We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rooms - Pity about the Breakfast”
Review of Little John Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Little John Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hathersage
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Rooms - Pity about the Breakfast”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

6 of us stayed the night in this gaff and were impressed with the warmth, size and great en suite facilities of the rooms. Also the real ale in the pub was top notch. However, when we walked into the "breakfast lounge" our expectations for a heartwarming start to the day were not met.
Firstly, nobody seemed to be present and we didn't know where to sit - eventually we found a free table with really old leather chairs which were hollow in the middle. It turned out you helped yourself to starters - but alas, no tea - just cold coffee. Also, the milk had run out.
After about 10 minutes a gentleman appeared and seemed hesistant to take any orders as one of our group had not come down from his room. We managed to order a pot of tea but had to wait ages. We then had to wait another long time for the milk as we didn't get chance to ask about this the first time round. We ordered 6 full breakfasts which to be honest, were not bad but disappointingly, served without any bread or toast. You were supposed to toast your own bread but as you may now have guessed, there was no bread in the "toasting" area. Sadly the breakfast guy had long since disappeared into the kitchen cloud - never to return.
When we got round to paying, we came across a nice youngish couple who had obviously left the breakfast duties to the "B" team - it wouldn't take much effort to improve on this and earn 5 stars from people like myself who may also leave future reviews.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morphohecuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie B, Manager at Little John Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2015
Dear Guest. As a new manager of the Little John Hotel, I really want to apologize for your unpleasant stay in our Hotel. I want to inform you that we have improved ourselves, and I will be really glad if I can invite you for another stay in our hotel, so that you can see for yourselves that the problems you have mentoined are not going to be repeated. Your sincerely Zlatko ( manager of Little John Hotel)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    55
    41
    20
    30
See reviews for
51
71
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The Little John in Hathersage is the perfect place for a weekend in the northern Peak being centrally based to most places.
They have plenty of twin rooms suitable for most groups, the hotel has all a group needs, reasonable priced rooms, a quality breakfast, good selection of beers and a public house feel in the evening with the choice of an almost private dining experience for a group of 10+ people at the rear of the dining room.The food is good quality and if anything over large helpings and competitive prices.
Hathersage is an interesting place being the "home" of Little John of Robin Hood fame with his grave a 5 minute walk away.It is also a compact little village with a station a 5 minute walk from the hotel so you can get anywhere almost in the dark peak on a train ride being 10 minutes away from Edale and even if you have non-walkers on the trip or want to spread your wings then a train ride to either central Manchester or central Sheffield is just 20 minutes away.
Castleton and the famous Blue John mines/ shops are just 5 minutes away.
A final point on the accommodation is that all the rooms have recently been renovated to a quality standard.And a final, final one is that they are flexible in offering a choice of room types by adding a bed or providing a double bed in a room for one person.
We have been before to the LJ and are always well loooked after by Stephanie, mine hostess,
and will return whenever we are visiting this part of The Peak so....WELL DONE AGAIN STEPH, see you soon.
Ian

Room Tip: The Loxley room is worth paying extra for the space and facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian3marshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie B, Guest Relations Manager at Little John Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2016
We are now offering two holiday lets
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Opening moments of our stay were disastrous. Greeted with scowl by landlady (. Admittedly we were early)and a curt " rooms not ready"!! Quickly followed by a demand for full payment for the 2 nights stay.( We hadn't even seen the rooms)!!!!
The rooms when we eventually were allowed to leave our luggage were large,light and airy and spotless. At last a plus.!
Our evening meal ( there were 7 of us)was somewhat of a mixed quality-- mixed grill,chicken,steak were all of good quality and portion sizes.The 3 liver, and bacon somewhat overcooked (and no bacon). The young ladies behind bar and waiting were polite and HAPPY( landlady note!!)
Breakfast again was a mixed experience . This was our introduction to the landlord. He was the same as his partner --- bloody miserable!!! The full English breakfast was very good, but the atmosphere icy!!
To sum up -- what could be a nice venue/ stopover was spoilt by the attitude of the owners. A smile , " how are you" and a smidgen of of friendliness could work wonders!!!!

Room Tip: Seems like Fri night in Hathersage is "yob" night.Take earplugs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank c_kerry778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie B, Manager at Little John Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2015
Dear Guest. As a new manager of the Little John Hotel, I really want to apologize for your unpleasant stay in our Hotel. I want to inform you that we have improved ourselves, and I will be really glad if I can invite you for another stay in our hotel, so that you can see for yourselves that the problems you have mentoined are not going to be repeated. Your sincerely Zlatko ( manager of Little John Hotel)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We held our team away day at the Long John Hotel. Although they had limited space they found us a private area and were very welcoming. We had ordered a buffet for our lunch and it was superb when it came in plentiful supply and good quality and ery good value for the price we paid and I would recommend you try the food at this hotel.The staff were attentive and friendly and this added to the pleasant experiece we had.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebellSheffieldUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie B, Guest Relations Manager at Little John Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2016
We are now offering two refurbed holiday lets
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed here for two nights. The room had clearly been recently refurbished and was excellent with tea & coffee making facilities. There was a group of us staying & we needed to be away for 7.30am the landlady very kindly volunteered to get up early to cook our breakfast which was very much appreciated. The Little John is very good value for money.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HalifaxWilmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie B, Guest Relations Manager at Little John Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2016
We now have two holiday cottages available
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We (7 of us)visited the pub last month for a meal and we got a very warm welcome, we all ordered different meals and due to the expertise of the chef Neil all arrived well presented, and very tasty would recommend the pub\food to anyone

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Chris251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie B, Guest Relations Manager at Little John Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2016
We now have 2 holiday cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed here in August for the weekend in a family room ... was amazed when we walked into our family room great decor ... great bedding and comfy beds ... fantastic .... tea and coffee facilities nice bathroom with bath and shower .. hair dryer ... the food menu had a good selection ... meals were lovley especially the home made steak and kidney pie .. yummie !!! Breakfast ... fruit juice ..yoghurts ...good choice of cereals .. toast and jam ... anything from a full english breakfast to a sausage butty ... tea and coffee .... was a very enjoyable weekend and will deffo stay there again .... was impressed ... staff were very friendly .. thanks for an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank limaralady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie B, Guest Relations Manager at Little John Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2016
We now have 2 refurbed holiday cottage available
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hathersage
0.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
388 reviews
5.0 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
8.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
11.7 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,617 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little John Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little John Hotel

Property: Little John Hotel
Address: Station Road | Hope Valley, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hathersage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hathersage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Little John Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little John Hotel Hathersage, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing