We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room but noisy”
Review of Travelodge Glossop

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Glossop
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glossop
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Room was modern and clean but noisy. Travelodge have done a good job converting an old brownstone industrial building into comfortable modern accommodation right in the centre of Glossop. We have stayed here before on the 2nd floor and our room was quiet. This time our 1st floor room No 108 was situated over Weatherspoons Pub, and we heard what sounded like a swing door banging every minute or so. We also had mechanical noise from outside which was a fan going constantly, possibly a refrigeration unit. On the plus side we had a pleasant outlook over a stream and trees, the room was basic but well fitted out. Ideal for a short stay. Shame about the noise.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Lindaotridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Glossop
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Not a bad hotel but be warned about the car parking. Although it is free this is only for 2 hours and so if you arrive to check in at 3pm you have to be prepared to move your car after 2 hours and then move it back at 6pm to get free parking overnight. You then have to move it again at 10.00 am the following morning as the car park attendants are very keen (even on a Sunday morning!). I know that Travelodge don't own the car park and there is a note on their website but this was not at all clear. Thankfully the receptionist told me about the problems and I was able to move the car but this meant we had to pay elsewhere whereas if I had had prior warning I could have made alternative arrangements.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
2  Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here for one night. It was very basic but clean, warm and friendly. The hotel gas great parking facilities. Right in the centre of the town where there are some lovely shops cafés and restaurants,

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emerald01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This was my first time in a Travelodge and in Glossop so was looking forward to seeing what my experience would be. Upon arriving, we were a little confused about the parking as it wasn't made overly clear where you could park for the hotel. There were signs saying that you could park for 2 hours only and we had to ask reception to clarify where we could park. The reception itself was pretty good. The only problem we had with them was that I had asked to be woken up at 6am and the male receptionist was ten minutes later. When I asked the second time to be woken up, the receptionist before hadn't written the request down. Always double check that they will wake you up at the time you want. There is no phone so they will knock on your door. The bed and pillows were brilliant! So comfortable and were a pleasure to sleep in. The room was clean and fresh (except for a random pen-lid). Very close to the local train station as well and close to villages such as New Mills and Hayfield.

Room Tip: Double check about breakfast.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

we stopped in the new Glossop Travelodge and its ideal for walkers being near Bleaklow and Kinder . Originally booked for Good Friday and the Saturday nights, but we soon booked for the Sunday night as well , being the next day was a bank holiday . The rooms and very clean and the beds are very comfy . The heating for the room was easy to control and plenty of different lighting . The shower room was clean as well and there was plenty of hot water . The shower was ok although you do have to keep bending down for your shower gel etc . ( would be nice of a toiletry holder )
Only downside was being charged a booking fee when we decided ( on the day) to book for the Thursday night plus the cost of the mobile call as well . ( why is there no landline numbers no days ?????) . I was told it was because it was classed as a separate booking , but they used my booking details of my original dates mmmmmm wierd .
so if you want to add a further night on the day be prepared for some extra costs ......_

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We specifically were looking at lower priced accommodation in an area close to the Derbyshire Peak District and not expecting to draw much luck only a few weeks ahead struck lucky.

This hotel is well located in the delightful town of Glossop. If coming in by train from Manchester the hotel is 5 minutes walk from the station. There ample pubs, restaurants in the the town all within a short walk.

Previous Tripadvisor reviews gave this hotel a good overall score and we were not disappointed. Staff were friendly and welcoming and the entrance / reception area was in good condition. The room was particularly good, still in exceptional condition although has only been opened a few months. As a semi-regular user of Travelodge hotels I do find the condition of the hotel to be very variable. Many do get a lot of wear and tear but lack on basic maintenance to remove things like scuff marks on the walls etc. It would be nice if this location was kept in the same condition.

Room was the bog standard. Mattress and bedding has improved, flatscreen TV, tea/coffee tray and (basic) bathroom was as expected. My only grip about cleanliness was the outside of the windows could have been better.

Just one small annoyance was our room card needed to be reprogrammed twice upon returning back after the day before our 2nd and final night. On the first occasion it took some time for a member of staff to come once we rang the alert button on the desk. The member of staff then had some problems logging into the system to reprogramming the card.

So overall a good experience and we plan to use the same location later in the year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank philstephenrichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We wanted somewhere inexpensive and reasonably on the edge of the Peak District and close to Manchester. We were persuaded when we noted that this hotel had been updated recently. It was a real find and we'll be back. Centrally located in the town with ample parking, clean, fresh, comfortable rooms and very warm and welcoming staff. Faultless.

Room Tip: Between 10-4pm you can park free for a maximum of 2 hours, but despite unclear signage parking betwe...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malc59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glossop
1.0 mi away
Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel
12.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,803 reviews
12.5 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,132 reviews
12.8 mi away
Buckingham Hotel
Buckingham Hotel
#7 of 9 in Buxton
570 reviews
19.4 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Glossop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Glossop

Address: Victoria Street, Glossop SK13 8HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Glossop
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glossop
Price Range: £42 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Glossop 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Glossop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Glossop Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing