We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holmefield Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holmefield Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 6 Darley Dale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bourne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First Class!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

My partner and I were booked into another 3 star hotel in the Peak District area over the weekend of the 28th Feb/1st March. However, the Hollin Hall Hotel fell far below the standards advertised and a quick phone call to Kate and Geoff at Holmefield Guest House soon resolved the issue. Luckily Geoff managed to squeeze us in at very short notice. A short while later we arrived at Holmefield Guest House where we found a very warm welcome, and a clean, tidy, warm and luxurious room awaiting. The breakfast selection is first class, the surroundings beautiful and the owners and staff very friendly and accommodating. Holmefield Guest House is sure to please. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are first class!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    24
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
95
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

This was our 4th visit to Holmefield, and again we were not disappointed. Kate and Geoff offer a warm welcome, great service, high quality comfortable clean rooms, and freshly cooked food.
We stayed this time in the Haddon room, which has great views, as does the homely lounge, with its log fire.
We will definately be visiting Holmefield again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DaveRuth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holmefieldguesthouse, Owner at Holmefield Guesthouse, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write such a lovely review. It was wonderful to see you both again, thank you for the photos, we will frame them for your next visit. It was a pleasure to share our home with you and your friends. Hope to see you again soon when you can road test the new executive suite!
Kind Regards
Kate & Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

when you stay at a hotel in winter, you want it to be warm and draughtfree- this was perfect!
We had one of the basic rooms, which was a little small but was adequate. It was very clean and warm with a lovely comfy bed and nice ensuite. Probably one of the cleanest rooms we've stayed in.
We had a meal on our second night which was very nice homecooked. They seem to have thought of almost everything, even bathrobes in the bathroom. Breakfast is cooked to order and it came nice and hot. My husband thought the portions were a little small ( he has a big appetite !) I'm sure they would have given him more if he asked.
The glass of wine with dinner was a little expensive at £5.50 a glass, but a bottle is only £15.50, the inclusive meal does not include a dessert or coffee. The menu is quite small but it had plenty on to satisfy us, quite nice choice of starters and mains, they do desserts at an extra cost.
it is a great location for Bakewell, Matlock, Chatsworth etc. we nneded a meal on our first night and had a suggestion of the very nice indian restaurant just over 10mins walk, which was very very nice, a little high in price but well worth it.
We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I imagine all the rooms would be nice- if you like space, don't go for the small basic rooms as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deeuuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We found this guest house on Groupon a few months ago and booked for 22-24th Nov- it was our 20th Wedding Anniversary so we thought we'd get away for a couple of nights. The welcome was great from Jeff and our room was more than adequate.The room was clean and well appointed (we had room 2)the only thing to mention was the bathroom, with the toilet being behind the door which meant the door had to be closed to use the loo- but this is no issue at all!
The room was lovely and cosy warm, the bed was really comfy. There were plenty of little extra touches like a really well appointed hospitality tray, nice toiletries, hairdryer and even a torch! The linen on the bed was lovely and crisp, there is additional heating to ensure your own temp was met - there was even a fan in the wardrobe to keep you cool should you have needed it- we didn't as it was freezing outside.
We had a full cooked breakfast everyday and evening meal on the Saturday evening, all food was fresh and hot - All good quality.
Overall I would reccomend Holmefield to anyone who enjoys quality! I have read the negative comments and really can't see where they were coming from!
Thank you Holmefield for making our stay and wedding anniversary really special.

Room Tip: We had the smallest room but was still good other rooms have roll top baths
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luntyMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Like many people we booked with a Groupon Voucher, though we were put at the back of the House facing the lovely view- a must for steam Train enthusiast. The beds are comfortable, the Dinner is great quality, the lounge is cosy, the managers are friendly without being intrusive, and the garden is lovely to walk around. It was not the best fried Breakfast I have ever had, but then I have had so many that that would be hard. Certainly the best Guest House/ B&B/Hotel I have stayed at for that price, though it would also be great value if you went at full price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tactilebosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Lovely hotel we stayed in the coach house - which is outside of the main hotel and it was very cute. I am not a snob and it was lovely but it's not 5 star. It is warm and comfortable & the breakfast are lovely and cooked to order which is a nice touch. Bathroom very narrow but very clean. Overall it was a good hotel and I would stay again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

stayed at this guest house on a groupon voucher for two nights,b and b and one evenig meal,just glad that i did not pay full price for this.The room was clean and the bed was comfey,the room we stayed in faced the road and although quiet at night traffic started at about 5-30 in the morning,breakfast could only be taken between 8-9 which on holiday is a bit early,the breakfast itself was nice but it felt a bit mean for five star,you were only given one bowl,no spares so you could only have fruit or cereal as bowl was taken away when youre breakfast arrived,with only one slice of cold brown toast(no option of white toast by the way)and only two butters onthe table,only one hot drink offerd and felt very akward asking for more toast,jam came in plastic pots again for five star you would expect little glass jars.There were no pastries which again five star would have,there was no milk out for the cereal and had to use the little drop put on the table for our tea,when i asked for more i was told not everyone had cereal so we dont put it out.The eveing meal list was given to us at breakfast even though grupon had stated that the meal was on the first night we were told quiet strictly that it was always the second night,thats so she has time to get it out the freezer to defrost,it was a sham (do not have the meal)the starters were simple ie frozen breaded mushrooms (5),the main we chose was meant to be chicken chassuer(frozen made in bulk chicken casserole,not on the bone,but overcooked breast,never seen white wine tomato concass or tarragon,served wirh over cooked mushy veg,we were told mind the bowls are hot mine was but my husbands was stone cold,there was no feed back from waiting staff,no one came to ask if it was okay they just hid in the kitchen,there was no water onthe tables to drink,not even a jug on the side,the only drinks menu given was for wine no indication if they had coke beer etc,they came round with a sweet menu ,we asked for apple and blackberry crumble,but when it arrived it was apple and raspberry,my portion was half the size of my husbands,and again even though trip adviser said it was three course in the morning when we went to settle the bill she charged us 2-95 each for the shop brought crumble,frankly it was the worst meal i have ever had in a resturant.There are some lovley resturants and pubs that serve food in the local area choose one of these instead.One good thing that they had was a water cooler in the doorway which is a great idea.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PIPO36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holmefieldguesthouse, Owner at Holmefield Guesthouse, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
What a pity you didn't speak to us about your meal if you were unhappy, everyone that had dinner on the same evening as you had completely clean plates when they were brought back into the kitchen and said their meal was nice. When undertaking a promotion such as Groupon you need to carefully look at what it offered and check your confirmation that we send to ensure that you understand what you are to receive, the reason why we offer dinner on the second night was not to get food out of the freezer (the chicken chasseur was cooked that day) but to cater for guests arriving at all different times. We don't offer pastries at breakfast because we have tried this before and they are not popular, what we do offer is fresh fruit, cereals, variety of yogurts, English Breakfast or porridge or smoked salmon and eggs, we don't find it a problem usually for guests to ask if they require anything extra. The deal you received was extremely good value and most visitors who have taken advantage of this offer and been highly delighted, looking at your other reviews we can see that you are often disappointed with discounted deals,however we are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darley Dale
4.2 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
1.3 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Barringtons
Barringtons
#3 of 6 in Darley Dale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
3.5 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 51 in Matlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deeley House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmefield Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmefield Guesthouse

Property: Holmefield Guesthouse
Address: Dale Road North, Darley Dale, Matlock DE4 2HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Darley Dale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Darley Dale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Holmefield Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmefield Guesthouse Hotel Darley Dale
Holmefield Guesthouse Darley Dale, Matlock, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing