We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Already booked to go back in September!”
Review of The Woodlands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Woodlands
Ranked #1 of 11 Glossop B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Already booked to go back in September!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful location, excellent service and everyone was so friendly. The tea rooms serve gorgeous cakes, which we ate whilst sitting on the garden. The bed was comfortable and it was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was delicious and served in the sunny conservatory. Can't wait to return in September to explore more of the area

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plopster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
62
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norhamptonshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just spent two nights at Woodlands. This is a super B&B and you could really not ask for much more. The owners, Judy and Brian, were just great and nothing was too much trouble for them. The gardens and tearoom (conservatory) was great and very popular -as were the lunches. All in all a very good find - and they also have a self catering apartment. Location is ideal for Peak District and National Trust Properties - Lyme Park, Tatton Park, etc. Highly recommend this!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at Woodlands. Our hosts own a tearooms on the site, and their professionalism is apparent in the quality of the food and the variety available. A second feature of the B&B is the beautifully maintained garden, which provides a lovely view from the breakfast conservatory. If like us, you appreciate a nice view, you should ask the hosts to direct you to a nearby restaurant, Peruga, which looks out over the ridges and valleys of Derbyshire.

We found our room to be very good for the price. We booked late, and I'm pretty sure we got the last available room. It was a little small with a private bathroom across the landing, but more than adequate for our needs. Next time we shall make sure to get the premier room.

We found the location of the B&B to be great for exploring the region - we traveled as far away as York, as well as to Lyme Park and Chatsworth. Chatsworth in particular is an amazing place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewCheevers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have stayed in many hotels and B&B's all over the world, but this little gem beats them all, with regard to perfect hospitality, excellent food and impeccable cleanliness. It was home from home, and Judy and Brian spoiled us rotten with their delicious breakfasts and welcoming tea and scones (the best scones we've ever had). Can't wait to visit again!
Thank you for a perfect stay.

Heidi & David Cross

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heidicross46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting family and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Judy and her husband made us so welcome; it was apparent that they genuinely care about their guests. The accommodation was faultless, both guest lounge and bedroom, and spotlessly clean. The views over the hills and countryside from our room were delightful. We took our family for Sunday Lunch in their Tea Room where the staff were so kind and friendly and the food was superb, as was breakfast the next morning. Everything about our stay was faultless.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Everything went right and was spot on. (Well, the weather could have been a bit better)
This B & B is comfortable, clean, attractive, as you'd hope for and as we expected having read the other reviews. But Judy goes the extra mile in her front of house welcome and kindness. We felt that really makes the difference. Well done!
All the categories score top. Plus parking, and Internet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

When we arrived we were greeted warmly by Judy who made us feel very welcome and immediately offered us Coffee and Cake after our journey. It was this warmth and attention to detail from both Judy and Brian that made this such a wonderful weekend. The room was beautiful, exhibiting those little touches that make the Woodlands stand out. The bed was so comfortable that we struggled to make breakfast, but the effort was well worth it. Brian is an extremely accomplished cook and breakfasts were always a pleasure, in the light and airy ambiance of the Tea Room, setting you up nicely for a days sight seeing. After a long day travelling the peaks we would make the short walk to the George and Dragon where the food was excellent and the atmosphere lively but very friendly. A lovely quiet place (even the Cockerel across the road sleeps in!!) with exceptional views and owners who take pleasure in meeting their guests and ensuring they have a great stay. This was the one of the best decisions we have made and we would recommend the Woodlands to any one visiting the Peak District. Thank You Brian and Judy for a wonderful stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: The premier room has a large bath and separate shower. A real boon after walking around the peaks al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glossop
3.2 mi away
Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Hyde) Hotel
11.2 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Hyde
2.9 mi away
The Bulls Head Public House, Restaurant & Guest House
3.0 mi away
Windy Harbour Farm Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands

Property: The Woodlands
Address: Woodlands Woodseats Lane | Charlesworth, Glossop SK13 5DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Glossop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Glossop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest House with Tea Rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Woodlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodlands Glossop, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing