We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegi Pie...lovley”

The Square & Compass Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darley Dale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Square & Compass Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Darley Dale B&B and Inns
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Vegi Pie...lovley”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We visited this pub, which was within walking distance or our B&B. We ordered very near close of food orders which was not a problem. The staff could not have been more helpful and did their best to make us feel very welcome. Even our dog was welcomed. We ordered the homemade vegi pie, which was gorgeous.... the best I have had for a long time...lovely. I would recommend the food with out a doubt.

While there many other people started to arrive, some playing crib. The atmosphere of that night was great. The décor is a little tired, but that added to its charm. x
Well Done Alan - Wendy

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainbowsmiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    26
    12
    4
    11
See reviews for
16
21
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Having spent a lovely night at a B & B in Alfreton the night before, we were disappointed with the pub room which was £5 more at a charge of £80 for double room. Noisy, shabby, no remote for tv as it had been stolen by previous guest & gurgling noise from bathroom throughout night. Big plate of English breakfast which was average but no fruit & yoghurt as would have preferred a healthier choice. No brown bread. Smokers sit outside underneath bedroom window hence noise & smoke. Shame as its in a pretty spot and it could be made really lovely.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hyacinth19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Great campsite, quite basic but does what it says on the tin.

Food in the pub is reasonably priced and decent, locals and staff really friendly.

Showers could do with a bit of an overhaul, but it was the end of the no doubt busy summer season, perhaps these are on the repairs list

Ideal situation for walking and biking.

Great beer too!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Having read other reviews I was a bit concerned about 9 of us eating here.
But all was fine, The homemade stew was lovely, Pie and chips was just that and tasted great, Burgers fine, chicken was a little dry but ok. Home made puddings were good.
Choice was a bit limited, but we were made welcome.
It's not fine dining, just good honest pub grub.
We all left full having paid just under £100 with drinks.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I stayed here for 1 night on 5th November whilst attending a family wedding near by. I was a little wary about the hotel after reading some comments on here but I have to say it was brilliant. The staff were extreamly friendly (even giving us a lift back to the wedding to save on a taxi!) we needed a quad room but they only had a triple left so the owner put a fold out bed for us and reduced to rate for the room! The rooms look gorgeous with modern bedding and decor. The best were the comfiest I have ever slept in!! It was clean and well lit with tea and coffee making facilities and a brand new TV with freeview.

We all opted for a full breakfast which was lovely, there was also cereal.

I'm so glad I didn't listen to people on here that just seem to like a moan! I would stay here time and time again. It was brilliant value at only £30pppn!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy9598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2011

After reading many poor reviews I thought I'd write about our stay, we've just got back from a stay here and found it lovely, our room was on the front but could hear no noise from the road, the room was lovely and clean, very soft comfy bed, very clean bathroom, the staff were all very friendly, we had breakfast in the conservatory overlooking fields, the breakfast was lovely and you got more than enough food, we would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klcrockford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We camped on the field opposite and for a returned favor our group went over to the pub to eat. What a disappointment to say the least.

The food was at best atrocious. Chips soggy and sweet, the beef steak was more like pork - just where do you buy grey beef from again? Chicken pie that was tasteless, anemic chicken and as for the fish!

To top it off we were told - its our fault for coming in a big group and it was all home-cooked! We would have been better off with a microwaved ping ping special.

Pity because its in a lovely area and could be so nice

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simono1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Darley Dale hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darley Dale
0.6 mi away
Barringtons
Barringtons
#2 of 6 in Darley Dale
165 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grouse and Claret
Grouse and Claret
#2 of 5 in Rowsley
450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chesterfield House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Slayleigh B&B
Slayleigh B&B
#1 of 6 in Darley Dale
43 reviews
3.7 mi away
Willersley Castle Hotel
Willersley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Square & Compass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Square & Compass Inn

Property: The Square & Compass Inn
Address: Station Road | Darley Dale, Darley Dale, Matlock DE4 2EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Darley Dale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Darley Dale
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Square & Compass Inn Darley Dale, Matlock, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing