We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place really friendly lovely food and staff”

The Square & Compass Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darley Dale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Square & Compass Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Darley Dale B&B and Inns
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great place really friendly lovely food and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

great country pub land lord and lady are fantastic as is the staff .Good choice of drinks and food excellant highly recommend the sundays roasts dog friendly and a lovely location especially on a hot day , locals
are friendly and funny

Room Tip: didnt stay in the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pigyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    25
    11
    4
    11
See reviews for
16
20
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We visited the Square and Compass for a short family break, the Landlord and Landlady could not do enough to make us feel at home, nice cozy room, unlimited hot water, and amazing food in the pub at very reasonable prices. We could not fault the breakfasts or the attitude of the hosts, I believe this is a relatively undiscovered jewel of a place for anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank byron w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on their campsite for the first time, upon arrival thought it was a lovely setting and possibly the first of many visits. Paid for pitch and bar staff were ok then went to pitch. First meeting with owner was when he came over and asked for our ticket to show we paid, no "welcome" no "hello" no "have you stayed with us before, do you know where everything is" absolutely no welcome at all. We did get a list of rules when we arrived but that was it! Portaloos stunk with no loo roll and when we checked out the showers ( after asking where they were) they clearly hadn't been cleaned all day despite the site being quite full. Dared to ask where the drinking water tap was and got a funny reply. Quite simply, don't bother with this place, they clearly don't care about customers!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harrogatespaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Darley Dale hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

The square and compass is a great place to stay if anyone is visiting the area. Alan the landlord and the landlady are very nice and friendly, they cant do enough to help you during your stay. The food is good value and are good portions, the breakfast is great and big also one off the best breakfast I have had in a hotel, all the food is home cooked. They is a good selection of beers on the bar which is a bonus. If we go back to the area we would go back to this great inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We were looking for a b&b near a campsite, as my dad camps but me n my partner like a bit more luxury (my mum passed away recently and we wanted to be nearby). We found the square and compass and stayed for 2 nights in May, the campsite is directly opposite. Rooms are basic but very comfortable and clean, we all had a fantastic time. It's in a beautiful part of the Peak District. Walk about a mile and you will find some other pubs and a shop. Breakfast was eaten in their conservatory, food and views great. We will definitely be going back again and would like to say thank you to both Alan and Marian for their warm welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AR_AP0724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

A nice room, clean, comfortable bed and good facilities. Needed a little TLC, carpet seen better days and curtains hanging loosely from it's rail didn't help the otherwise pleasing appearance. Clean bathroom, powerful shower. Noise from other guests caused some disturbance, doors being allowed to bang shut later at night and in the early hours, also some bathroom noise. No disturbance from outside traffic.
Breakfast was quite good, fruit juice/cereals and a choice of various items with toast and drink.
Limited ales in the bar, but the evening meal was enjoyed - try the Jambalaya !
All in all, an OK. stay, reasonable value for money and would probably stay again.

Room Tip: Might be as well to request an upstairs room to minimise noise disturbance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesside
Level Contributor
135 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

Stayed in the campsite opposite a number of times and use the pub for food and facilities. Toilet and shower rooms are in need of serious renovation. No lock on door, showers flood all over floor, broken toilet seats. Just no a good experience.
Bar staff are friendly and drinks are good. Food has been ok over the years, but they stopped serving at 8:30 on Friday night which was dissapointing.
Ca't comment on rooms as have not used them.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bikerboy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darley Dale
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
3.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Barringtons
Barringtons
#3 of 6 in Darley Dale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
3.7 mi away
Willersley Castle Hotel
Willersley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.6 mi away
Slayleigh B&B
Slayleigh B&B
#1 of 6 in Darley Dale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Square & Compass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Square & Compass Inn

Property: The Square & Compass Inn
Address: Station Road | Darley Dale, Darley Dale, Matlock DE4 2EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Darley Dale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Darley Dale
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Square & Compass Inn Darley Dale, Matlock, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing