We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic home from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glossop
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Birds Nest Cottage Guest House
Ranked #2 of 11 Glossop B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fantastic home from home”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I stay at Birds Nest Cottage most week days as I live too far away from work to commute daily. From the start I was made very welcome by both Lynda and Lee and they both go out of their way to ensure that my stay is extremely comfortable. It is difficult being away from home such a lot but Lynda's warm, friendly, helpful yet very professional approach and the very comfortable rooms I stay in make this much easier. I don't always have breakfast but when I do it is of an excellent standard. In my previous job I was also away from home a lot and was very lucky to stay in 4 star well known hotel chains, whilst they too were of a high standard I much prefer staying at Birds Nest Cottage.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
99
42
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2014

we came for a nice weekend break away and yes it was very clean and overall a good litte b&b if your looking for a cheap stay with a rather disapointing breakfast!. The overall experience could be improved by linda having a better attitude (we felt as though we was being talked down too most of the time). Also we struggled to get a good nights sleep because of the fact that it is on a main road with lorrys passing by most of the time. Highly doubt we will be making another appearance here and to be quite honest we would of rather gone to the travellodge in glossop!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amro79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Great B&B, warm welcome (with cake and tea), comfortable clean quiet rooms great breakfast with fresh fruit and lots of extras beautifully served, vegans catered for. And a body massage to follow! Thank you Lynda and Lee!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front had excellent double glazing so no traffic problems. Rooms at the back had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire. UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We found this wonderful B&B on the internet and took advantage of the out of season 3 night half price deal. It really exceeded our expectations. We are seasoned B&Bers and have an idea what to expect. The breakfast menu was extensive with different choices than the usual and the presentation was worthy of a posh hotel. The home made cake in the afternoon was a much appreciated bonus. Thank you Linda.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rimster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend stayed for 4 nights and also had a hot stones massage each, I was really looking forward to our stay as I had stayed there a couple of years ago with my mum on a girly few nights away but it still exceeded our expectations. Lynda was so lovely and helpful with suggestions of walks to go on, breakfast was amazing and our room was beautiful. Thank you Lynda for a great stay :-) We really enjoyed everything about it.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DeannaBussey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The Bird's Nest is a real home from home. I was made to feel extremely welcome by Linda, the proprietor. She was kind, caring, hardworking and extremely affable.
Linda is also an alternative therapist, and I can highly recommend the Reiki to completely destress.
The room was cosy, clean and quiet. And don't get me started on the full English breakfast, which was spot on.
It has now become my official bolt hole, and I have already booked for my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenHU836DH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belper
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This was a very welcoming, clean, peaceful guest house set close to wonderful countryside.
The room was pleasantly decorated and comfortable.
Thanks for being flexible on the breakfast timings!
Very good value.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glossop
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Glossop
Travelodge Glossop
#1 of 2 in Glossop
433 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#8 of 15 in Stockport
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
1.2 mi away
The Bulls Head Public House, Restaurant & Guest House
1.4 mi away
Windy Harbour Farm Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birds Nest Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birds Nest Cottage Guest House

Property: Birds Nest Cottage Guest House
Address: 40 Primrose Lane, Glossop SK13 8EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Glossop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Glossop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B with a difference. Hi, welcome to Birds Nest Cottage B&B, Glossop. Not only do we offer high quality accommodation and breakfasts at reasonable prices, but we also have a fully equipped therapy room on-site offering a range of holistic therapies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Birds Nest Cottage Guest House Glossop, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing