We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glossop
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Birds Nest Cottage Guest House
Ranked #2 of 11 Glossop B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is my third visit and I still love it, as Linda never wavers with her hospitality. She should organise courses on how to run a B&B. On top of everything else, she has the most wonderful garden which has lots of different areas to discover and relax in, which is just perfect for a country holiday.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenHU836DH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
There are newer reviews for Birds Nest Cottage Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed at the Birds Nest for three nights and it felt like home from home but with the added pleasure of having my room cleaned beautifully, fresh cake for a late afternoon snack and a delicious breakfast,full English and lots of other choices available and a stunning garden to walk around. My room and bathroom was spotless and facilities excellent. Our host Lynda could not do enough to make me welcome and I also enjoyed a hot stone massage which was utter bliss, Lynda has magic hands it was one of the best treatments I have had. I can highly recommend this bed and breakfast, a great spot for exploring Derbyshire.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Issy2009874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Lynda makes everyone feel very welcome to her ideally placed B & B. We had a 2 night stay here and everything was spot on. Very comfortable room with TV,tea and coffee and nice en suite bathroom with good shower. Breakfast was very nice and Lynda caters for all tastes. Fantastic garden would be really nice in summer. 2 guest lounges with tea making facilities. Really enjoyed our stay. Thanks

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Our stay was lovely due to the warmth of the hosts. The greeting was great and the blueberry muffin was delicious. We went out in Glossup for the evening but after a restful sleep had a great breakfast with amazing variety. We even had a few minutes spare to marvel at the stunning terraced gardens with its individual secluded pockets of table and chairs. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank With_two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I can't really add anything to the many positive reviews here. I don't offer praise cheaply but Linda at the Bird's Nest makes you feel welcome and and at home.
Lovely environment and tasty food. A perfect B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gusters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

A warm, caring and friendly welcome. The garden is tranquil; a very tasty breakfast served in a light and pleasant room overlooking it. The room was comfortable and pretty immaculate. All this for a very reasonable price! This was our second visit.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank MPugh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We arrived to amazing home made banana and pecan cakes and a lovely brew, Linda was a wonderful host and we were made to feel welcome straight away. The rooms we stayed in was massive, clean and lovely, the bathroom was spacious and plenty of hot water. Lovely little things in the room including a fan, hair dryer, wifi, toiletries and tea and coffee making facilities. The house has 2 guests lounges for if you want to chill out. The thing we found best were the people who owned it, Linda made us welcome straight away, had loads of local knowledge and was really friendly. We were attending a party in the evening and I left the present I. The lounge, I called and asked her to put it away for me and she kindly dropped it up in the town for us. ( I can't remember your husbands name sorry :-()
We had a great nights sleep in a comfy bed and the room was really quiet even though Ina busy road.
The garden in this property is breathtakingly stunning and I can't wait to return for afternoon tea in it.
Breakfast was lovely, all fresh fruits, yogurts, more home made cakes (yummy) and a delicious cooked breakfast.
We cannot wait to return as we feel we had a real treat, many thanks x

Room Tip: Iwe stayed in the front double and it was lovely.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaHall29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glossop
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Glossop
Travelodge Glossop
#1 of 2 in Glossop
446 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel
7.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
1.2 mi away
The Bulls Head Public House, Restaurant & Guest House
1.7 mi away
The Woodlands
The Woodlands
#1 of 11 in Glossop
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birds Nest Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birds Nest Cottage Guest House

Address: 40 Primrose Lane, Glossop SK13 8EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Glossop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Glossop
Price Range: £36 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B with a difference. Hi, welcome to Birds Nest Cottage B&B, Glossop. Not only do we offer high quality accommodation and breakfasts at reasonable prices, but we also have a fully equipped therapy room on-site offering a range of holistic therapies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Birds Nest Cottage Guest House Glossop, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing