream tea waiting for us.
The Lodge was clean and tidy and had everything you needed and more,the jacuzzi and the Power shower was a big plus.There was so much to see and do we felt we hardly scratched the surface of the area .
We will definitely recommend the beautiful lodge to everyone and we will be making a return visit in the future for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet and very very relaxing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2016
Thank you for taking the time to make this review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you visiting us again in the not too distance future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing