We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Poor”
Review of Blenheim House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blenheim House
Ranked #1 of 2 Etwall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extremely Poor”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Went here in the late summer for a family lunch to celebrate my Father's birthday and I have to say we were all hugely disappointed and I was very embarrassed at having suggested it as a venue. It's a lovely place and so we had high expectations when we arrived, but every aspect of the food was awful - bland and extremely over-priced for what you received. Starters were ok, but only ok, and none of the salad garnish was dressed and had obviously just been taken out of a bag. My main course of pan fried salmon consisted of an extremely small piece of salmon which was under seasoned, salad leaves (again undressed and dry) and lots of new potatoes which were all under cooked. Everybody elses main courses were exactly the same and I think they hoped that serving you lots of potatoes would fill you up. My father chose a desert which came with a toffee ice-cream as he likes to have ice-cream for dessert. However, it turned up (after a long wait and the place was almost empty) without any ice-cream - without a word or an apology. So disappointing for such a beautiful place but they really need to up their game on the food side. I don't intend to visit this place again any time soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helga R, Owner at Blenheim House, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Good evening Denise, we were very upset to receive your review and feel a little annoyed that you have firstly left it so long before writing this review and secondly that nothing was mentioned on the day therefore giving us no opportunity to put things right. As it happens I do remember your party as it was me who had to give your father the bad news of the ice-cream situation. Your mother had already said that he was an ice-cream fanatic so I was not looking forward to telling him that the door to our ice-cream freezer had been left open for some time and all our ice-creams and sorbets had melted. I did offer two alternatives but was informed that quote 'if I had wanted cream or custard I would have asked for it'. Your father also did not wish to choose an alternative dessert and also mentioned that this better reflect on the bill, which it did as we did not charge. We make all our desserts to order, they do not come in ready prepared, (this also is the case with our salads which are also prepared and dressed in-house), so do take time to prepare but I apologise if you felt that this took too long. Like most business we do try to get most things right most of the time but as far as your experience of our restaurant this does not seem to be the case. We are sorry we could not have done more for you on the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    41
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
26
49
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chapel en le Frith, null, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I went to Blenheim House for lunch with my friend yesterday and was most impressed with the staff, food and comfort here. We chose to have two starters instead of a starter and main - no problem ( and both really delicious - whitebait and parfait). We followed with pear tatin which was freshly made for us and my friend finished with an americana which came with Maltesers. Lovely. The staff were friendly, obliging and efficient - we will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosalindG194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helga R, Owner at Blenheim House, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Good evening Rosalind, thank you so much for taking the time to write your review of the Blenheim House. We are so pleased you enjoyed your lunch with us, we get lots of positive comments about our staff, the atmosphere and of course our food but it is always nice to know we are keeping up with our standards. Many thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Steve Knapp Northamptonshire.
After reading reviews thought that it would justify the cost £95.00 for a double room one night stay. Plusses ideally situated for the purpose of our visit, comfortable, staff pleasant, sadly that is it. Minuses shower room squeezed into a room which should only have a toilet and wash basin in. Wash basin inadequate, shower doors ill-fitting, toilet seat did not suit the pan hence didn't fit well, shower cubicle tile grout stained. Room window on ground floor faced directly onto busy main road hence noisy. Kettle cord short had to unplug it to pour or lower your cup below height of table. General décor of room required freshening. Inner door to room hard to close, had to put my shoulder to it (its a fire door so should be closed). Two inch step immediately outside inner door with no warning notice, dark area so not easily noticed. Looking forward to a substantial full English breakfast again disappointed, can only be described as adequate, one sausage, one rasher of bacon, half a grilled tomato, one spoon scrambled egg, one piece black pudding and tinned mushrooms. There was also a buffet with cereals and fruits etc. Final note I have stayed in better appointed establishment for half the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the rear of the hotel not on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helga R, Owner at Blenheim House, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Good evening Mr Knapp we were, to say the least, very sad to receive your review. We generally get great comments for our rooms, staff and food so to read your comments came as a bit of a shock. Our shower rooms are small if not adequate but given the age of the building and that it is listed does effect what can be done to them. We have noted the problem with the kettle and have fitted an additional cord so that it is easier to use. The inner door to your room is not a fire door but we appreciate it should close and this has now been dealt with. As you will see from all our reviews we are highly praised for our breakfast and we would have been more than happy to have cooked more if you had asked. I would also like to point out that we do not have any tinned products in the kitchen and that all our food is cooked from fresh. Lastly half of our rooms face the main road through the village and during the day and up to early evening we do have quite a bit of traffic but by around 9pm this calms down as most of the traffic after this time use the bypass road. We are very sorry you were so disappointed with the Blenheim and thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Took my Gf to stay here on her birthday weekend , the day before we went to Dovedale it was a great place to stay ...and was not very far from the Peak District ....worth staying a few more miles out for a quality place to stay . Great bar area ...and the english breakfast was just what we needed to set us up for a days walking ....great village too with some nice pubs , we started at the bar here and did a mini pub crawl in the village ...was great fun , defo will be coming back .

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brett J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helga R, Owner at Blenheim House, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Good afternoon, thank you for taking the time to leave your great review of the Blenheim House. We are pleased you found us and the village of Etwall and we agree it is a lovely village and county. We hope you enjoyed you walk through the Peak District and we look forward to seeing you again. We really appreciate the time you have taken to leave your review this really helps our ratings with TripAdvisor and helps towards the high scores we are achieving for our rooms and food. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Found this quite by chance when working in the area. Stylish bar area, and the room i have used each trip has been excellent - clean and comfortable. But the real reason for returning is the excellent food. The restaurant menu is very good (if not cheap) - I particularly enjoyed the chorizo risotto for starter. The bar meals are quite varied, and if you can finish a pizza then you are doing better than me - but very tasty. Breakfast is great with a wonderful selection of fresh fruit, abd the items on the cooked breakfast were all of a high standard.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helga R, Owner at Blenheim House, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Good morning and thank you for the excellent review you posted about the Blenheim House. We are glad you found our 'little gem' of a place and took the chance to try us. We work very hard to keep our standards high and are very proud of this and pleased that you found this too. Our reputation locally is growing for the food we serve both in the restaurant and also our bar food. We look forward to seeing you back in Derbyshire soon. Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I stayed with a friend while cycling from Birmingham to Derby. The location suited us as we didn't want a city hotel. I liked the look of this hotel- it was stylishly decorated and furnished and the price was reasonable.
Our room was very comfortable but was a little on the small side. It was also at the front of the hotel and because it was warm, we wanted the window open. Unfortunately that meant some noise from the road. I would suggest a blackout blind for the rooms at the front because the light from the streetlighting is very bright.
The shower room was compact although it had everything you needed.
The food was excellent. It was expensive- in fact dinner for the two of us, with wine, cost a little more than the room, but it was worth it. Delicious! I would recommend this hotel and I would stay here again if in the area but I would ask for a room at the back during the summer months. The service was good and the owner was happy for us to bring our bikes inside the porch area for security.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spaniel11176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helga R, Owner at Blenheim House, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Good afternoon and many thanks for the recent review on the Blenheim House. We are pleased your room was comfortable, although a little compact and close to the road and are happy that this has not put you off visiting us again. You will be pleased to hear that we are looking at the pricing, but not the quality, of our restaurant menu in an effort to make it a little more price sensitive. Thank you once again, we hope very much to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Went there for dinner and the overall experience was good. Decor, ambience and service are all great - it is a perticularly smart and comfortable property.

What did strike us as odd was their seemingly total obsession with unnecerrarily complicated and flouncy words on their menu. I don't have any perticular with this but what dissapinted me is that the waiter couldn't really explain some of the terms. If you are going to use these words and charge £15 to £24 a main I think informed staff isn't too much to ask.

The food was good but I think at the price point there is better around. I think if they reduced their prices a bit and reduced the unnecessary complexity of the food it would be a massive success.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank FreddieTheHedeghog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helga R, Owner at Blenheim House, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to submit a review on your experience of the restaurant at the Blenheim House - Etwall. We are pleased that you found the décor, service and food all great but were not too impressed with the wording chosen by our chef for the menu. We certainly don't wish to put potential customer off and with this in mind our next menu which is out this month will be less 'flouncy'. We are also widening the choice and prices on both our restaurant and bar menus to create a more even option to both. We thank you for your comments and hope to act on them. Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Etwall
2.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
2.9 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
420 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Unicorn Inn
The Unicorn Inn
#1 of 2 in Newton Solney
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Ye Olde Dog & Partridge
5.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
1,782 reviews
9.0 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blenheim House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blenheim House

Property: Blenheim House
Address: 56 Main Street, Etwall DE65 6LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Etwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Etwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blenheim House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blenheim House Hotel and Restaurant is set in the beautiful village of Etwall. A former 17th century farmhouse the Blenheim has been lovingly restored into a nine bedroom hotel with an excellent A la carte restaurant and traditional home cooked lounge menu. With inviting open fires, rich plush furnishings mixed with the contemporary style decor the Blenheim offers a warm and comfortable welcome to all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Blenheim House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blenheim House Hotel Etwall
Blenheim House Etwall, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing