We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Autumn colours wonderful in Whitworth Park, Darley Dale.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Whitworth Park

Whitworth Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Autumn colours wonderful in Whitworth Park, Darley Dale.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Being a derbyshire lad I get to visit Whitwoth Park quite often. The colours of the trees are particularly colourful at this time of the year. The former boating lake as now been restored into a wildlife haven having been devoid of water for many a year. The Terrace Tea Shop as come to life under a new chef with a full menu throughout the day, everyday. A lovely place to spend a while recharging the batteries.

Keith P

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank KarmaDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    20
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Fantastic park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

A hidden gem that we discovered on holiday, Whitworth Park is beautiful and well maintained. Vast expanses of luscious green grass, surrounded by blossoming shrubs. There are a couple of small lakes, we even saw a heron on our visit.
There are lots of benches dotted around so you can take the time to relax and admire the tranquillity.
A great place to walk the dogs.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank nikki f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely local park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Having moved to Derbyshire from London 2 years ago, we are delighted to have such a beautiful, peaceful and unspoilt park on our doorstep. Another big plus is the easy and free parking facility. A beautiful lake, lovely far reaching views and ample seating is much appreciated. Many local events and entertainment held here but I would say there is room for improvement with the play area facilities as they are quite limited and not very exciting for ages 5-10. Much ore could be done to improve this facility as the park is not short on space. The other area is the terrace cafe which is often closed and quite sad in appearance.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank zlister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Went there one evening and the children loved it. Plenty to play on and a nice place to walk around.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sunnyavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wish more people used it then they would do more!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I love the park walk around it with our dog on many an occasion but think they could do more! It is a lovely size with so much history and if they only put on more event for families it would be great! Children's summer clubs would be great too!

Opening the gates would temp people to use the park also!!

The tea room has got to be the saddest looking place in the world the Centre opens for local clubs and you see parents sitting in their cars waiting for the clubs to finish if the tea room was open and more inviting it would be a perfect place to wait instead of sitting in a Car!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank tisme21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whitworth Park also viewed

 
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to Whitworth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing