We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good service, expensive, breakfast average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holmefield Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 6 Darley Dale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good service, expensive, breakfast average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had a good stay. Geoff was more than helpful booking us a taxi and greeting us. The room was clean and had everything we needed. The room was a little small. The bed was very comfy.

Our cooked breakfast was ok, however the sausage was of poor quality and beans amount small.

The décor in and around the guest house was very nice.

On the whole we had a good stay I think the price of £139 was over priced for the size of the room and quality of the breakfast. However it was last minute booking so was pleased to have had a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holmefieldguesthouse, Owner at Holmefield Guesthouse, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not enjoy the sausages at breakfast, they are made at the local farm shop and most guests enjoy them, but it obviously didn't hit the spot with you, however, they are certainly not poor quality. With regard to the cost of your stay, you booked for a single Saturday night (something we rarely do as we have a two night minimum stay at weekends), through Booking.Com who charge us 20% commission, you will always get a better rate if you book direct with the guest house/hotel to avoid these additional costs. We are glad you appreciated the decor and surroundings of our guest house and hope you enjoyed the wedding you were attending.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    24
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
95
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Very dissapointed. We stayed with a Groupon offer £159 for 2 nights B.&B. and one dinner.
We were greeted with a lady who rushed us up the stairs gave us the keys and that was that, we never saw her again. Our room faced the main road which was very noisy. The room on late rooms is priced at £109 so that makes our dinner £50 for a very plain meal.

Room Tip: Shower dribbled
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnWoodLeeds252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holmefieldguesthouse, Owner at Holmefield Guesthouse, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
What a silly review, the rate for the room you quote as being £109 per night, you stayed two nights which would make the real cost £218 plus dinner which we charge £19.95 per head for three courses, totalling £257.90, you paid £149 for peak season stay, a bargain in anyone's book ! I can't find any record of your name in our diary so cannot comment as to my whereabouts during your stay but as I do all the cooking, was probably in the kitchen most of the time and if your arrival was rushed, we more than likely had several people checking in at the same time, so sorry if you felt that I was inviisible but you do have phone facilities to contact reception at any time if you need any help so not quite sure what your point is. The dribbling shower has been attended to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Really lovely hotel with no pretention just excellent service and a carefully created environment. Superb owners whose attention to detail in re-furbishing is clear to see. Breakfast was perfectly cooked and set us both up for the day ...

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the hills not the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

A couple of nights spent there did me the world of good. The owner had thought of everything and I could hear lovely comments from many guests as they signed out , so was not the only one!
Nice people , lovely room, great view. Would go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ancenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Lovely,welcoming guesthouse. Professionally run but with a personal touch. Situated on main A6 road but hardly any noise and slept well. Grounds are beautiful, overlooking steam railway. Rooms, are well stocked and comfortable. Position is excellent for Bakewell and Chatsworth house. Evening meal was tasty and plentiful , as was the the breakfast. Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perryjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

The guest house is a lovely place in a wonderful location but we felt let down by the hospitality . We had booked a table for dinner at 7 30 after emailing the guest house to say we would be arriving from work , due to an accident on the motorway we arrived at 7 50, to be told we could not be given a hot meal as the owner had finished cooking . After looking a bit confused and explaining about the traffic , we were offered a ploughman's . Shown to our room we then went into the dinning room to find other guests eating a hot meal , only just started . We felt awkward . Although the ploughman's was lovely we were all so hungry we would have eaten anything! . We later found out the owners were going out and we were shown the honesty box and left to our own devises . All very uncomfortable for us. You arrive at someone's home and expect some hospitality. I work in the leisure industry and know how important customer service is . Shame because it really is a lovely place . The same happened the second night we were told originally we couldn't have a meal because they were out but alternatives would be given . Nothing was even mentioned , just a note on reception saying the owners were out and a contact number . Dissapionted .

Room Tip: The rooms are all lovely but the one in the front of the house is special
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jilc60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holmefieldguesthouse, Owner at Holmefield Guesthouse, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your review, I would just like to clarify the situation at Holmefield with regard to evening meals as you seem to have misunderstood. Evening meals are booked in advance with menu choices being given by 6.00 p.m. at the latest to enable me to cook from fresh ingredients, the meal of our guest's choice. You arrived at 7.45 and apparently expected me to be able to cook a meal from scratch for your party, I am sorry but that is just not possible. We felt that we were helping by offering a ploughmans. We are a five star guest house with a normal kitchen/equipment not a hotel with a legion of staff and high spec cookers that nuke food in 5 minutes. Most guests appreciate that what we offer is home cooked food in an establishment that is run by a couple who do their best but also try to have a balance of life/work and when we go out we leave guests with the option of helping themselves from the honesty bar. Geoff even asked you if you would like any other drinks putting in the bar before we went out and you said that you were fine. You were told that meals were not available on the Saturday well in advance of your stay due to us going to a concert but you never asked for suggestions of where you could eat so we presumed that you had sorted out an alternative.
I think you have assumed Guest Houses/Bed & Breakfast establishment operate the same way as hotels but we offer meals on pre-determined evenings with advance notice of menu choices otherwise we would have to redesign our menu to foodsthat can be re-heated which is not something we want to do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in the Coach House that is set apart from the main house. It was a ground floor room with a patio door and a small patio, overlooking beautiful countryside and the line of a preserved railway. The room was on the small side and we had to keep moving the heavy furniture to make the best use of the space available. The room was not cleaned thoroughly each day as there was a constant layer of dust on the television stand and the chest of drawers. It is a great location for visits to Haddon Hall, Chatsworth, Matlock, Crich Tramway Museum and the preserved railway at Rowsley. Although it is next to the very busy A6 we were not disturbed by traffic noise. The staff were pleasant, although a little distant. Breakfasts were good and we found it very convenient to have an evening meal each day with good food at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaEagle10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darley Dale
4.2 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Barringtons
Barringtons
#3 of 6 in Darley Dale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
3.5 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 51 in Matlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmefield Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmefield Guesthouse

Property: Holmefield Guesthouse
Address: Dale Road North, Darley Dale, Matlock DE4 2HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Darley Dale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Darley Dale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Holmefield Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmefield Guesthouse Hotel Darley Dale
Holmefield Guesthouse Darley Dale, Matlock, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing