We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel full of character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Glossop
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The hotel is in a beautiful old country house that is very well decorated and furnished in period character. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Perfect for exploring Glossop and the snake pass area. It's a little far from town (about 1.6 miles) but that made it very quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is a lovely hotel. We received a very warm welcome and throughout our stay, our hosts could not have been more helpful. We spent our time walking and visiting the sites in the Peak District and returned in the late afternoon to relax in our room. The room was clean, comfortable and well appointed. We ate in on a couple of evenings. The dining room is intimate and food high quality. We would definitely go back. Whilst not cheap it is good value. If we could make one suggestion we would like to see the wifi coverage expanded so that the lounge areas could be used a bit more.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Lesterfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My stay at the wonderful Wind in the Willows hotel on Oct 17 and 18 was just right .When I was in business driving throughout the UK this was the kind of family - owned and managed hotel I dreamed about but rarely found. Peace and quite,decent sized bedrooms and great beds, ample free parking, wi-fi , good food especially the breakfasts , a very decent wine list, elegantly furnished, pub at the end of the lane if you want one and a healthy walk to town centre restaurants and bars - and very good value for money. There's a golf course opposite too .And for ramblers or amblers like me, the countryside on the doorstep is among the most attractive in the UK. Perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have lovely aspect.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alantraveller361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We returned to celebrate our 22nd Wedding Anniversary have spent our Wedding Night at Wind in the Willows.... whilst the owners have changed the Hotel is just as wonderful as we remembered.... the room was lovely (the bath amazing!) the food out of this world.... but most of all the welcome, care and attention .... Thank you.... We just hope we will be here in another 22 years to enjoy it once again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel, but the first time was approx 10 yrs ago, and it is still as lovely as we had remembered.
Alison the owner made us very welcome.
The room we stayed in was beautiful and full of charactor, with four poster bed and period furniture.
The bathroom was of a good size and very clean.
We stayed at the hotel for our evening meal and the food was cooked beautifully, as was the breakfast, and a prompt service too even though all meals are cooked to order.
Certainly look forward to staying here again and hopefully before another 10 yr passes.
Thank you for making our stay very memorable.

Room Tip: If you can afford a superior room it's worth every penny, although i haven't stayed in a sta...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We recently stayed for one night and found the hotel to be comfortable and well equipped with great character. The lady owner greeted us on arrival and provided complimentary tea and biscuits which was nice. Our initial impression was that the hotel was very quiet and clean, and our room was well prepared and spotless with an excellent view of the large garden.

Due to the threatening weather forecast, we decided to take our evening meal at the hotel, and in hindsight, that was probably a mistake. as despite the food being excellent, there was a total lack of atmosphere in the lounge and dining room.

When we went to dinner, we were showed into the lounge area where other couples were seated in total silence whilst we chose our meals from the menu. My wife and I were offered the two vacant chairs that were situated about six feet apart at either end of a small table. One of the other guests did start chatting 'quietly' within their group, but private conversation was difficult due to us being seated apart and the lack of any low level background music that would have made it a more relaxing experience. There were extended periods when no one spoke as if they daren't break the silence, similar to when people join others in a lift.

After approximately 30 minutes in the 'waiting' room (our chairs having been moved together) we were shown to the dining room where we realised that there was only one other couple dining. Whereas we had no desire to sit in a noisy environment, the addition of subtle and tasteful background music would have greatly improved our dining experience. Throughout the meal, we felt obliged to whisper as we could actually hear the other couple breathing and chewing and presumed we were equally as audible. I am sure that total silence resembling a library suits many people, but for us, the fact that we could have heard a pin drop prevented us from relaxing totally.
In summary, the hotel has great character and our room was very nice and comfortable, and although the food was well prepared at dinner and breakfast, the evening meal was a little expensive. I would also suggest the introduction of tasteful, low level background music during the evening meal and breakfast to improve the experience for guests.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steval75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian W, Owner at Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Stephen, thank you for taking time to leave your review. We regret that the drawing room was so full before dinner that you had to take seats that were a little apart. Most people that evening were meeting up before going out to a function and the dining room was in fact quiet due to some people not making it in time for dinner, leaving us all a little disappointed. Kind regards, Ian and Alison.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I found Wind in the Willows quite at random on the Internet when the hotel I normally stay at turned out to be full and was amazed at my luck. This place is a real gem, and I agree with one of your earlier correspondents on the difference in character to the normal 5-star hotel chains. And character it certainly has. Amongst the outstanding features that I found contributed to my overall very positive impression were the large amount of wood panelling and wooden furniture generally, the size of my bedroom, the view over an immaculately manicured lawn and flowerbed and towards distant peaks, the furnishing & fittings in both bedroom and bathroom (rattan and 1920s style plumbing fittings), the very satisfying full English breakfast which a long-term expat like myself has to start the day with (but admittedly i was tempted by the salmon and poached eggs and the smoked haddock) but possibly more than anything else the quality of the paintwork and decoration. For me, Country House Hotel par excellence.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zzzDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian W, Owner at Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Tony, thank you for your kind review, we look forward to your next visit, you are most welcome. Kind regards Ian and Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glossop
12.5 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
12.8 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,135 reviews
21.8 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Glossop
Travelodge Glossop
#1 of 2 in Glossop
446 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,813 reviews
18.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel

Address: Derbyshire Level | off Sheffield Road, Glossop SK13 7PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Glossop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Glossop
Price Range: £97 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wind In The Willows Country House Hotel Glossop, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing