We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to get married”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windy Harbour Farm Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Glossop B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We got married at Windy Harbour just over a week ago. It couldn't have been better. I'm so pleased we chose Windy Harbour; it was everything I could have hoped for.

Firstly the location is superb; very near to Glossop and with spectacular views all around, Windy Harbour is an ideal place to hold a wedding. Their garden is lovely too. Our guests made good use of it (we were lucky with the weather!) and it gave us a good extra space for guests to wander around in. Inside is great too; there are various rooms including a cosy lounge (which became our family room) and a spacious bar with room for a band. Everywhere is decorated to a high standard and the place has a very warm and cosy feel to it.

The food was great; our guests were thrilled with the meat and potato pie and the vegetarian chilli. Various guests told me that the pie was the best they had ever tasted and the vegetarians were thrilled at being so well catered for. I wish I'd eaten more but my dress was so tight! I'm so glad we chose to have chips too. Perhaps not normal wedding food but you have to make an exception for Windy Harbour chips!

The main things that were really wonderful though were the staff. It was so well organised and they were all so helpful to us. I can't thank them enough for making our day run so smoothly. Our guests had a fabulous time and felt so welcome and looked after. Glossop is really lucky to have a place like Windy Harbour offering a 5 star service like this without the huge cost you might pay at a more well-known wedding venue. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leroijones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

Beautiful location, great food, immaculate rooms and an incredibly warm welcome - we were especially impressed by the attention to detail and personal service offered by Graham & Julie. We loved Windy Harbour and plan to make a return visit next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed just for one night in between walks. The property is small and compact but offers a warm welcome. We had personal attention throughout the short stay. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are small but have everything you need with wonderful views. The evening meal was very good with large portions. Breakfast again was a big offering of good quality products. If you aren't a big eater ask for a smaller portion! The weather was good and it was great to see lots of different birds in the garden. A really great little place to stay.

Room Tip: check out the website as all rooms are shown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeftravelfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We were passing through visiting family and needed somewhere that would be happy to take our wee dog. From the telephone call to book until the moment we left nothing was too much trouble. The staff were excellent, the food delicious and the accommodation was clean and cosy. We felt very welcome and so did our wee dog! No more travel lodge for us now when we are in this area, this place is a real find and would be perfect for exploring Manchester and the edge of the peaks. We hope to be back and thanks for a lovely start to our holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kempo32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Came here with family for a golden wedding celebration and we had a lovely afternoon.

The food was lovely although was a rather limited choice it was all fresh and beautifully presented.

The staff were great and very helpful although they could have done with more as we seemed to have to wait long periods for drinks and plates cleared.

The setting is lovely, traditional but with modern aspects and a nice garden area for sitting out, not much for children as no special menu or play area.

The only downside is the opening hours, last food orders was 3pm on a Sunday and the restaurant closed at 5pm!

Would come again

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Katesc111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

From arrival to departure we were waited upon and provided with excellent service. the room was lovely, the bar just enough and the food was superb! the place is nicely situated in the countryside with lots of lovely walks nearby and famous ones not so far away

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stokeyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had our wedding here this weekend. It was absolutely fabulous! The canapes, the wedding breakfast, the buffet in the evening- all were great and many guests said so. The place is clean and tidy, the staff, esp graham and lee are lovely. Our special day ran so smoothly. These guys are real professionals. We also used the rooms and had breakfast the following day. Both were spot on. Thanks Graham and Lee, Hannah and Paul Massey xx

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank HannahMassey14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glossop
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Glossop
Travelodge Glossop
#1 of 2 in Glossop
454 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel
14.2 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Bulls Head Public House, Restaurant & Guest House
1.0 mi away
Queens Arms Country Inn
Queens Arms Country Inn
#6 of 11 in Glossop
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windy Harbour Farm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windy Harbour Farm Hotel

Address: Woodhead Road, Glossop SK13 7QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Glossop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Glossop
Price Range: £70 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Windy Harbour Farm Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Windy Harbour Farm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windy Harbour Farm Hotel Glossop, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing