We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place, not sure about management style”
Review of Little John Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Little John Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hathersage
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I should point out that I did not stay in the hotel, just had a drink and a meal on two occasions recently. The bar and eating area are pleasant and clean, spacious and comfortable, The food is good quality and fairly reasonably priced. The service is friendly and timely. The one thing that bothers me is (and I can't describe this without being personal I'm afraid) the lady who runs it. She's seemed to spend all her time during both my visits either micro-managing or more often talking, while simultaneously describing how she had no time available. OK, that's part of the job but some of the talking contained deprecating, even very rude observations about (fortunately absent) customers, personal financial / business information and even snide remarks about her staff (who she, with staggering irony, described as "backstabbing"). All the above was broadcast at teeth-grinding length to all present in a loud tone that managed to be both dreary and grating. Now, I really don't want to talk like this about anyone, but it's merely a fair and true observation and it really is a case of "if you can't take criticism, don't dish it out," It did not make for a pleasant or relaxed atmosphere and is offered up simply as a potential area for improvement.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dc55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie B, Guest Relations Manager at Little John Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2016

We now have 2 holiday lets available

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

We were a group of three on a climbing mini (very mini) break and were in 'Robin Hood' and 'Little John' respectively. There was a very warm welcome and the accommodation area of the pub looked like it had been recently decorated, it's bright and pretty and the rooms are really nicely turned out. The beds were SOOO comfy and with lovely linen. I did miss having a bedside lamp but was so knackered I was straight to sleep anyway! And the bathroom was lacking a towel rail of some kind but was spacious and clean and with a lovely big shower cubicle.

The 'Heartbeat' ale went down perhaps too well although it would have been nice to have had more aley choices.

We ate in the bar for both nights of our stay and the food was awesome. Breakfast was great on the first morning but a bit disappointing on the second as the hash browns and mushrooms had disappeared, no real matter as the massively tasty sausages made up for it! If I was being super-critical I would say that the crockery was all a bit massive for the table.

All in all a great stay in a really friendly atmosphere with decent food and ale.

Room Tip: Little John is VERY light, bring a sleep mask if morning sunlight keeps you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Domesticlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie B, Guest Relations Manager at Little John Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2016

We now have 2 holiday cottages available

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Little John is a great place to stay. Our 17 year old son is staying there week days whilst he is working in Hathersage.
He has found it a great place to stay; he is well looked after, and and has found all of the staff very friendly and very flexible.
He has stayed is all of the rooms, and has found them all very comfortable.
He has enjoyed the food, both on the normal menu and the specials.
I stayed there on his first night; we arrived during Mother's Day afternoon, and found the place very busy with many diners, but we still we received a warm welcome and were shown our room promptly. The room was very nice, with all of the facilities that you would expect - large TV, tea, coffee & biscuits, soap , shampoo etc in the bath/shower etc. The room was well fitted out with comfortable beds and chairs.
We ate that evening, and had a special, freshly made chicken kiev - really very nice!
Breakfast the following morning was great - we could have had a light breakfast, but both chose the full English breakfast, which set us up well for the day.
I would recommend the Little John to anyone who needs a friendly base in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie B, Guest Relations Manager at Little John Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2016

We now have 2 holiday lets available

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We only stayed here for one night and it did us fine !! The good points ... Our room was clean and spacious and very nicely decorated with a view of the peaks , bathroom was very clean with a lovely modern shower and toilet , ( also very nicely decorated) bed was comfortable , plenty of pillows, dining room was ok with a variety of cereals, toast fruit juice to choose from and the English breakfast was a very good size . Now for the bad points...... Few cobwebs in dining room that needed getting rid of , nothing major there , we found the lady who served us behind the bar a bit arrogant when we were checking in as she was telling us we were too early , but we had confirmation in black and white that check in was at 10.30 but she said it was 12.00 !! They also had an over friendly member of staff who kept jabbing me in the ribs !!!!! Now we were going to a wedding , and the icing on the cake was when the lady behind the bar TOLD us we will be back at the hotel for 1.15am or WE WILL BE LOCKED OUT! We found this disgusting but never the less did as we were told !!!!!!!!!!! Overall apart from the curfew and the unfriendly attitude of one member of staff this place is an OK place to get your head down for the night .

Room Tip: Ask for maid Marian room .. Very nice in there .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrsnickysheppard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie B, Guest Relations Manager at Little John Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2016

We now have 2 holiday cottages available

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The previous reviewer (SharonM72) has just about said it all, but here goes:
Positives:
Central location.
Free car parking.
Sky tv in public rooms.
Dog friendly.
Spacious and clean rooms.
Friendly and helpful staff.
Nice full English breakfast.
Good choice of meals.
Plenty of hot water.

Negatives:
Noise and music from bar area can be heard in bedrooms until 12.30am.
Security alarm activated 3 times over 2 nights by other guests.
Bins not emptied from bedrooms.
Dirty cups not changed, or tea/ milk replenished over 2 night stay, even when asked.
Poor quality towels
Soft beds.
Unable to tilt blinds in bedroom, so light streaming in from 5am.
No bed side lights, light switch behind wardrobe by the door (God bless phones with torch aps).

We picked a terrible weekend to stay, weather wise that is, rained most of the time, so spent a good few hours inside the premises playing games etc. Plenty of locals visit, found vast majority friendly and chatty.
The breakfasts are good and filling, even though on the 2nd morning our full English was missing toast and tomatoes, which other guests had (must have run out?).
We had also had an evening meal here, plenty to choose from and good value. But be warned the portions are huge, far too much really.
So all in all the overall experience would be about average.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie B, Guest Relations Manager at Little John Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2016

We now have 2 holiday cottages available

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I must admit we arrived at the Little John Hotel with trepidation after reading the most recent reviews! I even booked another hotel but having discovered I couldn't cancel without charge, we had to go ahead and stay there. Now to the facts: The Alan-a-Dale room was spacious and clean. Beds were comfortable. Suggestions would be better blinds! (If you are sleeping on the left hand side of the double bed the street light is like an orange laser beam straight in your face at night, and once it hit six am, we were all awake as the room was flooded with light) Also not keen on carpet in a bathroom...There are no bedside lamps and the plug sockets are all over the place, it's an old building, yes - but attention to detail is really important and makes all the difference. Oh, and a bin in the bathroom would be fab.

Now to the staff - lovely barmaid on arrival, nice lady serving breakfast, although the first morning someone hadn't laid the table properly so we waited like lemons for cereal bowls, spoons and cups for our tea. Very nice breakfast although didn't really want to sit and watch Sky sports blaring out at 8am to be honest, but it helped time pass while waited for bread to thaw in the toaster!

We were unsure what the Little John is trying to be (inn, b&b, hotel?) perhaps they could add an information folder in each room (like telling guests everything they need to know from the code to the door to the stairs, what door is open in the morning so they can get out!) plus an up to date holiday brochure - it helps people feel welcome and that you, the owner are glad they have picked your hotel/b&b/inn and doesn't make the guest feel like they are paying you to feel like a right royal pain for asking the simplest question!

Would we return? Sadly not.

Room Tip: Alan-a-Dale room, sleep mask and ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SharonM72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie B, Guest Relations Manager at Little John Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2016

We now have 2 holiday lets available

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Clean, newley refurbished rooms. Cheap and cheerful. Do not stay here if you want hot showers and a smiling landlady. Do stay here if you want a spacious, cheap room. The staff are lovely, the management leave something to the imagination - they seem disallusioned with the hospitality business....
Breakfast fine and cooked to our groups differing requirments. Pub lifeless and dead on a saturday night, apart from a drunk offensive barman dressed in sports wear and high on authority.
An odd place,but we did have a cheap stay in a lovely part of the world, although the town lacks life at night.
Special occasion?- Stay clear.
Group of mates on outdoorsy weekend? - it'll suffice if you dont mind rude management and drunk idiots behind the bar.
All other staff lovely and hardworking.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tessio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie B, Guest Relations Manager at Little John Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2016

We now have 2 holiday lets available

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hathersage
0.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
401 reviews
5.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
8.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
393 reviews
19.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
11.7 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little John Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little John Hotel

Address: Station Road | Hope Valley, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hathersage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hathersage
Price Range: £63 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Little John Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little John Hotel Hathersage, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing