We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation and friendly host”
other travellers have booked this property
Burnswark Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Burnswark Cottage
Burnswark Cottage Burnswark Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Burnswark Cottage
Burnswark Cottage
Burnswark Cottage
Four poster Bedroom
Four Poster Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Dining Room
Sitting Room
Sitting Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
sun porch
garden in winter
Garden
local views
local views
local views
local views
local views
local views
Local View
Local View
Local View
4  Star Registered
Longdendale valley and reservoir
Ladybower,Dambusters Dam
The  History of Bottoms Reservoir, the engineer and the conservation area. Hadfield.
The Weirs. Bottoms Reservoir. Hadfield.
The Weir Bottoms Reservoir.Hadfield
Bottoms Reservoir.Hadfield.
The Victorian  Pump house,Bottoms Reservoir. Hadfield.
The Overflow fountain Bottoms Reservoir. Hadfield.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Glossop, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dawn K
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation and friendly host”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The bungalow was everything we expected and more. We travelled with 2 dogs on a very hot day and Pat met us with water ready for them. It was very clean and everything we needed was available. The property is actually in Hadfield, which was the location for filming for the League of Gentlemen. There is a walking trail around the village pointing out key points of interest. A must for any fans.
Just a note that the parking requires you to reverse out on to the road, and there was often neighbours or school drop off parked cars to watch out for. Not a major problem but easier if someone called you out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2016
Thank you so very much for taking time to write the review.Pat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystalca...
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable cottage in a great location.”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Very comfortable, clean cottage in a great location. My step-son was graduating from Manchester Uni and this was an ideal place to be based at; with easy access to the train station to get us into Manchester for the big day. We stayed with my elderly in-laws and our Springer Spaniel and being a bungalow with a huge garden it suited us well. Walks were within 5 mins from the property and the scenery was breathtaking. Fully equipped, Pat the owner goes out of her way to make sure you have a comfortable stay. We hope to stay again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden & location
Liked least: Mattress on Four Poster Bed
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2016
Many thanks for your time and review. Pat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable bungalow with beautiful garden”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a lovely time. We had our beagle with us who really enjoyed the garden and the lovely local walks - as we did!!
Pat the owner has a wealth of knowledge of the history of Glossop and is very helpful.
The bed was very uncomfortable though so perhaps a new mattress would be good.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2016
Thank you for the review, the mattress is new it is six months old and is Silentnight ,Miracoil, Memory.it cost £480.00.Pat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie S
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“very comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Great location ideal for our walking holiday. Accommodation is very roomy and comfortable. Pets welcome (we were allowed 2 dogs with prior consent after seeking permission)and safe to relax in a spacious enclosed garden. Mrs Morris is very helpful and nothing is to much trouble.
I will be happy to return to explore the area more.
Transport links are great with Manchester only 40 mins away by regular trains we booked on the day under £8.00 return.
Local amenities are all within 5 to 10 minutes walk.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and space + large garden great for the dogs
Liked least: We had the four poster bed not keen but thats just a personal thing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2016
Thanks very much.Pat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dwood2711
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Traditional cosy cottage”
Reviewed 10 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I stayed for only 2 nights to attend a family wedding. The cottage has everything you need for a comfortable stay, with a large living room and well equipped kitchen. The garden has a large paved area and lawn which would be lovely to sit and relax in when the weather is good. Pat was there to greet me and give a guide to the facilities, she also came to wish me farewell, I must commend her on the cottage being absolutely spotless,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2016
Thank you very much,Pat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea W
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Short break”
Reviewed 5 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Well equipped clean large rooms with a huge beautiful garden. Lovely open fire and large cosy bath. Absolute value for money. Can recommend Manor park 8 mins away by car and local reservoir walks. Pat is very welcoming and attentive. Many thanks for letting us share your property. X

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2016
Thank you so much.Pat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick H
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Wonderful friendly owner. The cottage itself was well presented clean and homely. Lovely garden and child / dog safe.
Will consider staying again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2016
many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;