We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hospitable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glossop
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Birds Nest Cottage Guest House
Ranked #1 of 11 Glossop B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very hospitable”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed here with my 3 brothers, my father and a friend after completing a run round the reservoirs at Bamford. Lynda and her husband made us all feel very welcome. We had tea and cake on our arrival which went down a treat after what we had done. Lynda gave us some recommendations on restaurants and even booked a table for us. Little things like this made the visit so easy and pleasant. Rooms are excellent, as was our shower/bathroom. The full English breakfast with a huge selection of fresh fruit was marvellous. We will visit the area again and when we do I would not hesitate one moment to book here again. Thanks Lynda - we had a really nice stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
98
42
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is my third visit and I still love it, as Linda never wavers with her hospitality. She should organise courses on how to run a B&B. On top of everything else, she has the most wonderful garden which has lots of different areas to discover and relax in, which is just perfect for a country holiday.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenHU836DH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed at the Birds Nest for three nights and it felt like home from home but with the added pleasure of having my room cleaned beautifully, fresh cake for a late afternoon snack and a delicious breakfast,full English and lots of other choices available and a stunning garden to walk around. My room and bathroom was spotless and facilities excellent. Our host Lynda could not do enough to make me welcome and I also enjoyed a hot stone massage which was utter bliss, Lynda has magic hands it was one of the best treatments I have had. I can highly recommend this bed and breakfast, a great spot for exploring Derbyshire.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Issy2009874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Lynda makes everyone feel very welcome to her ideally placed B & B. We had a 2 night stay here and everything was spot on. Very comfortable room with TV,tea and coffee and nice en suite bathroom with good shower. Breakfast was very nice and Lynda caters for all tastes. Fantastic garden would be really nice in summer. 2 guest lounges with tea making facilities. Really enjoyed our stay. Thanks

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Our stay was lovely due to the warmth of the hosts. The greeting was great and the blueberry muffin was delicious. We went out in Glossup for the evening but after a restful sleep had a great breakfast with amazing variety. We even had a few minutes spare to marvel at the stunning terraced gardens with its individual secluded pockets of table and chairs. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank With_two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I can't really add anything to the many positive reviews here. I don't offer praise cheaply but Linda at the Bird's Nest makes you feel welcome and and at home.
Lovely environment and tasty food. A perfect B&B.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gusters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

A warm, caring and friendly welcome. The garden is tranquil; a very tasty breakfast served in a light and pleasant room overlooking it. The room was comfortable and pretty immaculate. All this for a very reasonable price! This was our second visit.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MPugh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glossop
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Glossop
Travelodge Glossop
#1 of 2 in Glossop
413 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel
5.8 mi away
Barton Villa
Barton Villa
#1 of 1 in Dukinfield
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#8 of 15 in Stockport
934 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Woodlands
The Woodlands
#2 of 11 in Glossop
110 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Bulls Head Public House, Restaurant & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birds Nest Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birds Nest Cottage Guest House

Property: Birds Nest Cottage Guest House
Address: 40 Primrose Lane, Glossop SK13 8EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Glossop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Glossop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B with a difference. Hi, welcome to Birds Nest Cottage B&B, Glossop. Not only do we offer high quality accommodation and breakfasts at reasonable prices, but we also have a fully equipped therapy room on-site offering a range of holistic therapies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Birds Nest Cottage Guest House Glossop, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing