We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windy Harbour Farm Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Glossop B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Comfortable and friendly”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Small but comfortable rooms. excellent restaurant with quality food. Breakfast cooked to order and quickly too. anything we asked for was greeted with a courteous "not a problem" . The atmosphere was relaxed and pleasant. Windy Harbour is very well placed for walking or visits to the many attractions available in the Peak District.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    33
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
51
75
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MIdlander
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

A positive welcome, tour of the hotel and being show to our rooms was only the start of this very pleasant stay. Tea and cakes in the guest lounge were brought and consumed with pleasure.
Clean and extremely comfortable rooms.
Breakfast cooked to order was very very good as was the coffee.
The owners of Windy Harbour take a friendly interest in their guests - we appreciated this and would certainly return again when we go to visit family in Glossop.

Room Tip: We had room 5 - a very nice room Our daughter had room 6 - anotyher very nice double room. Views f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ITravel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We arrived on an early Saturday Evening to be greeted by the owners who were warm and welcoming as soon as we walked in. We were shown around and shown to our bedroom which was lovely. The breakfast in the morning was brilliant and again the owners were very attentive,keeping our cups topped up!We were staying in glossop for a christening,for which the after party was at The windy harbour,everybody commented on the high standard of food and the general service!I would certainly reccomend this b and b and look forward to staying in the future!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cloudia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

I knew we had discovered a gem from the moment we arrived when we were greeted and treated most graciously, we were offered coffee and a smile. The rooms were clean, welcoming and appointed well (albeit the twin was on the small side). The breakfast was nicely presented and ample. We came back late one evening and went off menu and had just what we needed, a toasty! With the weather being so bad (not the hotels fault!) we were even offered and given a lift to Glossop. We are definitely returning and would recommend others to do so aswell. Home from home right up to the coat rack and slippers at the front door!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks onto the fields to avoid the noise of the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed here in March for a night because it was my husband's birthday and we were thinking of moving to the local area. A stay here certainly made our mind up! The lovely couple who own Windy Harbour Farm gave us so much great advice about local walks, the area and even houses they knew were up for sale. The staff could not have been friendlier or more welcoming and everyone we came across had heard we were house hunting and gave us advice (thank you so much!). The owners took time to chat to us when we popped into the bar in the evening - and print us some houses off the internet! - despite the fact that they had a busy function on. I got the impression that they devote every second to making sure every customer is as happy as can be.

The area is one of the nicest places I've ever been to. The Longendale trail nearby is lovely for a relaxing walk and Glossop down the road has lots to do too.

The bedrooms were lovely with a nice view of the fields. We didn't eat at Windy Harbour Farm because we wanted to check out Glossop that evening, but we did have an amazing breakfast the next morning. We loved our stay so much we now live nearby! We'll have to pop back soon to sample the food.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lena1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed here as part of a wedding party and the entire day was spent here and I cannot fault it! We arrived early but the staff were all very friendly and we were made to feel at home!

I cannot fault the food that was prepared throughout the day, and the service was always with a smile (and a few jokes too!) As a venue, it was a cosy setting with stunning views from the garden and also from our bedroom window.

We only stayed the one night but it has to be said, one of the best nights sleep I've ever had in a hotel (and I'm a fussy one!). Bed was very comfortable and as I said, views were amazing, we woke up to the sound of bleating sheep which was part of the charm! Room had a television with freeview and we made use of the tea & coffee facilities and en suite bathroom. Shower was nice and warm in the morning and everywhere was nice and clean.

Breakfast was served between 8am and 9am and it was perfect, just like the food on the previous day. We had a selection of cereals and then chose off the menu (we went for full english and toast to share) both portions were nice and big and we were served juice, tea and coffee.

Nice little base to explore the stunning landscape, and we were able to get to Lyme Park very easily from this point.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimandPaul54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Arrived after a long hard day cycling to a warm welcome and a good pint in the bar.
Comfortable room, good evening menu, well prepared and served in a pleasant dining room. Bikes secured in the bar overnight.
Staff very friendly, felt relaxed and welcomed.
Good breakfast and perfectly placed to resume cycling on the Woodhead section of the Trans Pennine Trail.
Would return and recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2cycleriders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glossop
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Glossop
Travelodge Glossop
#1 of 2 in Glossop
428 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel
10.3 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,074 reviews
7.3 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
#1 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
1,658 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Broadoak Hotel
The Broadoak Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windy Harbour Farm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windy Harbour Farm Hotel

Property: Windy Harbour Farm Hotel
Address: Woodhead Road, Glossop SK13 7QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Glossop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Glossop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Windy Harbour Farm Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Windy Harbour Farm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windy Harbour Farm Hotel Glossop, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing