We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to eat.”
Review of Blenheim House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blenheim House
Ranked #1 of 2 Etwall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I went to Blenheim House for lunch with my friend yesterday and was most impressed with the staff, food and comfort here. We chose to have two starters instead of a starter and main - no problem ( and both really delicious - whitebait and parfait). We followed with pear tatin which was freshly made for us and my friend finished with an americana which came with Maltesers. Lovely. The staff were friendly, obliging and efficient - we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosalindG194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helga R, Owner at Blenheim House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Good evening Rosalind, thank you so much for taking the time to write your review of the Blenheim House. We are so pleased you enjoyed your lunch with us, we get lots of positive comments about our staff, the atmosphere and of course our food but it is always nice to know we are keeping up with our standards. Many thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

Steve Knapp Northamptonshire.
After reading reviews thought that it would justify the cost £95.00 for a double room one night stay. Plusses ideally situated for the purpose of our visit, comfortable, staff pleasant, sadly that is it. Minuses shower room squeezed into a room which should only have a toilet and wash basin in. Wash basin inadequate, shower doors ill-fitting, toilet seat did not suit the pan hence didn't fit well, shower cubicle tile grout stained. Room window on ground floor faced directly onto busy main road hence noisy. Kettle cord short had to unplug it to pour or lower your cup below height of table. General décor of room required freshening. Inner door to room hard to close, had to put my shoulder to it (its a fire door so should be closed). Two inch step immediately outside inner door with no warning notice, dark area so not easily noticed. Looking forward to a substantial full English breakfast again disappointed, can only be described as adequate, one sausage, one rasher of bacon, half a grilled tomato, one spoon scrambled egg, one piece black pudding and tinned mushrooms. There was also a buffet with cereals and fruits etc. Final note I have stayed in better appointed establishment for half the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the rear of the hotel not on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helga R, Owner at Blenheim House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Good evening Mr Knapp we were, to say the least, very sad to receive your review. We generally get great comments for our rooms, staff and food so to read your comments came as a bit of a shock. Our shower rooms are small if not adequate but given the age of the building and that it is listed does effect what can be done to them. We have noted the problem with the kettle and have fitted an additional cord so that it is easier to use. The inner door to your room is not a fire door but we appreciate it should close and this has now been dealt with. As you will see from all our reviews we are highly praised for our breakfast and we would have been more than happy to have cooked more if you had asked. I would also like to point out that we do not have any tinned products in the kitchen and that all our food is cooked from fresh. Lastly half of our rooms face the main road through the village and during the day and up to early evening we do have quite a bit of traffic but by around 9pm this calms down as most of the traffic after this time use the bypass road. We are very sorry you were so disappointed with the Blenheim and thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Took my Gf to stay here on her birthday weekend , the day before we went to Dovedale it was a great place to stay ...and was not very far from the Peak District ....worth staying a few more miles out for a quality place to stay . Great bar area ...and the english breakfast was just what we needed to set us up for a days walking ....great village too with some nice pubs , we started at the bar here and did a mini pub crawl in the village ...was great fun , defo will be coming back .

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Brett J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helga R, Owner at Blenheim House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Good afternoon, thank you for taking the time to leave your great review of the Blenheim House. We are pleased you found us and the village of Etwall and we agree it is a lovely village and county. We hope you enjoyed you walk through the Peak District and we look forward to seeing you again. We really appreciate the time you have taken to leave your review this really helps our ratings with TripAdvisor and helps towards the high scores we are achieving for our rooms and food. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Found this quite by chance when working in the area. Stylish bar area, and the room i have used each trip has been excellent - clean and comfortable. But the real reason for returning is the excellent food. The restaurant menu is very good (if not cheap) - I particularly enjoyed the chorizo risotto for starter. The bar meals are quite varied, and if you can finish a pizza then you are doing better than me - but very tasty. Breakfast is great with a wonderful selection of fresh fruit, abd the items on the cooked breakfast were all of a high standard.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helga R, Owner at Blenheim House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Good morning and thank you for the excellent review you posted about the Blenheim House. We are glad you found our 'little gem' of a place and took the chance to try us. We work very hard to keep our standards high and are very proud of this and pleased that you found this too. Our reputation locally is growing for the food we serve both in the restaurant and also our bar food. We look forward to seeing you back in Derbyshire soon. Thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I stayed with a friend while cycling from Birmingham to Derby. The location suited us as we didn't want a city hotel. I liked the look of this hotel- it was stylishly decorated and furnished and the price was reasonable.
Our room was very comfortable but was a little on the small side. It was also at the front of the hotel and because it was warm, we wanted the window open. Unfortunately that meant some noise from the road. I would suggest a blackout blind for the rooms at the front because the light from the streetlighting is very bright.
The shower room was compact although it had everything you needed.
The food was excellent. It was expensive- in fact dinner for the two of us, with wine, cost a little more than the room, but it was worth it. Delicious! I would recommend this hotel and I would stay here again if in the area but I would ask for a room at the back during the summer months. The service was good and the owner was happy for us to bring our bikes inside the porch area for security.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spaniel11176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helga R, Owner at Blenheim House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Good afternoon and many thanks for the recent review on the Blenheim House. We are pleased your room was comfortable, although a little compact and close to the road and are happy that this has not put you off visiting us again. You will be pleased to hear that we are looking at the pricing, but not the quality, of our restaurant menu in an effort to make it a little more price sensitive. Thank you once again, we hope very much to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Went there for dinner and the overall experience was good. Decor, ambience and service are all great - it is a perticularly smart and comfortable property.

What did strike us as odd was their seemingly total obsession with unnecerrarily complicated and flouncy words on their menu. I don't have any perticular with this but what dissapinted me is that the waiter couldn't really explain some of the terms. If you are going to use these words and charge £15 to £24 a main I think informed staff isn't too much to ask.

The food was good but I think at the price point there is better around. I think if they reduced their prices a bit and reduced the unnecessary complexity of the food it would be a massive success.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank FreddieTheHedeghog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helga R, Owner at Blenheim House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to submit a review on your experience of the restaurant at the Blenheim House - Etwall. We are pleased that you found the décor, service and food all great but were not too impressed with the wording chosen by our chef for the menu. We certainly don't wish to put potential customer off and with this in mind our next menu which is out this month will be less 'flouncy'. We are also widening the choice and prices on both our restaurant and bar menus to create a more even option to both. We thank you for your comments and hope to act on them. Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed two nights B&B at this lovely hotel in Etwall. Room spotlessly clean as was the bed linen and towels. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Had a slight problem with the shower and when reported was dealt with promptly and efficiently. The breakfast choice was excellent and very toasty. So nice to be greeted in the morning by a such a cheery proprietor. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weekendmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helga R, Owner at Blenheim House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Tripadvisor, we very much appreciate it. We are pleased you enjoyed your weekend with us and that you found your room and bed comfortable and clean and the staff, particularly Phil to be friendly and happy we hope it started your day off in the right mood. Many thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Etwall
2.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
4.1 mi away
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
2.0 mi away
ibis budget Derby
ibis budget Derby
#1 of 1 in Willington
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Farmhouse at Mackworth
2.9 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
427 reviews
2.6 mi away
Littleover Lodge Hotel
Littleover Lodge Hotel
#22 of 29 in Derby
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blenheim House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blenheim House

Address: 56 Main Street, Etwall DE65 6LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Etwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Etwall
Price Range: £98 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blenheim House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blenheim House Hotel and Restaurant is set in the beautiful village of Etwall. A former 17th century farmhouse the Blenheim has been lovingly restored into a nine bedroom hotel with an excellent A la carte restaurant and traditional home cooked lounge menu. With inviting open fires, rich plush furnishings mixed with the contemporary style decor the Blenheim offers a warm and comfortable welcome to all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blenheim House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blenheim House Hotel Etwall
Blenheim House Etwall, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing