We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, Friendly and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Millstone Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hathersage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet, Friendly and Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a single night mid-week,
Clean, Quiet and relaxed atmosphere.

The room itself was well presented with good sized windows allowing us to cool ourselves over an unreasonably hot couple of days.

The views out over Hathersage are fantastic.

Plenty of Parking, great home cooked food.

5* review and would definitely recommend to others.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    104
    14
    16
    4
See reviews for
59
164
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Runcorn, Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
202 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Apologies a delayed review. This is the kind of place that you hang your hat and feel at home. Staff are friendly welcoming and obliging. Rooms are basic but homely clean and comfortable- a great base to explore a beautiful country side, come back with your dirty boots and sit down for a glass of the good stuff. Try the walk at the back of the hotel to walk of your breakfast before setting of in any direction to see fabulous countryside, villages and inspiring hill walks including the local Mam Tor. Breakfast was an ample size (flexible on request) and set you up for the day ... wish we had been there for the popular curry night Thursday!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Ockendon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed at this pub for 3 nights whilst on a walking and cycling holiday and we were made to feel very welcome. Nice clean room if a little dated. Lovely food with generous portion sizes. Large ample car park across the room with secure storage for our bikes. Would stay at again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed at this pub for three nights.
The room was very clean, neat and tidy. Could do with a new mattress as the one we had was a bit squeaky.
The food, breakfast and dinner, was really good.
The staff, really accommodating, polite and helpful. The chef on one of the nights and the following breakfast was not too good at reading orders though.
Dog friendly, Oh yes - Very.
The beer, all that I tried was in good condition and appeared to be kept well. The Millstone Ale was a particularly good brew.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhantomPigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had a two night stay and could have easily stayed a fortnight! The hospitality and welcome put us at ease and we felt immediatly at home. The rooms were spotless and comfortable and the food was really good and the real ales were faultless. We thought the staff we're like family members because that's how they treated us. The position of the Inn is priceless, you have everything you need on your doorstep. The walks are endless and the scenery is to die for. I stayed with my mother-in-law and two of my daughters in one large room and they were very accommodating putting us a fourth bed in there and as we thought it was that good I told my husband and he joined us for the second night and traveled up in our camper van and they didn't hesitate to let him stay in the very large scenic viewed car park over the road...the pigs kept him company! We've stayed in a lot of places over the years in the UK and by far this was the one that I would feel happy and comfortable visiting twice a year, every year!

Room Tip: We had the family room which was large with a little single bedroom on the side. I think all the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vedderlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Came here via Groupon for one night and when we arrived we asked to stay another night but it was fully booked. A really old hotel so the rooms etc fitted in. The food was very good and not expensive and staff were very friendly especially Tom who couldn't do enough for us. There was a quiz that night but they were doing food for a birthday party of 60 people later on so we didn't bother. Would stay here again no problem.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eunice38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed Sunday to Wednesday on a Groupon deal (and have subsequently found out the inn themselves do an excellent deal on 3 night breaks). The location of the inn was beautiful and there was ample parking which is always a bonus after a long drive. On checking in, we found the staff friendly and helpful. This continued throughout our stay with staff happy to suggest places to visit. The room was well kept, a good size and in keeping with the character of the inn.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smirf_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hathersage
0.8 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.8 mi away
Little John Hotel
Little John Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hathersage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bamford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
19.6 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
7.7 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millstone Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millstone Country Inn

Property: Millstone Country Inn
Address: Sheffield Road, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hathersage
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hathersage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Millstone Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Inn set in the heart of the peak district ideal base to explore the Hope Valley offering a friendly family run inn with 9 rooms great beers and good home cooked food in a comfy relaxed setting ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millstone Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millstone Country Hotel Hathersage
Millstone Country Inn Hathersage, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing