We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glossop
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Birds Nest Cottage Guest House
Ranked #2 of 11 Glossop B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2013

From the warm welcome we received on our arrival and a pot of tea with home-made raspberry cupcakes, we realised the Birds Nest Cottage was a completely unexpected hidden gem, which from the outside seemed to be just an ordinary terraced house! Our hosts couldn't have been more helpful or hospitable and always ready to help (when asked) with their local knowledge of where to go, what to see and where to eat. A little 'tardis' with spacious guest sitting rooms and a beautiful garden, and breakfast to put most British hotels to shame! We will certainly return to visit the beautiful surrounding countryside. Wifi was free and easily accessed, our bedroom had an ensuite bathroom that was thoughtfully equipped, and excellent coffee and tea making facilities - altogether, guests' comfort had been given every consideration. Our thanks to Linda and Lee.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

Hi this is our third time at Birds Nest Cottage. Once again we cannot fault it. Lynda and Lee are great hosts, nothing is too much trouble, even when they sat through my husbands photos of Killy!!. There is a great selection to choose from at breakfast and an extra bonus are Lyndas delicious home made cakes! as is the attention to detail within the rooms. When you stay here treat yourself to a massage, it 's a great way to relax after a long walk. Glossop centre is an easy walk it will take about 15- 20 minutes, there are a variety of restaurants to choose from,but if you are unsure Lynda and Lee will be happy to recommend one. We will be going back again but don't take our word for it.. try it for yourself you wont be disappointed!.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 48TraceyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Beautiful little guest house with gorgeous rooms, amazing garden and the most welcoming hosts. Really couldn't fault it. Would give 10/10 if I could. A special thanks to the hosts and Molly the cat for a late night cuddle. (The cuddle was just with the cat...).

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chamor33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyndaLedwith, Owner at Birds Nest Cottage Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Many thanks for your wonderful review, it is much appreciated and Molly says hi and thanks for the cuddles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We spent 3 nights here, the landlady/hostess was extremely welcoming, baked delicious cakes daily, and cooked fabulous breakfasts, nothing was too much trouble. The guest house is small but beautifully appointed and full of character. We could only admire the lovely garden as the weather was dreadful. Plenty of local information available, from walking advice to eating out tips, all of which were spot on. We each had a superb massage to relax us after a day walking, we hope to return in better weather.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anotherlittlejolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyndaLedwith, Owner at Birds Nest Cottage Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to do a review, your comments are much appreciated. Hopefully we shall see you again and hopefully the weather will be kinder to you next time and maybe you can have tea and cakes in the garden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Warmly greeted and a had a coffee and home made cake provided.
The room was a good size, quiet, with a view over the garden and the pleasant sound of the river running in the background
The overall ambiance and level of comfort was high and the attention to details, like drinks in the room and the choices at breakfast were excellent.
Lynda went out of her way to accommodate our needs.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank KendalRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Warmly welcomed at the doorstep and it only got better! Our hosts were lovely with the perfect amount of attentiveness. The room was spotless, comfortable and nicely decorated. The breakfast was amazing! We would have happily paid more and we definitely will be going back.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyndaLedwith, Owner at Birds Nest Cottage Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Hi, many thanks for your generous review. We are happy that you found everything to your liking and hopefully we will see you again, possibly in the summer when we hope you will see the garden at its best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Without a doubt one of the very nicest B&B's I've stayed in. Lynda your host provides the perfect balance of customer service and hospitality and is totally committed to making your stay as pleasant as possible. Rooms are well appointed and the breakfast is excellent. Lynda also offers a range of therapy treatments which are not only skillfully delivered but also priced very attractively. I treated myself to a 30 minute morning back and shoulder massage and it was a real tonic before a long onward drive. Highly recommended!

I would not hesitate to recommend Birds Nest Cottage. Its rare to find such a gem and i will be sure to stay again on my next business or pleasure trip.

Room Tip: double room at the back provides the very relaxing sound of a babbling brook
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vuko65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glossop hotels
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Glossop
Travelodge Glossop
#1 of 2 in Glossop
472 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Woodlands
The Woodlands
#1 of 11 in Glossop
128 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Queens Arms Country Inn
Queens Arms Country Inn
#6 of 11 in Glossop
85 reviews
0.7 mi away
Peakdale Lodge
Peakdale Lodge
#1 of 2 in Glossop
33 reviews
1.7 mi away
Windy Harbour Farm Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birds Nest Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birds Nest Cottage Guest House

Address: 40 Primrose Lane, Glossop SK13 8EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Glossop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Glossop
Price Range: £36 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B with a difference. Hi, welcome to Birds Nest Cottage B&B, Glossop. Not only do we offer high quality accommodation and breakfasts at reasonable prices, but we also have a fully equipped therapy room on-site offering a range of holistic therapies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Birds Nest Cottage Guest House Glossop, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing