We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location and perfect hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windy Harbour Farm Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Glossop B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cochem, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely location and perfect hosts”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Because we booked at the last minute, we had a narrow twin room with beds at opposite ends and I didn't spend a very comfortable first night. However, we were switched to a double room next day. I agree with other reviewers that the rooms are small, but this hotel is in an old farmhouse, so this is to be expected. Our double room was more than adequate and the bed very comfortable. Our breakfasts were excellent, with cereals, fruit and whatever, and a very good choice of items for a "full English," cooked well and served with a smile. The hosts were smashing, the rest of the staff very friendly and we didn't want to leave.

This hotel is off the main road, so you really need a vehicle. However, shops are just down the road in Glossop and anything that lacks in total convenience is more than made up for in a location with stunning views.

Room Tip: Book well ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    32
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
51
73
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Booked all the bedrooms and organised a special birthday party here for 40 family members and friends because my mother was born in the area and hadn't been 'home' for many years. Can truly say we were made to feel really welcome by the owners and staff. Food served in the evening and breakfast the following morning was excellent. Thank you to all!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank millertower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Recently road the TPT ( Trans Pennine Trail ) and stayed at Windy Harbour on the second night. We arrived to smiles and jokes, help with the bikes, drying area for our wet clothes, dinner available ( And we were quite late arriving ), great showers, comfortable rooms, brilliant value, great breakfasts and even hot water to clean our bikes. Impossible for it to have been any friendlier and welcoming. 100% recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Just back from a few nights away and missing the people already . We are always made so welcome . The hotel has a lovely relaxing atmosphere with a lounge bar and fire to sit and pass the evening . We had 2 meals both huge portions and fab quality . Breakfast is also first class . If you like walking there are paths from the door that lead up to the moors and beyond. Every room has beautiful views comfy beds and all you need if you just wish to stay in your room . Also there is a small camp site near by which we will be using in the near future run by the same owner . We was expecting to be with out a vehicle while staying and was offered lifts if any were needed .....first class service indeed ......

Room Tip: every room has beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylvia1967herdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We went to a friends golden wedding party, booked it at the last minute and everyone was v friendly and attentive. We had a lovely breakfast before heading home ! The beds were comfortable and I could recommend it to anyone staying in the area.

Room Tip: This was a v adequate room and staff attention was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
74 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

From the outside it looks a little disappointing but we had a very enjoyable stay while walking the Pennine Way. We were very well looked after, the food was excellent and the rooms were good if a little on the small side. No hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorsetTravelmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This hotel although slightly overpriced in the reviewers mind is basic but good. Rooms are on the small side but clean - somewhat gloomy and dark but this is due to furniture and decor. The beds were comfortable. Our room at rear had nice views across adjoining fields. Breakfast was good and from what we saw from other guests other meal (dinner) was also good. Staff accommodating and pleasant

Room Tip: Our experience suggests a room at rear of property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SA5045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glossop
1.4 mi away
Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Glossop
Travelodge Glossop
#1 of 2 in Glossop
413 reviews
10.3 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,043 reviews
14.8 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
388 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queens Arms Country Inn
Queens Arms Country Inn
#6 of 11 in Glossop
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windy Harbour Farm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windy Harbour Farm Hotel

Property: Windy Harbour Farm Hotel
Address: Woodhead Road, Glossop SK13 7QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Glossop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Glossop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Windy Harbour Farm Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Windy Harbour Farm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windy Harbour Farm Hotel Glossop, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing