We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW”
Review of George's

George's
Ranked #12 of 16 Restaurants in Hathersage
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The evening did start off wrong, the wine waiter managed to get our wine order wrong on two occasions! The first time he brought a bottle of white when we ordered red, and then brought the wrong red, third time lucky!!

The food was FANTASTIC.,,each course was wow, you had to sit and look at your food in awe before you started eating! The presentation, the seasoning and the products were faultless.
I cannot describe my dessert because words would not do it justice, it was "top draw" the chef is a genius!!!

I had a glass of red dessert wine, which finished the night off on a nice note.

The food may seem expensive, but for once you get what you pay firm nice surroundings, nice food and great staff

Please go and visit

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank molliemo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    21
    3
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed there last night and had a lovely eve. The food was excellent, the staff were delightful and the room was very nice and clean. Very good value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I loved The George Hotel. Easy to find, ideal secure parking, beautiful surrounding walks etc..My room was spacious and charming, breakfast fantastic, evening meals great. The only problem was eating alone, the Early Bird Menu was fixed to 3 choices, the same on all 3 days, so very limiting. Overall, lovely stay.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Simple excellent, we went at 8pm and restaurant was half full which was pleasant.
Very attentive service, delicious food and wine.
Would definitely go back.
The pre 7pm menu looks good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank andrew f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food almost spoilt by rude staff”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We were enjoying drinks in the lounge before being seated. At no point were we offered menus (we had to ask), following this no one was forthcoming to take our order. When we asked politely if someone could take our order a rather rude member of staff ( I recall his name but shall not mention it) said that our table was booked for 2030 and as it was 2025 he would not take our order. Although this seemed rather pedantic it was actually the quite abrupt and rude manner in which he talked which we found rather upsetting. He re-emerged around 10 minutes later and took our order but then did not offer to seat us and we were not seated until about 2045. Luckily at this point our care was taken over by a very polite lady who was very attentive and apologised without us saying anything for the fact we were seated late. Finally to the important part. Food was very very good. Between our group we had a selection of starters all of which were well presented and with a taste to match. Main courses were good, perhaps lacking slightly if one is vegetarian. Desserts were sublime and we were offered coffee and petits four in the lounge. Would return but hope the initial service is improved.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jxw584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed George's also viewed

Hathersage, Hope Valley
Hathersage, Hope Valley
 
Hathersage, Hope Valley
 
Baslow, Peak District National Park
 

Been to George's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing