We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glossop
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Birds Nest Cottage Guest House
Ranked #3 of 11 Glossop B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Warmly greeted and a had a coffee and home made cake provided.
The room was a good size, quiet, with a view over the garden and the pleasant sound of the river running in the background
The overall ambiance and level of comfort was high and the attention to details, like drinks in the room and the choices at breakfast were excellent.
Lynda went out of her way to accommodate our needs.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank KendalRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2013

Warmly welcomed at the doorstep and it only got better! Our hosts were lovely with the perfect amount of attentiveness. The room was spotless, comfortable and nicely decorated. The breakfast was amazing! We would have happily paid more and we definitely will be going back.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyndaLedwith, Owner at Birds Nest Cottage Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Hi, many thanks for your generous review. We are happy that you found everything to your liking and hopefully we will see you again, possibly in the summer when we hope you will see the garden at its best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Without a doubt one of the very nicest B&B's I've stayed in. Lynda your host provides the perfect balance of customer service and hospitality and is totally committed to making your stay as pleasant as possible. Rooms are well appointed and the breakfast is excellent. Lynda also offers a range of therapy treatments which are not only skillfully delivered but also priced very attractively. I treated myself to a 30 minute morning back and shoulder massage and it was a real tonic before a long onward drive. Highly recommended!

I would not hesitate to recommend Birds Nest Cottage. Its rare to find such a gem and i will be sure to stay again on my next business or pleasure trip.

Room Tip: double room at the back provides the very relaxing sound of a babbling brook
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vuko65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Three of us were meeting up in Glossop "for convenience". Without doubt I will be going back - for pleasure. Perfect little holiday. Lynda is lovely, and so thoughtful, Wonderful home-baking and hot drinks on arrival. Breakfast fresh, tasty and beautifully presented. Great walking nearby, as easy or difficult, as long or short, as you wish. Really interesting eating places in the town, just a 10-15 minute walk from the cottage. An amazing vegan pub, Italian and Spanish restaurants etc. etc. And what nicer way to round up the day's activity than to have a massage from Lynda - a trained therapist!
The back garden is paradise, with a babbling brook and little bridges.

Room Tip: The sound of the babbling brook in a back bedroom can be very soothing and conducive to a good night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmfrt10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Located on the main road into Glosssop it is a walking distance away from the town.
We styayed int the front roo, which is quite small for a double bed. This one also had the disadavnatge of the fire exit route (sign) light shining through the galss pane above the door. Beds were quite soft and very creaky. Nevertheless managed to get some sleep. after a busy day.
The landlord and lady are very welcoming, adviced us on local walks and even lent us a map after checking out. There are plenty of DVD's and a cosy little living room to watch them in.
Breakfast was excellent!

The garden and location is beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bagofspanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Birds Nest Cottage Guest House is one of those rare places that just simply gets everything right... From the moment you arrive you are made to feel 'at home'... the staff are friendly, nothing is too much trouble and the levels of comfort and amenities are outstanding. On arrival you are invited to relax in the lounge and have access to hot and cold drinks along with delicious home-made cakes. On the subject of food I don't think we've ever seen such a diverse breakfast menu and when it was delivered it was simply delicious. The guest house has had extensive renovation and is fitted with modern bathrooms and tastefully decorated bedrooms. Birds Nest Cottage also offers an extensive selection of beauty treatments and has a fully-equipped massage room, just the thing when you need to 'wind down'... Overall, I have no hesitation in giving a score of 5 to the Birds Nest.... it was simply perfect.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Ollois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyndaLedwith, Owner at Birds Nest Cottage Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Hi, thank you for taking the time to provide your review. We are always very pleased to see that our guests have enjoyed their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

A very warm welcome from charming and bubbly Linda set the scene for a very pleasant overnight stay whilst on business in this picturesque part of our country.A nice cup of coffee was just the job on a cold November evening, plus various recommendations where to eat out locally at very reasonable value. The room was clean , well laid out and comfortable, with en-suite facility. Breakfast ,next morning ,a veritable feast of healthful choices , fresh fruits, cereals, juices plus a beautifully cooked english breakfast.

Well Done Linda and all staff, will look forward to seeing you again , when next in area.

Martin

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marty246clapton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glossop hotels
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Glossop
Travelodge Glossop
#1 of 2 in Glossop
480 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Woodlands
The Woodlands
#1 of 11 in Glossop
130 reviews
1.7 mi away
Windy Harbour Farm Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Bulls Head Public House, Restaurant & Guest House
1.6 mi away
Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Peakdale Lodge
Peakdale Lodge
#1 of 2 in Glossop
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birds Nest Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birds Nest Cottage Guest House

Address: 40 Primrose Lane, Glossop SK13 8EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Glossop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Glossop
Price Range: £36 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B with a difference. Hi, welcome to Birds Nest Cottage B&B, Glossop. Not only do we offer high quality accommodation and breakfasts at reasonable prices, but we also have a fully equipped therapy room on-site offering a range of holistic therapies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Birds Nest Cottage Guest House Glossop, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing