We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will return”
Review of Peakdale Lodge

Peakdale Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Peakdale Lodge
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We will return”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

What a little gem. Great use of some of the old Mill houses from the turn of the century. Join them together into one big one. And it works! Ten minute drive from Stalybridge, where the rellies live. Not used to such narrow roads, after being in Australia for 40+ years, but we managed. Glossop is THE most charming town. Some great pubs for evening meal, without having to drive, so we could safely have a drink too! Tesco on the outskirts, so the charm of the town was maintained. The view of the peaks, with still a small trace of heather, outstanding. Now, The Lodge. Warm, inviting, comfortable bed. Complimentary refreshment tray continually re stocked, and with chocolate too! Okay, some of the doors needed a shove to close them, but considering the age of the buildings, totally forgivable. Breakfast, in a lovely dining room, was incredibly generous. Leaving the best part till last, mine host, Mick. What a truly likeable man. Nothing was too much trouble. You asked, you got. That simple. Anyone staying there should ask him to repeat his 'cereal killer' gag. Too funny. Look out Mick, we're coming back. Sue and Shirley, Melbourne, Oz (September '11)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
8
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I was lucky in that I given a big room, that it was very hard to leave the room. It was really comfortable, clean and warm. Breakfast was excellent and owner was really friendly and full of information on where to go for walks and food. The location is great only a few minutes from the station. Do spend some time walking around the town and good to contact Peakdale directly. I would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ladyinawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceredigion, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Excellent value B&B.Rooms were large and clean. Owners were very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was first class and put many quality hotels in the shade.A large number of returning guests speaks for its self.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank halfslug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bury st edmunds
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

I would have given this top marks, but the website said that all single rooms have three quarter sized beds-this wasn't the case! However, I did enjoy my short stay here. The owner's son was very cheerful and friendly. The guests have their own entrance, with chairs and a drying area, which is good for wet weather. The room I had -no 6- was comfy and clean, with an excellent shower. The main road outside is very busy, but there are blinds as well as curtains on window. All rooms lead onto a comy lounge, with a huge world map on the wall. Also there is an unusual first floor outside terrace, for good weather. I have to say the breakfast is AMAZING and service with a smile.
Glossop is a pleasant town, plenty of cafes, restaurants etc, an Aldi supermarket (great value!!!) and all the main four banks plus Santander. The market it superb-the bag stall there is sensational!!! Also, Ken, the rug man does some brilliant rugs.
There is a lovely little pancake cafe, with very friendly staff.
There are some lovely walks here, the Snake Pass is lovely, unfortunately the weather let me down!!!.
I would recommend Peakdale Lodge and would return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachelle68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ely
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Friendly, conveniently situated and excellent value for money. Glossop is connected by rail to Manchester and has good bus connections into the Peak District. Peakdale Lodge is only a few minutes walk from the station, comfortable en-suite rooms, use of lounge and garden, and a superb breakfast! I would certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpolkinghorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Beautiful place. Service is amazing!
Close to rail station, easy access to Manchester.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chughes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glossop
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Glossop
Travelodge Glossop
#1 of 2 in Glossop
416 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel
6.5 mi away
Barton Villa
Barton Villa
#1 of 1 in Dukinfield
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Bulls Head Public House, Restaurant & Guest House
0.5 mi away
Queens Arms Country Inn
Queens Arms Country Inn
#6 of 11 in Glossop
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
George Hotel Glossop
George Hotel Glossop
#11 of 11 in Glossop
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peakdale Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peakdale Lodge

Property: Peakdale Lodge
Address: 49-53 High Street East, Glossop SK13 8PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Glossop
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Glossop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Peakdale Lodge Glossop, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing