We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor”
Review of Barringtons

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barringtons
Ranked #2 of 6 Darley Dale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Ate in the restaurant, can only say food is overpriced. I had the pie, the main part of a pie is the pastry otherwise it's a stew. The pastry was in edible althought the filling was ok if not a tad watery. My wife has the fish which was frozen, at these prices I would expect a quality piece of fish. The grandson enjoyed his meal so if I ever ate here again I would have a child's meal.

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank ShadeZ1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed one night whilst visiting friends locally,we were only lolooking for a bed for the night but still expect decent good clean standards,unfortunately this was not met with the room given ,a small room overlooking front car park room 3 I think.. The carpet was stained and filthy and window sills were dusty,the bathroom was minute, with only a shower,no bath,we are not big people but still struggled with space when getting out of the shower and using the toilet...
On a plus side the staff were friendly and the breakfast service and food quality was excellent...We would only stay again in a better standard of room and bathroom if that exists!!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank ChrisJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

we use barringtons alot as it never fails to please us .The staff are wonderful and the food excellant nothing is too much trouble and room 2 is a home from home .Ate there last wednesday fantastic , beautiful 3 course meal good wine and excellant value.Katie, georgina and jon were brilliant and looked after us so well .Breakfast was fantastic beautifully cooked and plentiful ,my husband and i had a fantastic evening and have booked again .Once again many thanks to all at barringtons

Room Tip: room 2 overlooks whitworth park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pigyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This is a great value hotel, with lovely staff and tasty food. Our room was amazing considering it only cost £100 for both of us for two nights. We stayed here to explore the local area and visit Alton Towers on our way back home. Free Wi-Fi, free parking and a free breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 2 (the family room) is larger than most.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

I booked a one night stay for my husbands bday.i requested a double bed but was given a couple of singles fastened together with a quilt far too small for the bed.The bed was unbelievably uncomfortable in room five.cleanliness was nt up to scratch lots of dust .
Breakfast was ok..although someone needs to wipe down the coffee making machine.
On the up side and not to sound like a grump..The staff were lovely qnd very helpful.. Overall a very over priced night away from home.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joklavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Enjoyed our stay at Barringtons. My wife and I had a Deluxe Queen room and my teenage daughters shared a Deluxe Twin room. Both rooms were HUGE! It was a very pleasant change from the “shoe-box” sized rooms we had stayed at other hotels. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean and at GBP70 per night per room, we believe this was exceptional value. We were disappointed with the breakfast, but overall a very good place to stay.

Room Tip: We had the deluxe rooms which overlooked the front of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My family and I had a lovely late lunch today at Barringtons. Most of us opted for the set menu which was excellent at £12.00 for two courses and £15.00 for three courses. The food was very good and plenty of it. They were busy and the service was still excellent. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darley Dale
3.5 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
359 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
399 reviews
2.1 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Travelodge Alfreton
Travelodge Alfreton
#1 of 1 in Alfreton
268 reviews
5.1 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
413 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Wellington Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barringtons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barringtons

Address: Dale Road North, Darley Dale, Matlock DE4 2FT, England (Formerly Whitworth Park Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Darley Dale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Darley Dale
Price Range: £49 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Barringtons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barringtons Darley Dale, Matlock, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing