We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Millstone Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hathersage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

First of all the hotel has a fantastic view across a beautiful valley,we stayed for 2 night's b&b.
Check-in was quick and receptionist very polite and had a staff member show us to our room who explained where and how everything was and worked,the room was nicely decorated and comfortable. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly Tom who advised us on things to see and do. We would not hesitate to visit this hotel again while visiting the beautiful Peak District.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We originally enquired about the Millstone Inn after seeing it on Groupon, however we missed the promotion as they sold out fast and I can now see why.
We saw the website and decided to give it a try and im really pleased we did. Its in an excellent location, and both dinner and breakfast were very good and the staff were very friendly, especially Tom who is a legend behind the bar.
Cant fault it, its exactly what we expected and more, perfect location as a stop over for walkers etc.
I would definitely stay here again with my family even at the full rate.....
Thank you Millstone Inn.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank VWS07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basilbrush1960, Owner at Millstone Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your review, sorry you missed out on our promotion with groupon. yes it sold out very quickly and I have been told by many who managed to get the deal its the best they have been on. we may have not made much profit but made many new friends.
look forward to welcoming you back soon
regards jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We visited here on the strength of a '2 course meal for two' coupon deal. In my opinion It's always best to go with an open mind and little expectation of these type of deals. This experience certainly did nothing to enhance our lowly expectations. The bar/restaurant is very tired looking, the staff we encountered (apart from a polite and helpful young man) were not the most welcoming. The food although rather large portions, was of an inferior quality - drinks were fine. Perhaps we should have observed the notice outside " Chef Required" and re scheduled our visit. I doubt we will return anytime soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABKL0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basilbrush1960, Owner at Millstone Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

After reading this review I am bemused by your comments, coming to an establishment with lowly expectations, as if you are already looking for faults isn't the way to start. The Millstone is a busy well loved country inn catering for visitors and locals its not a Gastro pub or boutique hotel it's a friendly family owned and run Country Inn offering great beers,freshly prepared meals using locally sourced produce at reasonable prices in a friendly and welcoming atmosphere,
If you had issues then maybe you should of said something at the time so we could try and rectify them
I can assure you your experience of the Millstone is not the norm,
regards Jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Just back from 2 nights here, wish we'd had longer! Hotel in lovely position with extensive views over the beautiful hills of the Peak District. Plenty of free parking, hotel quiet despite being on the main road, couldn't hear noise from any other rooms. Room was small but cosy, a little old fashioned but extremely well equipped - kettle, nice tea and biscuits, hairdryer, plenty of storage, good shower! Breakfast exceptionally good, and staff were helpful and friendly. It's a dog friendly place, which may have put me off but there was no doggy smell or hairs anywhere and the dogs we saw were all well behaved! Would thoroughly recommend this place, hope to go again

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basilbrush1960, Manager at Millstone Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for your review, I am so glad being dog friendly didn't put you off, as we are in the heart of the beautiful Peak District national park, where the walking is our biggest attraction it would be a crime to have to leave your dog at home, but we are only too aware of the fact not every one loves dogs, but feel the Millstone is large enough to give every one some space, and our Dyson Animal does the rest .
look forward to welcoming you back to the Millstone soon
jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We have just returned from a lovely weekend break in Hathersage. The Millstone is a lovely place with friendly staff and nice beers. the first evening we arrived we booked a table in the restaurant which did get a little busy, but not sure we needed to book, the food was good with good portions. the breakfast was good with the usual choices. The room we had (surprise View) was a large family room with great views, however I would heed caution to you getting in the shower if you are taller than 5' 5, there is a split level ceiling and my husband at 6'4 almost knocked himself out as there we no warning signs that it was there.
they even arranged our pick up from Hathersage Village after we had gone for dinner to the pub at the bottom of the hill.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basilbrush1960, Owner at Millstone Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for your review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, your comment with regard to the shower height, it is an over bath power shower and we have never had any comment about the split ceiling being a problem before, but thank you for bringing this to my attention and a warning sign will be put in place promptly
look forward to welcoming you again soon
jerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We have just had an amazing Groupon weekend at Millstone. The room was small but spotlessly clean, the staff were all very friendly and helpful ( especially Peter and Tom). The food was brilliant, breakfast and evening meals, and the views were to die for. Thank you so much, we will definitely be returning to your wonderful country inn.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Just got back from 2 great nights here,although this is only a country inn with 8 or 9 bedrooms the standards are on par with any larger hotels.The staff were all friendly and always happy to help,the food was very good and real value for money and they served some of the best chips i have ever had.The room were really well equiped and very clean, the Derbyshire breakfast really set you up for the day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hathersage
0.8 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
401 reviews
0.8 mi away
Little John Hotel
Little John Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hathersage
225 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 4 in Hathersage
342 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Scotsman's Pack
The Scotsman's Pack
#3 of 4 in Hathersage
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millstone Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millstone Country Inn

Address: Sheffield Road, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hathersage
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hathersage
Price Range: £75 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Millstone Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Inn set in the heart of the peak district ideal base to explore the Hope Valley offering a friendly family run inn with 9 rooms great beers and good home cooked food in a comfy relaxed setting ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Millstone Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millstone Country Hotel Hathersage
Millstone Country Inn Hathersage, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing