We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Weekend with friends.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Glossop
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We joined our friends who have stayed here before and raved about it.Really enjoyed our stay,the room was spotless, full of charm and character with lovely views.Dinner and breakfast and a warm welcome from our hosts made a great weekend. We will certainly go back.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fritch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian W, Owner at Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again one day, you are most welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

This is my second review of this wonderful country hotel, we have recently returned from our third visit and as always nothing was too much trouble for hosts Ian and Alison. This time we introduced our friends to this little gem and they too found the whole experience delightful. We had dinner which was excellent, definitely recommended with a pre dinner drink in the lounge first, nothing was rushed and we were allowed to sit and chat but Alison was never too far away if we needed anything. All in all this hotel is well worth a visit, the rooms are lovely and the ambience is just right. Ian and Alison always ensure that your stay is a good one, we particularly look forward to breakfast, it's one of the best breakfasts we've had, everything is really fresh and cooked to perfection, specially the poached eggs!! We are already planning our next visit!

Room Tip: Each room is different and they all have their individual charm, the view from Lucy Ann and toad hal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynnieWetherby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian W, Owner at Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Thank you, once again for your kind comments. Its always a pleasure when you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

Rooms very comfortable and warm.
Welcome pot of tea and biscuits. Dining room needs soft background music as its deathly silent! Food average. Staff not particularly helpful, only saw Ian when it was time to pay!!!
Nice to get away, wouldn't stay again :(

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SazRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian W, Owner at Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Thank you for your revised review.

As owners who operate The Wind in the Willows Hotel with only family members and no outside staff, we were very happy to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality on arrival and also appreciated your comfortable warm room.

We specifically do not employ piped music in any part of the hotel as we are well known for our peace, quiet and relaxation, which has served us well over the years.

Unfortunately, we cannot guarantee a bustling dining room on a monday evening in the dreary late winter months, but thankfully the 10 feet high snow drifts had just about gone.

Our food is all freshly prepared and mostly sourced from local dairy farms and Mettricks award winning butchers here in Glossop. We do advertise and do indeed offer home cooking, which is generally well commented on. We regret that you appear to have expected something quite different, however we are pleased you enjoyed the several wines you chose to sample.

We offer the same level of unobtrusive service to all guests, which we find is usually appreciated and is very much our theme, however, we are always around and on hand on all occasions, if sometimes only in the next room. We do not recall being unhelpful at anytime during your stay.

I was personally on hand at checkout and after chating with you, I had no idea you were so unhappy with your stay. Both Alison and I were also unhappy with this thought and do genuinely regret that this was the case.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I stayed here for a single night on a business trip when a combination of Real Madrid and Girls Aloud fans had taken all the rooms in Manchester. Not your usual business trip hotel but I would thoroughly recommend it for those exploring the Peaks and who, after a hard days hiking, want to relax in comfortable and tranquil surroundings. This is clearly family run, reflected in the geneuine warmth of welcome. My room (Ratty) was a good size with a strong shower and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. I didn't have an evening meal at the hotel, choosing instead to try the pub at the end of the road. (Separate tip - don't, eat in).
Breakfast was excellent; freshly prepared food and a fine cup of tea. There is also plenty of parking. A gem of a place!

Room Tip: I stayed in Ratty's room. No noise from the hotel or from outside; I suspect that this is the ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrimbutSmileyinside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian W, Owner at Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We hope we can welcome you back, one day, with or without Girls Aloud!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We were glad to reach the warmth and safety of this hotel after a difficult evening drive through the Peaks. We received a most courteous welcome. Our room was spacious, comfortable, warm and quiet. Ian rustled up a delicious light supper and breakfast next morning was first class. We thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Very comfortable family run hotel which we have used many times when visiting relatives.Location is ideal as not too far from Manchester airport (as long as we avoid rush-hour traffic!) but with country walks on the doorstep, not to mention a golf course and pub within walking distance. Ian's culinary skills are excellent but I would also recommend several restaurants in Glossop from the pub grub of the Wheatsheaf in old Glossop to the Italian cuisine at Va Bene opposite the station.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and all very different. I particularly like "Lucy Ann" if you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne31_11_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We use this hotel when here for business. It's quiet warm and comfortable, best porridge I have had in a hotel.
Each room as theme in line with the hotels name, very cute Badgers last time.
Drinks in the drawing room would be evenbetter if the fireplace had a roaring log fire in it! Just a thought.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
Thank Bradleys91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glossop
12.7 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,232 reviews
12.5 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
9 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
413 reviews
21.8 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
12.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel

Address: Derbyshire Level | off Sheffield Road, Glossop SK13 7PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Glossop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Glossop
Price Range: £96 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wind In The Willows Country House Hotel Glossop, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing