We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”
Review of Restaurant 54

Restaurant 54
Ranked #23 of 91 Restaurants in Glossop
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: We are a relaxed and friendly restaurant providing freshly prepared food. Our menu is small and changes often, but dishes can be amended to suit customers on request. We offer a wide range of international cuisine, and can cater to special dietary requirements. We always have our vegetarian menu on offer and are happy to adapt dishes to suit our vegan customers. We are child friendly and our small guests can choose a half size portion from dishes on the menu but we also have some of the usual child options. We provide buffets in-house and do outside catering, as well as holding cookery school sessions and monthly theme nights. We are happy to accommodate special requests ..... just get in touch and we'll do our best to meet your needs!
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The food was very tasty and nicely presented we were greeted with a smilie and the staff were very attentive great meal worth every penny.

Date of visit: August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lmur01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 80 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

The simple menu at 54 is deceptive. They do familiar straight forward food very well. However, this is done so well you may not appreciate how well the food is prepared/served. It looks effortless and it tastes fantastic. The also do more unfamiliar dishes with the same discrete brilliance.

Date of visit: August 2012
Thank andymortimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My husband and I visited here as a late birthday celebration. We found the staff very friendly and not over fussy. It was a hot evening so we were glad to find plenty of fish dishes on the menu. My husband had a salmon dish and I had a cod and prawn dish off the specials board. Both dishes were well cooked and came with a selection of fresh veg and potatoes that were excellent. Maybe on a hot evening I made the mistake of asking for Eton Mess for pudding as it had an awful lot of cream with it, but again thoroughly enjoyable. Yes we would go again.

Date of visit: July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Daphne565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Visited this restaurant last week. Extremely limited midweek menu. Struggled for something I wanted to eat. At the bottom of the set menu it said to check the specials board. Looked, nothing written on it so I asked what the specials were only to be told there weren't any. Not even sure what type of restaurant this is as there were such strange combinations on the menu. In fairness the food that was delivered was nicely presented but when you don't want what you're being served in the first place it doesn't really make up for much. Needs a more extensive menu, despite it being midweek and desperately needs some sort of identity, shame.

Date of visit: June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MilesFamily67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Called in without any idea about what we would receive and was really impressed. Small menu (as it should be!!) but superb local meat and fresh vegetables. High Peak lamb with goats cheese mash was an interesting but delicious choice, accompanied by perfectly cooked vegetables. Homemade lemon syllabub was perfect. Shame the pannacotta was off the menu as they'd not made any that day. Staff were friendly and the open kitchen meant that we were able to personally thank the chef for our meal too!! Give it a try.

Date of visit: May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant 54 also viewed

Glossop, Derbyshire
 
Glossop, Derbyshire
Glossop, Derbyshire
 

Been to Restaurant 54? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing