We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable and convenient cottage”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glossop
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Birds Nest Cottage Guest House
Ranked #2 of 11 Glossop B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Found a warm welcome in this traditional cottage B & B. Clean and tidy with comfortable lounges for guests. Bedrooms are up the steep flight of stairs typical of these cottages. Our twin room while not spacious was quite adequate and our private bathroom along a short corridor. The spacious garden is delightful.
Linda makes a superb effort to make her guests feel welcome.

Room Tip: We preferred a front room as the river could be heard more at the rear but many people would love th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yeti5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

I recently stayed here when walking the Pennine Way from Edale to Kirk Yetholm. As soon as arrived and was given a warm welcome, a pot of tea and some cake I knew it was going to be good. The accommodation is cosy, with ample and comfortable communal sitting areas, excellent and imaginative breakfast (not just the standard full English breakfast) and comfortable bedroom. The owner / host, Linda (Lynda?), obviously really enjoys looking after people and showed kindness and consideration. Other guests were of the same opinion. Birds Nest Cottage set the bar very high for the rest of my two week trip and I still remember it as amongst the best.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ferroequine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

One of the best guest houses I have ever stayed in. Situated in a lovely town with beautiful views. The accommodation is a good size with comfortable furnishings, en-suite, and excellent communal areas. Lynda immediately made me feel welcome on arrival. I will most defiantly come to stay again. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We were fortunate to have been guests at The Bird's Nest in July 2014 for a week. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the care and kindness shown to us was exceptional. Our hosts were wonderful people, so friendly and generous with their time, providing a home away from home.
The room was perfect for our needs, the breakfasts were just lovely, and the beautiful garden was a real sanctuary after the daily tripping around the countryside.
Our only complaint was we couldn't stay longer.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank asiawonders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Had a wonderful time at the Birds Nest. Lynda is an excellent and caring host. Rooms are immaculate and very comfortable. Breakfasts are delicious! Worth a visit. We had a great time. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Linda cooks an excellent breakfast and the rooms are spotless, with a wonderful garden to relax in. I have been going there for many years to see family and always get a warm welcome and a good chat. A very good value B&B in a great town near to Manchester and on the edge of the beautiful Peak District.The best place to stay in Glossop.
Mark.A

Room Tip: all rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dominic a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Birds Nest Cottage last year and to this day it still gives be a warm feeling when I think about it.

If you're looking for a fancy post hotel right there the bars and restaurants then this isn't the place for you... But if you're happy to sit back and relax in a beautiful garden, have a wonderful choice of delicious home cooked breakfasts, enjoy cute personal touches such as capri-sun in your room and friendly advice from the management of where to eat and walk in the area the you'll do well to book a night or 2 here

The place was more homely that a lot of B&Bs I have stayed at but that's one if the many reasons I liked it so much.

I do hope to visit again one day

P.S. The view from the breakfast lounge is just lovely

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicci P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glossop hotels
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Glossop
Travelodge Glossop
#1 of 2 in Glossop
471 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Woodlands
The Woodlands
#1 of 11 in Glossop
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Peakdale Lodge
Peakdale Lodge
#1 of 2 in Glossop
33 reviews
1.2 mi away
Queens Arms Country Inn
Queens Arms Country Inn
#6 of 11 in Glossop
84 reviews
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
Hikers & Bikers B&B
#11 of 11 in Glossop
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birds Nest Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birds Nest Cottage Guest House

Address: 40 Primrose Lane, Glossop SK13 8EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Glossop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Glossop
Price Range: £36 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B with a difference. Hi, welcome to Birds Nest Cottage B&B, Glossop. Not only do we offer high quality accommodation and breakfasts at reasonable prices, but we also have a fully equipped therapy room on-site offering a range of holistic therapies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Birds Nest Cottage Guest House Glossop, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing