We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gastro Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pico Lounge

Pico Lounge
Ranked #10 of 81 Restaurants in Glossop
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Pico Lounge is an informal, neighbourhood food led cafe/bars open all-day everyday where families, friends, and locals can come for a coffee, a drink, or something to eat in a relaxed comfortable environment. We boast a beautiful outside patio area where customers can drink and dine while listening to the babbling river and enjoying some sunshine.
Level Contributor
191 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Gastro Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is a new chain Gastro Bar. The food is very good and staff friendly and helpful. Good selection of beers and wines. Nice relaxing place to meet and eat. Also free Wi-Fi.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernTraveller53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pico L, Manager at Pico Lounge, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us!

We're really happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    119
    75
    36
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, average food and service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

At first glance it looks like a really special place, quirky, bright, lovely riverside seating outside. Have visited around 6 times and each time the food has been Ok, if pricey but not as good as the prices suggest. The seem to skimp on the most expensive ingredients. For example there is a tapas dish that claims to have haloumi in it. The first time I just thought they had forgotten the haloumi and as we were with friends just let it go. The second time I had this I asked where the haloumi was and they said it was in the dish. I waded through the sauce and found what might have been haloumi equivalent to two tiny pieces smaller than my little finger nail in the whole dish. Simialrly I was not convinced that there was much alcohol in the cocktails.

There is no table service so you have to queue up to order your food and desert - which results in the people who think its a bar going straight up and getting served drinks whilst the people who are forming an orderly queue for food standing around waiting for ages- so its quite disruptive to an evening out with friends. Service is very slow - we waited 40 minutes on a Sunday morning for porridge and when we went in early Sunday evening when it was probably only 10% full we were told it would be a 50 minute wait for food. The staff are very friendly - especially the chap with the coloured waist coat but its novelty has worn off as it just can't deliver the goods.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Issy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pico L, Manager at Pico Lounge, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us.

I was extremely disappointed to read your review. If you are unhappy with your food, we are more than happy to replace or improve it for you. There should have been more Halloumi in your Tapas dish so please accept my apology for your disappointing portion. All of our cocktails contain at least a double measure of alcohol in each of them with some of the cocktails slightly stronger than others.

We don't offer table service but our staff do strive to serve people in the fairest way possible at the bar. Apologies if this hasn't been the case for you. We are a popular drinking destination on a Friday and Saturday night as well as being a popular eatery but we try and serve people as quickly as possible.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Looking for a relaxed, easy going place to eat then this is for you. Pico is family friendly with plenty of space for all. Food good quality and fairly priced, drinks a little on the expensive side but good quality. Only issue we had was toilets are upstairs so a bit of a pain with young children, not sure if they have ground level loos, didn't see any, that aside, a nice evening out with the family.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pico L, Manager at Pico Lounge, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the tiem to review us. We're happy to see that you enjoy visiting us.

We do have a disabled loo/baby change downstairs. You are more than welcome to use that toilet. Just ask us where it is next time you're in :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“What'swrong with them?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Great site.Wonderful outside area.£15 quid for a bottle of house white and sat outside surrounded by crayons on the floor, mess, unwiped tables, serviettes fluttering around, I counted 6 tables uncleared. one family served their meal on a table where the plates and glasses from the previous diners weren't cleared. I was shocked.So much promise. Failing badly.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DerbyshireFuchsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pico L, Manager at Pico Lounge, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us.

I am disappointed to read that you were unimpressed with clearing of the outside area. This has been and will continue to be an area of focus for us here. It is obviously a very popular area for people to sit in and as a result, there is a very quick turnover of tables. The staff try their very best to keep on top of keeping everywhere spic and span inbetween serving food and drink to people.

I take your comments very seriously and will continue to stirve to keep our patio area a focus for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Saved the day! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent Service and delicious food - great decor and lovely atmosphere. That is what you can expect from Pico Lounge Glossop. Having spent almost an hour waiting for food and walking out of another Glossop establishment Pico Lounge came to the rescue and saved our evening. Very reasonably priced, helpful and friendly staff - we will definitely be returning soon. Thank you!

Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pico L, Manager at Pico Lounge, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a great review. We're glad that we could "save the day" for you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pico Lounge also viewed

Glossop, Derbyshire
Glossop, Derbyshire
 
Glossop, Derbyshire
Wilmslow, Cheshire
 

Been to Pico Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing