We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
George Hotel Glossop
Ranked #11 of 11 Glossop B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Stayed one night on business and arrived late due to train delay problems. The hotel is well placed directly opposite the station. Had to walk through 10+ smokers who crowded the entrance - frankly it was disgusting and nobody should have to do that. This is essentially a pub with some rooms and I was given the key for mine. The rooms are tired but reasonably clean. However, things like the toilet roll holder needing fixed, the toilet seat falling down, the continual running water in the toilet, the water left in the kettle, 4 sachets of bath gel but no shampoo, all point to a less than professional approach to running an hotel. Coupled with the fact that some guests were drinking to around 1.00am then proceeded to walk around banging doors and talking till two in the morning and until I went out into the corridor and asked them to go to bed, made this less than an enjoyable stay. There was an hotel member of staff who should have sorted this. However, on the up side I had to leave early and breakfast does not start till 7.30am. The breakfast lady was aware fo this and had got stuff ready for me at 7.00am so that I could have something before I went to work. She was excellent and deserves some thanks. That apart this is not a place to stay again for me. Too much going wrong, too slapdash in their approach. I won't be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Millport18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnthegeorge, Manager at George Hotel Glossop, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

This guest was in a double room and paid £35.00 for Bed and full English Breakfast. The room was checked after departure and the toilet roll holder was broken and has now been rectified. As a town centre Hotel with no garden facilities we only have smoking outside the front of the Hotel. There are cigarette bins provided, however we cannot enforce guests to use them. We are licensed until 1am and are unfortunately not able to control other guests once they leave the bar. We do always request that they leave quietly. There is a telephone in your room and a room folder and if you had telephoned down then the duty Manager would have been able to sort out any noise issues with other guests that you had. Unfortunately if we are not made aware then we are unable to do anything at the time. For £35 a night to include Breakfast we do not have to provide anything in the room but do put in complimentary shower gels. Breakfast does not start until 7.30am and we accommodated this guest at 7am Unfortunately when we bend over backwards to help people, upgrade them at no extra cost we do not get recognised for this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for George Hotel Glossop
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stopped here on a Saturday night when I was in town for the friends birthday. Not the best hotel you'll stay in but is clean and has everything you'll need. I had a single room and it was nice to pay half the price of a double rather than more. Was good value for what I wanted it for. The best part was the breakfast, which is included in the price, cereals followed by full English with plenty of tea and toast. Had a few drinks in the bar, which was busy and the food looked good. Would stop here again.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Katherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

Had lunch again here today. Have not been for a while as it was always busy. The food is very good and huge portions.
Not always able to finish. !!
The owner always treats you like a long lost friend!
We will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank PaulJam6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a friend's 50th in the downstairs function room. Ok it's not the best place I've ever stayed but it was friendly, comfortable and excellent value for money. We had two single rooms which were basic and a bit dated but they were warm, clean and had everything you need for a short stay. Staff were attentive, friendly and really made you feel welcome.

The dinners we saw coming out, the evening buffet and breakfast the next morning were all really well cooked (perfect poached eggs). I don't know why The George has so many damning reviews, it's not The Ritz but at £35 a night you'd be going some to expect that! If you're in the area and looking for a friendly, budget stay then this is the place.

We were a little concerned at no onsite parking but shouldn't have been as there's plenty of free parking on the surrounding streets.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marcus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Booked two rooms for weekend 23-25 Nov.(two nights).Great location for visiting Manchester.Train station right outside the front door.No noise from trains because it terminates here.Large Co-op supermarket next to station.Centrally located.Banks,petrol station and many shops on the doorstep,even a Marks&Spencer,couldn't be more convenient.Price includes a cooked breakfast with cereals,toast,juice tea and coffee thrown in.The rooms are OK,clean and well appointed,if you get the one with the four poster,which was one of the rooms we were given,then you get a bonus.The only downside is that this is a Pub and we did get some noise from below on the Saturday night(there was a party in progress when we got back from Manchester at 9.45 pm).This continued to around 11.30.Not overly intrusive and if it wasn't for the music we wouldn't have heard a thing.Recommend you visit during the week,not weekend if you prefer peace and quiet.Overall well recommended.

Room Tip: There may be other rooms away from the road and not over the bar area that might be quieter.Check wh...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Went for a weekend to be close to the peak district, some great walks nearby! Glossop does offer some restaurants/bars also. The george hotel does a good breakfast, and nice staff. Room with 4 poster bed(and rather aged at that!) was VERY cold when we got there and took some amount of heating up. Bed could do with a new mattress. Didn't manage to get the hot water working until the sunday, and the shower left a lot to be desired! it was all a bit dated, didn't feel dirty, but didn't feel overly clean! the pub downstairs had a rather talkative local who kept insisting my husband and i had already booked in when we first arrived!

Room Tip: room not big enough for 4 poster - don't bother!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NowCousins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Very friendly town centre local just opposite the station. Tried the Grolsch lager which wasn't at it's best, but the Guinness was on really top form. Not tried the food, but looks as though they have a good choice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glossopowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glossop hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Glossop
Travelodge Glossop
#1 of 2 in Glossop
445 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Bulls Head Public House, Restaurant & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Queens Arms Country Inn
Queens Arms Country Inn
#6 of 11 in Glossop
82 reviews
1.3 mi away
Windy Harbour Farm Hotel
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
Hikers & Bikers B&B
#10 of 11 in Glossop
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel Glossop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel Glossop

Address: 34 Norfolk Street, Glossop SK13 7QU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Glossop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Glossop
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel Glossop 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently The George Hotel Glossop is currently Closed under the previous business operators. The George Hotel is currently owned and managed by Punch Taverns ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your George Hotel Glossop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Glossop Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing