We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glossop
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Birds Nest Cottage Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Glossop B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We spent 3 nights here, the landlady/hostess was extremely welcoming, baked delicious cakes daily, and cooked fabulous breakfasts, nothing was too much trouble. The guest house is small but beautifully appointed and full of character. We could only admire the lovely garden as the weather was dreadful. Plenty of local information available, from walking advice to eating out tips, all of which were spot on. We each had a superb massage to relax us after a day walking, we hope to return in better weather.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anotherlittlejolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyndaLedwith, Owner at Birds Nest Cottage Guest House, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to do a review, your comments are much appreciated. Hopefully we shall see you again and hopefully the weather will be kinder to you next time and maybe you can have tea and cakes in the garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
98
42
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Warmly greeted and a had a coffee and home made cake provided.
The room was a good size, quiet, with a view over the garden and the pleasant sound of the river running in the background
The overall ambiance and level of comfort was high and the attention to details, like drinks in the room and the choices at breakfast were excellent.
Lynda went out of her way to accommodate our needs.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KendalRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Warmly welcomed at the doorstep and it only got better! Our hosts were lovely with the perfect amount of attentiveness. The room was spotless, comfortable and nicely decorated. The breakfast was amazing! We would have happily paid more and we definitely will be going back.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyndaLedwith, Owner at Birds Nest Cottage Guest House, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Hi, many thanks for your generous review. We are happy that you found everything to your liking and hopefully we will see you again, possibly in the summer when we hope you will see the garden at its best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Without a doubt one of the very nicest B&B's I've stayed in. Lynda your host provides the perfect balance of customer service and hospitality and is totally committed to making your stay as pleasant as possible. Rooms are well appointed and the breakfast is excellent. Lynda also offers a range of therapy treatments which are not only skillfully delivered but also priced very attractively. I treated myself to a 30 minute morning back and shoulder massage and it was a real tonic before a long onward drive. Highly recommended!

I would not hesitate to recommend Birds Nest Cottage. Its rare to find such a gem and i will be sure to stay again on my next business or pleasure trip.

Room Tip: double room at the back provides the very relaxing sound of a babbling brook
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vuko65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Three of us were meeting up in Glossop "for convenience". Without doubt I will be going back - for pleasure. Perfect little holiday. Lynda is lovely, and so thoughtful, Wonderful home-baking and hot drinks on arrival. Breakfast fresh, tasty and beautifully presented. Great walking nearby, as easy or difficult, as long or short, as you wish. Really interesting eating places in the town, just a 10-15 minute walk from the cottage. An amazing vegan pub, Italian and Spanish restaurants etc. etc. And what nicer way to round up the day's activity than to have a massage from Lynda - a trained therapist!
The back garden is paradise, with a babbling brook and little bridges.

Room Tip: The sound of the babbling brook in a back bedroom can be very soothing and conducive to a good night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmfrt10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Located on the main road into Glosssop it is a walking distance away from the town.
We styayed int the front roo, which is quite small for a double bed. This one also had the disadavnatge of the fire exit route (sign) light shining through the galss pane above the door. Beds were quite soft and very creaky. Nevertheless managed to get some sleep. after a busy day.
The landlord and lady are very welcoming, adviced us on local walks and even lent us a map after checking out. There are plenty of DVD's and a cosy little living room to watch them in.
Breakfast was excellent!

The garden and location is beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bagofspanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Birds Nest Cottage Guest House is one of those rare places that just simply gets everything right... From the moment you arrive you are made to feel 'at home'... the staff are friendly, nothing is too much trouble and the levels of comfort and amenities are outstanding. On arrival you are invited to relax in the lounge and have access to hot and cold drinks along with delicious home-made cakes. On the subject of food I don't think we've ever seen such a diverse breakfast menu and when it was delivered it was simply delicious. The guest house has had extensive renovation and is fitted with modern bathrooms and tastefully decorated bedrooms. Birds Nest Cottage also offers an extensive selection of beauty treatments and has a fully-equipped massage room, just the thing when you need to 'wind down'... Overall, I have no hesitation in giving a score of 5 to the Birds Nest.... it was simply perfect.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ollois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyndaLedwith, Owner at Birds Nest Cottage Guest House, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Hi, thank you for taking the time to provide your review. We are always very pleased to see that our guests have enjoyed their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glossop
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Glossop
Travelodge Glossop
#1 of 2 in Glossop
415 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel
5.8 mi away
Barton Villa
Barton Villa
#1 of 1 in Dukinfield
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#8 of 15 in Stockport
940 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Woodlands
The Woodlands
#2 of 11 in Glossop
110 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Bulls Head Public House, Restaurant & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birds Nest Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birds Nest Cottage Guest House

Property: Birds Nest Cottage Guest House
Address: 40 Primrose Lane, Glossop SK13 8EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Glossop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Glossop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B with a difference. Hi, welcome to Birds Nest Cottage B&B, Glossop. Not only do we offer high quality accommodation and breakfasts at reasonable prices, but we also have a fully equipped therapy room on-site offering a range of holistic therapies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Birds Nest Cottage Guest House Glossop, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing