We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Luxury Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holmefield Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 6 Darley Dale B&B and Inns
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Luxury Stay”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Having been let down by another B&B establishment on our wedding anniversary, the Holmefield Guest House in Darley Dale was a perfect place to stay for our special occasion. We were greeted with friendliness by Kate and shown to a lovely room No. 3 overlooking beautiful countryside. The guest house is tastefully furnished and has a lot of character with great views. There is a comfortable sitting room with scenic views and the breakfast was excellent. The establishment is close to Matlock, Steam Railway and beautiful walks along the river Derwent. We will definitely be recommending this Guest House to others and will return ourselves sometime in the future.

Room Tip: Room 3 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holmefieldguesthouse, Owner at Holmefield Guesthouse, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write such a lovely review. We were delighted to have met you both and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    24
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
95
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

After being badly let down at a nearby hotel 5 years ago Geoff and Kate managed to squeeze us in and saved our holiday. What a lucky find , it is excellent in every way and now Geoff and Kate are classed as friends and we feel part of rhe family . We have been visiting every year since and have already booked for next year . Nothing is too much trouble and all needs are catered for. Everything is immaculate. The hotel did us a favour , we found a much better place and good friends. Please keep going.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyaslass2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holmefieldguesthouse, Owner at Holmefield Guesthouse, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you both for your lovely, kind comments. It was a real pleasure to welcome you both back to Holmefield, we thoroughly enjoyed having you to stay and glad you liked the improvements to the Chatsworth suite. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My partner and I were booked into another 3 star hotel in the Peak District area over the weekend of the 28th Feb/1st March. However, the Hollin Hall Hotel fell far below the standards advertised and a quick phone call to Kate and Geoff at Holmefield Guest House soon resolved the issue. Luckily Geoff managed to squeeze us in at very short notice. A short while later we arrived at Holmefield Guest House where we found a very warm welcome, and a clean, tidy, warm and luxurious room awaiting. The breakfast selection is first class, the surroundings beautiful and the owners and staff very friendly and accommodating. Holmefield Guest House is sure to please. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are first class!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

This was our 4th visit to Holmefield, and again we were not disappointed. Kate and Geoff offer a warm welcome, great service, high quality comfortable clean rooms, and freshly cooked food.
We stayed this time in the Haddon room, which has great views, as does the homely lounge, with its log fire.
We will definately be visiting Holmefield again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DaveRuth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holmefieldguesthouse, Owner at Holmefield Guesthouse, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write such a lovely review. It was wonderful to see you both again, thank you for the photos, we will frame them for your next visit. It was a pleasure to share our home with you and your friends. Hope to see you again soon when you can road test the new executive suite!
Kind Regards
Kate & Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

when you stay at a hotel in winter, you want it to be warm and draughtfree- this was perfect!
We had one of the basic rooms, which was a little small but was adequate. It was very clean and warm with a lovely comfy bed and nice ensuite. Probably one of the cleanest rooms we've stayed in.
We had a meal on our second night which was very nice homecooked. They seem to have thought of almost everything, even bathrobes in the bathroom. Breakfast is cooked to order and it came nice and hot. My husband thought the portions were a little small ( he has a big appetite !) I'm sure they would have given him more if he asked.
The glass of wine with dinner was a little expensive at £5.50 a glass, but a bottle is only £15.50, the inclusive meal does not include a dessert or coffee. The menu is quite small but it had plenty on to satisfy us, quite nice choice of starters and mains, they do desserts at an extra cost.
it is a great location for Bakewell, Matlock, Chatsworth etc. we nneded a meal on our first night and had a suggestion of the very nice indian restaurant just over 10mins walk, which was very very nice, a little high in price but well worth it.
We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I imagine all the rooms would be nice- if you like space, don't go for the small basic rooms as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deeuuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We found this guest house on Groupon a few months ago and booked for 22-24th Nov- it was our 20th Wedding Anniversary so we thought we'd get away for a couple of nights. The welcome was great from Jeff and our room was more than adequate.The room was clean and well appointed (we had room 2)the only thing to mention was the bathroom, with the toilet being behind the door which meant the door had to be closed to use the loo- but this is no issue at all!
The room was lovely and cosy warm, the bed was really comfy. There were plenty of little extra touches like a really well appointed hospitality tray, nice toiletries, hairdryer and even a torch! The linen on the bed was lovely and crisp, there is additional heating to ensure your own temp was met - there was even a fan in the wardrobe to keep you cool should you have needed it- we didn't as it was freezing outside.
We had a full cooked breakfast everyday and evening meal on the Saturday evening, all food was fresh and hot - All good quality.
Overall I would reccomend Holmefield to anyone who enjoys quality! I have read the negative comments and really can't see where they were coming from!
Thank you Holmefield for making our stay and wedding anniversary really special.

Room Tip: We had the smallest room but was still good other rooms have roll top baths
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luntyMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Like many people we booked with a Groupon Voucher, though we were put at the back of the House facing the lovely view- a must for steam Train enthusiast. The beds are comfortable, the Dinner is great quality, the lounge is cosy, the managers are friendly without being intrusive, and the garden is lovely to walk around. It was not the best fried Breakfast I have ever had, but then I have had so many that that would be hard. Certainly the best Guest House/ B&B/Hotel I have stayed at for that price, though it would also be great value if you went at full price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tactilebosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darley Dale
4.2 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
268 reviews
1.3 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Barringtons
Barringtons
#3 of 6 in Darley Dale
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Deeley House Bed & Breakfast
3.5 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#2 of 52 in Matlock
419 reviews
3.2 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 52 in Matlock
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmefield Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmefield Guesthouse

Property: Holmefield Guesthouse
Address: Dale Road North, Darley Dale, Matlock DE4 2HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Darley Dale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Darley Dale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Holmefield Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmefield Guesthouse Hotel Darley Dale
Holmefield Guesthouse Darley Dale, Matlock, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing