We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views”
Review of Stanage Edge

Stanage Edge
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic views”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Visited in December and had fantastic weather. Did about an 8 mile walk which led up to Stanage Edge. We weren't disappointed - one of my favourite walks to date. The views were amazing!

Helpful?
Thank CostelloSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    56
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
135 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Stunning Stanage...Keira, eat yer heart out!”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We found it kind of hard to find,in that we wanted to park below it and walk up. We missed the turning in Hathersage (sign post says B&B) on the left that's where you turn.
When we got to Stanage Edge we parked directly below it. We walked up and having already walked for 2 hours earlier on, was a bit puffed not being a super fit girl, I found it took a little more effort than it looked like it would, so I wouldnt try taking granny or any unfit overweight relatives up there. Once up,its completely worth it!
Up the top,men were gliding and they passed us at head level waving,but this you need to watch if you like standing on the edge! The views are unsurpassable,and we stayed and watched the sunset....breath taking!! Keira knightly stood here in the film Pride and prejudice, I
really wanted to see it as it looked amazing !i wasn't disappointed.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Torchythetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Difficult climbing for amateurs but help on hand”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Difficult to find initially. Drive down the side of the church and keep going over the cattle grid then take a left after a few miles. It wasn't on our (old) satnav. No mobile phone signal either. We asked at several "outdoor shops" in Hathersage for directions who were friendly and tried google maps in the shops but after 2 hours and a lot of mileage driving around we eventually found a local person who directed us to the free parking area. It was a fine day but the rocks were damp and difficult to climb, not for the faint hearted although they are not high. The other climbers were particularly helpful, informative and friendly. There was absolutely no arrogance, just interest and passion, and people were interested in where we were from and gave us lots of information not only about the Edge but the locality, places to stay, things to do etc. People were also happy to assist with more difficult routes and point out the best places to start depending on ability. It's a busy and popular area in better weather and the views are amazing, even if you choose not to climb, it is a fantastic place for photography, to meet encouraging new friends or spend a few hours just watching the variety of climbers of all ages and abilities

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jr27Derbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
174 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Stunning scenery, ideal for a bracing winter walk”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My eldest son has climbed here regularly, so I was looking forward to watching some climbers but when my youngest son and I visited - a blustery weekday in January - the area was completely deserted. We parked near Outseats (for free) and, after following a short footpath across the fields and past scattered Millstones (including one with a smiley face) we were able to scramble up to the top of Stanage Edge, following it northwards until we crossed to the other side of the A57, looped back past Redmires Reservoir (where we noticed a handmade poster asking if anyone had lost a camera in the area as one had been found), and returned via Stanage Pole. The entire walk was about 10 miles and very boggy in places. There were some beautiful views, though in places the moors were quite bleak, and I look forward to returning in warmer, drier weather. As other reviews have said, take your own refreshments: we did not pass any cafes or shops.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirecat56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
256 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Climbing Centre of Britain”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stanage is the place to go for single pitch rock climbing. It has well over 1000 climbing routes and hundreds of boulder problems. There is generally parking available though you will need to get there early. Enjoy the grit, don't worry that it is popular - that's a bonus. There is more than enough to go around.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rampikino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stanage Edge also viewed

 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Stanage Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing