We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Burnswark Cottage Burnswark Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Burnswark Cottage
Burnswark Cottage
four poster bedroom
Garden
garden in winter
The  History of Bottoms Reservoir, the engineer and the conservation area. Hadfield.
Longdendale valley and reservoir
Bottoms Reservoir.Hadfield.
local views
The Victorian  Pump house,Bottoms Reservoir. Hadfield.
The Weir Bottoms Reservoir.Hadfield
The Overflow fountain Bottoms Reservoir. Hadfield.
The Weirs. Bottoms Reservoir. Hadfield.
local views
local views
local views
local views
local views
Local View
Local View
Local View
Ladybower,Dambusters Dam
4  Star Registered
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Glossop, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Super”
Reviewed 31 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a fantastic time in a very well equipped home. The garden is absolutely fabulous. Pat is a very friendly and very helpful host!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2017
HI, thanks soo much for taking the time to give me a lovely review, and thanks for being such lovely guests.Pat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Cosy retreat”
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed at the cottage for 2 nights with our children. Cottage was clean, comfortable and perfect for a short break. Kids loved the back garden.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to give me a review.Most gratefull.Pat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
“Excellent pet friendly holiday accommodation”
Reviewed 27 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I lived in Glossop for many years before moving to the midlands in 2006. I wanted a comfortable place to stay from which to visit old friends and revisit places that held so many memories. The bungalow is very comfortable, well equipped and an ideal place to stay. The owner is friendly and welcoming and makes sure that you understand how everything in the bungalow works. There is off road parking for two cars.

The local pub is just up the road with shops in walking distance. The wonderful Longdendale trail for dog walking and scenic views over the reservoir is nearby.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review.Pat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmy H
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home from home short stay”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A well equipped and cosy bungalow with a gorgeous enclosed back garden. This was perfect for our stay with a three month old baby and a young Welsh terrier. Pat couldn't have been more helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Great walking on the doorstep which is buggy friendly and a choice of restaurants in Hadfield highstreet. We enjoyed Glossop market and a trip out to Lyme Park. A stunning weekend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2017
Hi Menna, thank you soooo much for your kind review.Pat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ceney3
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“We could not have picked a nicer place to stay”
Reviewed 30 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This is a lovely cottage and wonderful place to stay. The owner Pat is most accomodating and rightly passionate about the property and the Peak District. Nothing is too much trouble for her. The location and standard of accomodation exceeded our expectations and the large, well maintained garden was perfect for our dog to wander around. We had a great time, may well be back and would definately recommend to others. Thanks again Pat

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2016
Thank you so much, most grateful. Pat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn K
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation and friendly host”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The bungalow was everything we expected and more. We travelled with 2 dogs on a very hot day and Pat met us with water ready for them. It was very clean and everything we needed was available. The property is actually in Hadfield, which was the location for filming for the League of Gentlemen. There is a walking trail around the village pointing out key points of interest. A must for any fans.
Just a note that the parking requires you to reverse out on to the road, and there was often neighbours or school drop off parked cars to watch out for. Not a major problem but easier if someone called you out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2016
Thank you so very much for taking time to write the review.Pat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystalca...
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable cottage in a great location.”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Very comfortable, clean cottage in a great location. My step-son was graduating from Manchester Uni and this was an ideal place to be based at; with easy access to the train station to get us into Manchester for the big day. We stayed with my elderly in-laws and our Springer Spaniel and being a bungalow with a huge garden it suited us well. Walks were within 5 mins from the property and the scenery was breathtaking. Fully equipped, Pat the owner goes out of her way to make sure you have a comfortable stay. We hope to stay again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden & location
Liked least: Mattress on Four Poster Bed
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2016
Many thanks for your time and review. Pat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing