We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A standard b&b NOT a hotel !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
George Hotel Glossop
Ranked #10 of 11 Glossop B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Seemed ok till we had to spend any amount of time in room. Shower would be better if water came out of it at a good temperature and not as a cold trickle. Woke up a few times in night as we were so cold , duvet wasn't much use , found spare blankets next morning :0( door to room was really noisy so felt bad whenever we went in or out because of disturbing other guests. Kids bunk-beds didn't seem the safest in the world and one of the slats had a crack in it. Room was clean but towels provided were really basic , I have thrown better ones away. The breakfast looked ok , mistake , there were only another 4 people in there to eat but out of our party of 6 , 2 people had finished breakfast before others had even got any. When we did get it well then it proved to be not worth the wait. The sausage was some indescribable piece of so called meat , the mushrooms must have been cooked the week before and reheated daily and the extra added eggshell was a bonus ! If anyone had bothered to ask us if we slept ok or if breakfast was ok then I probably wouldn't feel the need to be on here writing this but we didn't even get to check out properly , just left the door key on the bar and let ourselves out. This could be a fantastic place if the same care was taken with guests as with people in the pub for a meal. Food totally different in day and quite enjoyable , what goes wrong with breakfast and the shrivelled mushrooms , dried out black pudding ,fresh tomatoes that haven't seen any heat , the beans must have been reheated quite a few times and the so called sausage was the worst thing I have tasted in years Could be fantastic , would love to visit glossop again but don't think i would if it meant I had to stay here again , disappointed :0(

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ladyblade0114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed here for one night and I asked for a double room. We got a double room but it was tiny, (and was two single beds pushed together - so no cuddling in the middle!) you could hardly walk round the bed and there was a wall heater on the wall that you had to be careful not to trip over the cable. The lighting in the room was dingy, towels were threadbare and the breakfast was errr...different - put this way, I have no idea what the sausages were made of!
Staff were friendly enough, but if I was going back to Glossop I would look for somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NipperTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

I stayed here with a work colleague for a few weeks in November and December and found it to be very good value. The rooms are clean and warm with good TVs and good internet access. Also they are properly serviced every day. Breakfast is great, full English, and if anything else is required, just ask! The ONLY problem that we had was parking the van. On the first day we parked in the station car park opposite, and got a warning ticket in the morning. I would advise anyone to park behind the hotel by the Police Station. Overall, a big ThankYou to Juliette, Maggie and the staff.

Room Tip: Any room would do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinconroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

4 of us went for lunch here today. Unfriendly bar staff, third rate coffee, and 2 inedible meals. The baguette was white as a ghost, meat inside was awful, and although my friend ordered a pannini, this was exactly the same as my baguette. No-one enquired if our meals were okay. A complete waste of £12. Never go there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jeannie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

On arrival the staff member serving behind the bar was obviously under pressure as she was on her own attending to customers in the bar and the hotel reception. (what reception) We checked in, in the public bar and then had to carry our luggage through the bar to the stairs. The room was adequate if a little on the small side for a one night stay. The shower however was only a trickle and the room very dimly lit.

We were told breakfast would be served from 8.30am - 9.30am so we arrived in the breakfast room at 8.40am we received our breakfast at 9.30am!!.There was 6 of us in our party and only 9 other people in the dining area. The menu stated to help yourself to orange juice and cereals at the bar. I had to request orange juice. As our table was only set for 4 and there was no other seats available we had to ask for another two sets of cutlery more than once. In all fairness the breakfast was ok. The waitress clearly didn't want to be there maybe it was an early Sunday morning start. Value for money not too bad but the hotel staff need to up their game with customer service and be more professional . Will not be staying again.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
3  Thank janetlaverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed for one night as we were at a wedding in Glossop. The staff were friendly and the room was clean. I nearly cancelled after reading other reviews but I am glad I didn't and for the price I was surprisingly satisfied. As mentioned before the room was clean as was the bathroom - which wasn't dim and dingy and described by others. Again even though allocated a room facing the station there was no noise. Full English breakfast was good also.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chriscManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We have stayed at the George twice now and by coincidence had the same room both times. Our room was quite small but very comfortable with a decent supply of tea and coffee sachets. Although at the front of the hotel, on a fairly major road, opposite the railway station, our room was quiet and had proper blackout curtains. Both times we came back to the hotel after the pub downatiars had shut so we don't know if any noise would come up but I doubt it as there is a heavy and firmly closing firedoor at the top of the stairs. There is a decent breakfast included with cereals, juice, tea/coffee and either full english or "boil in the bag" type kipper fillet.
If you are happy with comfortable rather than luxurious, then I would recommend the George; Glossop is a nice little town with some good pubs and great walking country very close.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PdhGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glossop hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Glossop
Travelodge Glossop
#1 of 2 in Glossop
471 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Woodlands
The Woodlands
#1 of 11 in Glossop
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Queens Arms Country Inn
Queens Arms Country Inn
#6 of 11 in Glossop
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peakdale Lodge
Peakdale Lodge
#1 of 2 in Glossop
33 reviews
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
Hikers & Bikers B&B
#11 of 11 in Glossop
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel Glossop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel Glossop

Address: 34 Norfolk Street, Glossop SK13 7QU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Glossop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Glossop
Price Range: £32 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel Glossop 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently The George Hotel Glossop is currently Closed under the previous business operators. The George Hotel is currently owned and managed by Punch Taverns ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your George Hotel Glossop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Glossop Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing