We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressed”
Review of Travelodge Glossop

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Glossop
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glossop
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel was very clean throughout. The receptionist was pleasant and advised us accordingly and it was in the town centre.
Other than that there is little that I can say to recommend this hotel. There is no hotel car park, residents have to use the car park of the retail centre, of which the hotel is part and during the day, parking is restricted to two hours. The double room that we had was small and was not provided with any storage space other than a bar sticking out of the wall with six clothes hangers attached and a shelf above. No bedside shelf or cabinet, no drawers, no telephone. There were double French windows which had been set to only open three inches. The room was totally overlooked by people living in the terrace of houses about sixty yards away. The building is an old converted cotton mill and the original metal support stanchions that were built in during original construction are still prominent and tend to appear in the most unlikely places. Although there was a Witherspoons restaurant close by, the only food available on site were packaged meals which certainly did not appeal to my wife or myself.
All in all, not a good experience and I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank offasmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night, on our travels back to the south (having stayed at the Caernarfon travel lodge for a cycle event). Very helpful, and friendly staff. Our room was really comfortable and clean. Lots of shops by the travel lodge, including a marks and spencers. There is a couple of places to eat as well. My husband enjoyed an early morning bike ride up snake pass ( taking in the stunning scenery) . Was also an ideal location for us visiting Bakewell. Will recommend, and will be returning again!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank C1ark33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We use the Travelodge when visiting family in Glossop and were very pleased when it opened. Our room(s) have always been clean and comfortable. We did have one noisy one - above where the bottle bins from the Wetherspoons get filled/emptied - but that was the exception.
It's in a very handy spot and, with the development of the area, now has several shops and a café/bar around it. Parking is generally free - it's free all weekend and usually we're leaving on a weekday by the time you have to pay. All in all, a welcome addition to accommodation options in Glossop.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aileen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here with my wife for a Tuesday night.Usual good value for a travelodge.Handy location for the town.My only warning,although it did not bother us too much as we had to get up early,was from before 7am there were several deliveries outside out room.Marks & Spencers lorry,followed by brewery lorry,followed by recycling lorry,followed by another brewery lorry.I don't know if this only happens on a Wednesday morning,but I suggest if you like to sleep in ask for a room not overlooking the car park.Although booked for a double there were only towels for one person.Was given more towels when I went to the reception.Wetherspoons pub next door,which was a good place to eat.Overall I would definitely stay her again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the car park can be noisy from delivery lorries early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Clean room and bathroom. Clean comfortable bed. Lights that worked. Television that worked. Free wifi. Only thing I missed was a hairdryer. Highly recommended. This was ideally situated for a party that we attended in the town. The staff were polite and helpful, even at 2am in the morning when I couldn't get the vending machine to give me a bottle of water. A. Lovely member of staff came to the rescue.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Shop15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Have stayed here a few times when visiting family. The rates are good if you book in advance. The rooms are large and very clean. All in all a pleasant stay. We have not eaten breakfast as i usually eat elsewhere, but i have heard that the food is decent. It is always quite empty, or at least it has been when i've stayed and never had a problem booking a room.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank GJM65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Visited Chatsworth and stayed here overnight to visit Blue John Cavern and Speedwell Cavern the following day. Had a lovely relaxing evening here after a busy day to recharge for another busy day. The room was lovely and clean and fresh. No noise from outside and a nice pub (the George) up the road.


  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Leona822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glossop
0.9 mi away
Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel
12.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,939 reviews
12.6 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,206 reviews
19.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
403 reviews
12.8 mi away
Buckingham Hotel
Buckingham Hotel
#7 of 9 in Buxton
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Glossop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Glossop

Address: Victoria Street, Glossop SK13 8HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Glossop
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glossop
Price Range: £41 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Glossop 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Glossop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Glossop Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing