We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant B&B”
Review of The Peels Arms

The Peels Arms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glossop
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Peels Arms
Ranked #9 of 11 Glossop B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here this past weekend and enjoyed our stay. The pub itself is wonderful, and the accommodation is comfortable and provides excellent value.
We stayed in the twin room as it was the only one available. For £50 B&B, you can't expect much but we were pleasantly surprised. The proximity to Hadfield was perfect and allowed us to walk back and forth (on pavements the whole way). The room was small but clean and comfortable. There's a sink in the room and a very nice shared bathroom down the hall (again, for the price paid, we weren't bothered that the room wasn't en suite, however there is one available). There is a small television that gets clear reception of all the basic channels.
The breakfast we had was lovely. Very nice sausages, buttery mushrooms, hot baked beans, high quality bacon and a perfectly fried egg. Overall the stay was incredible value and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girlfromSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

I have been to this establishment on numerous occasions and had once again I had booked a room for me and my partner , we were staying in the area for a couple of days , and enjoyed the cooked breakfast each time , on our last night we splashed out and had the midweek menu which was also very good value for money.
All in all we enjoyed our stay at the peels , we will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stavrosBankok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Overpriced for poor quality food. Steak tough as old boot, chicken rubbery and dried up. Not many choice for veggies. Menu not very extensive. Staff are abrupt apart from that it's a nice cosy pub for a quick drink.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawnieb1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed here at the end of our second day cycling the Trans Pennine Trail.
The welcome was warm, somewhere to store the bikes, and we were even "upgraded" to the en-suite room.
The evening meals (steak and kidney pudding, and beef and ale pie) were excellent. Too much to accommodate a dessert, which was a wise move. Nice breakfast the following morning. Service overall was very good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The Peels is the local for our holiday home - must say food is usually good and the Steak & Kidney pudding is lovely. Real ale kept and normally pretty good.and atmosphere is always nice. Staff are usually ok. Don't know about the B&B but pub is nice and inviting.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

A cosy pub in a village with great access to the Peak District, as well as Manchester (40 min on train; £3.90 return). The owners are lovely, and cook a great fry up in the morning. The pub food is excellent and really good value, and there's a decent selection of ales. The rooms upstairs are, again, cosy and great value.

What's not to like?!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrGoldpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

After a hard days cycling, we were given a v ery warm welcome at the Peels Arms. I really wanted chocolate but the nearest little shop was a 20 minute walk away, the owner produced two kit kat bars for my chocolate craving grom I don't know where but it was VERY much appreciated!! Our bikes were kindly stored in the garage for us. The dinner was the best meal we have paid for in a long time...yum, yum yum! Our room was spotless and very comortable.
All in all I loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barbara o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glossop hotels
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Glossop
Travelodge Glossop
#1 of 2 in Glossop
471 reviews
0.5 mi away
Windy Harbour Farm Hotel
1.9 mi away
Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Queens Arms Country Inn
Queens Arms Country Inn
#6 of 11 in Glossop
85 reviews
1.4 mi away
Peakdale Lodge
Peakdale Lodge
#1 of 2 in Glossop
33 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Hikers & Bikers B&B
#11 of 11 in Glossop
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peels Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peels Arms

Address: Temple Street | Padfield, Glossop SK13 1EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Glossop
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Glossop
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Peels Arms Hotel Glossop
The Peels Arms Glossop, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing