We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saved the day! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pico Lounge

Pico Lounge
Ranked #10 of 81 Restaurants in Glossop
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Pico Lounge is an informal, neighbourhood food led cafe/bars open all-day everyday where families, friends, and locals can come for a coffee, a drink, or something to eat in a relaxed comfortable environment. We boast a beautiful outside patio area where customers can drink and dine while listening to the babbling river and enjoying some sunshine.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Saved the day! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent Service and delicious food - great decor and lovely atmosphere. That is what you can expect from Pico Lounge Glossop. Having spent almost an hour waiting for food and walking out of another Glossop establishment Pico Lounge came to the rescue and saved our evening. Very reasonably priced, helpful and friendly staff - we will definitely be returning soon. Thank you!

Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pico L, Manager at Pico Lounge, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a great review. We're glad that we could "save the day" for you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    118
    75
    36
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Visited here on Tuesday around 11am with the family for brunch, first impressions were clean tidy modern and bright inside, child friendly and the service was reasonably quick also. The food was lovely and well presented .we had the special lounge eggs with hollandaise sauce and smoked salmon, 2 traditional breakfasts a vegetarian breakfast ,and must say sweet corn fritters were lovely .a child's breakfast which we able to choose and make up from the extras list. Definitely worth a visit ,the decor might not be to everyone's taste but thank god we are all different . We will re visit and soon I hope.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pico L, Manager at Pico Lounge, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you very much for your amazing review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to having you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely open and airy space- bit quirky”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

It was our first visit to Pico Lounge on a weekday late lunchtime. The staff were friendly and welcoming. We ordered a butternut squash and falafel burger, and New York steak sandwich. Both meals were lovely, nice side salad leaves and good chips. Good presentation and piping hot. We did think thought that there could have been more steak on the sandwich for the price which was about £10, whereas the vege meal was much better value portion wise. On the whole it was good and we would go back again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catherine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pico L, Manager at Pico Lounge, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review us. We're really glad that you enjoyed your visit. I will be watching for portion size on the steak sandwich. We use a high quality sirloin steak for the sandwiches.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Disappointed, having visited before and given a glowing review I hurried back. This time the staff seemed more intent on talking to each other than serving the queue at the bar, the once excellent breakfast was dry and over cooked and the conversation the staff was having was distasteful to say the least, very disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Addy789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pico L, Manager at Pico Lounge, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
I was very disappointed to read your review. I have messaged you directly to try to get a few more details as I would like to look further into this incident. I appreciate any co-operation.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Creepy inside, sunny outside”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

If you haven't been to the Pico Lounge in Glossop before, be warned that there are lots of decapitated animals at the entrance. An ghastly menagerie of unlucky oryx, gazelle and pig heads hang on the wall, all glassy eyes and stuffed. I wouldn't pay £9 for a fishfinger sandwich in such macabre surroundings, so I can't comment on the food. Apart from the taxidermy the interior is a lot like Wetherspoons, another reason to head straight for the outdoor area at the back. On the south facing bank of Glossop Brook, it's a pleasant spot where you can listen to the water and watch the knotweed grow. There were menus on the table, but after having spent a total of 90 minutes there over two visits, nobody ever came to serve me. The third time I went I waited 15 minutes and then went to order direct from the bar. I had a pot of tea which was made with hot water rather than boiling water, served with milk so dubious I drank it black. As hinted above, the food is quite expensive so I didn't try. Despite the lack of service and poor tea I would go back, because the outdoor area is the most pleasant place to sit in the middle of Glossop, and there's access round the side, avoiding all the creepy stuffed animals at the front.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pico L, Manager at Pico Lounge, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review us. We are sorry to hear that our interior is not to your liking. We believe that it is our animal heads and eclectic mix of artwork and mirrors that sets us apart from other places.

We are glad that you enjoy our patio area however, you commented on a lack of service. We do not offer table service and you need to order at the bar. Apologies if this was not clear to you on your visits. We do hope you come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pico Lounge also viewed

Glossop, Derbyshire
Glossop, Derbyshire
 

Been to Pico Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing