We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HUGE Rooms!”
Review of Barringtons

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barringtons
Ranked #2 of 6 Darley Dale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Enjoyed our stay at Barringtons. My wife and I had a Deluxe Queen room and my teenage daughters shared a Deluxe Twin room. Both rooms were HUGE! It was a very pleasant change from the “shoe-box” sized rooms we had stayed at other hotels. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean and at GBP70 per night per room, we believe this was exceptional value. We were disappointed with the breakfast, but overall a very good place to stay.

Room Tip: We had the deluxe rooms which overlooked the front of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

My family and I had a lovely late lunch today at Barringtons. Most of us opted for the set menu which was excellent at £12.00 for two courses and £15.00 for three courses. The food was very good and plenty of it. They were busy and the service was still excellent. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Went here for dinner with a friend. We ordered from the set courses menu which was 2 for £10 or 3 for £12. There was not a wide selection but ample and a good variety of things, I had the mozzarella wedges to start which were lovely and my friend had the mini fish cakes. My main was a creamy fish pie with veg, piping hot pie with big chunks of salmon and cod and a great selection of cauliflower broccoli, sugar snap peas and carrots. My friend had a burger with BBQ sauce and chips which looked yummy. We were quite full but for only £2 extra thought it would be rude not to have pudding. My chocolate cheese cake was delicious and a good size. Overall I was very impressed as usually places that do the generic 2 meals for £10 etc tend to be a disappointment and it's like they are doing you a favour by serving you you a cheap meal, but, you get small portions and microwaved veg.
This was the total opposite, the staff were also so helpful and efficient. Will definitely go back soon!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Dorothy47187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

enjoyed our stay at Barringtons room was spacious as was the bath room good selection of wines and beers ate at the hotel in the evening and breakfast was big enough to keep us going and only needed a snack for lunch the only downside was the locked door at top of the stairs and balancing you suitcases whilst you negotiated getting through it

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elizabeth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Myself and other family members have just returned from an overnight stay at Barringtons. We arrived just before lunch yesterday and was greeted by Johnny. He was helpful, welcoming and polite. We were early so only one room was ready so he took us up to it. The housekeeper was there and what a really nice young lady she was. Our three rooms were spacious, clean and comfy. Next morning we came down to breakfast and Johnny had arranged for us all to be seated together. Georgia came to take our order, the breakfast were cooked from fresh, hot and very good. Georgia is such a pleasant young girl, asking if we needed anything else, refilling the coffee, bringing extra toast. I said to my family ' Well what do you think of my choice of hotel ', It was a resounding response of 'Excellent, loved it '

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakikane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Just ate here, didn't stay - Nice food in a pleasant dining area. Bit smarter menu and surroundings than your average local pub but not much difference in price so good for a couples night out. Handy for car parking and a walk around Whitworth park so also good for a lunchtime meet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

originally booked as we should have been going white water rafting which was cancelled due to water levels. so we still decided to attend rather than loose our money.we arrived quite late on saturday evening around 7.45,room was very nice.we had a very good meal,2 steaks and a bottle of wine £26. breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darley Dale
3.5 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
329 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
384 reviews
4.7 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 53 in Matlock
442 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Wellington Country Inn
2.7 mi away
Cables B&B
Cables B&B
#1 of 8 in Matlock Bath
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barringtons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barringtons

Address: Dale Road North, Darley Dale, Matlock DE4 2FT, England (Formerly Whitworth Park Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Darley Dale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Darley Dale
Price Range: £49 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Barringtons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barringtons Darley Dale, Matlock, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing