We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hathersage
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

My husband and I stayed on a Friday night recently as we were going to the night swim at the open air pool round the corner (which is amazing) we booked a ground floor double room for £89. It's not the cheapest b&b in hathersage but is a bit more special than a regular b&b, the room was beautifully decorated, modern bathroom, good power shower and spotlessly clean. The staff were very lovely too on reception and in the restaurant for breakfast, great choice of breakfast options included in the b&b rate, plus the option of upgrading to a champagne breakfast for £10. I would definitely go to the George again if budget allows!

Room Tip: We chose the cheaper ground floor room (which strangely is up and down lots of steps) and were overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    117
    33
    10
    7
See reviews for
58
189
29
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed here for one night to meet up with friends. Did not use the resturant as wanted sopmethign a bit more casual although looked at sample menu before travel and it did look a bit expensive even the set menu was quite pricey but for a specail occasion I would have tried it out I think! Good loacation in the Peak District and great for getting around. Staff very friendly and helpful at all times. Room was good which was a Standard room and it had just had new carpet so a smelt of this but did not bother us. The bed very very soft which when you are used to a much firmer bed is quite uncomfortable - the matresses could be better I feel. Shower room was very good - clean and well presented. Lots of steps to the room so would not suit anyone with difficulties. Breakfast was very good and lots of choice. Well presented again with different breads and pastries and all locally sourced items and lots of choice. Would stay here again but would look for a deal as it could work out quite expensive and then the Service charge added on at the end does not suit everyone as some people like to choose if they want to tip. I personally thought it saved you the bother.

Room Tip: The room we had was ground floor on the back and very quiet so may be worth thinking about this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DizzyDi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed here 1 night as attending friend's wedding in the hotel. The staff were amazing and nothing too much trouble. During the wedding reception and evening on the patio all the staff came round with nibbles and drinks..Fantatic service.....They were a credit to the hotel. Reception were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was wonderful-The home made marmalade yum yum and waiters service excellent.
Room clean and tidy at the back so quieter than front.Just very hot.........Thank you for a wonderful stay. Would strongly recommend this hotel for your wedding......

Room Tip: Very noisy rooms at front as right on the road....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kidshelpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed for 3 nights as part of a walking weekend. in the Peak District, choosing a superior double room at the back of the hotel. First the positives - friendly staff, beautifully decorated bedroom, great scrambled eggs and jams/marmalades at breakfast.
Negatives - probably the most uncomfortable bed I have slept in for years. With their room rates this was poor - full of lumps, bumps and too soft. My husbands back may take some time to improve. Lack of storage space in the bedroom. There was a tiny chest of draws, 2 bedside tables and a strange wardrobe constructed of shelves and a curtain. Please just put in a big wardrobe, there was plenty of room. (room16 by the way). Somewhat slow service at breakfast on Saturday morning with only one man serving. On several occasions he commented to the entire room on how little sleep he had had (3 hours - do we need to know this ??) and how he was suffering from dementia. Rather inappropriate and unprofessional. Cooked breakfast took 20 minutes to arrive. The next morning there were 3 terrific members of staff serving. The hotel include a 5% service charge on the bill. Now I always thought tipping was a way of refelcting your pleasure at good service ?? Not a means of subsidising poor staff pay. The staff here were all very pleasant but did little for us other than service breakfats and clean the room, therefore this addition was somewhat cheeky. Leave service as a discretionary payment please. Overall this is a pleasant hotel, but very expensive at weekends. I will not stay there again.

Room Tip: Pick one at the rear to avoid road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gus-n-Nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Very welcoming, lovely staff, excellent food - we have booked to return next month.
the only drawback is the difficulty in getting out to the outside seating, this seems to be reserved for parties that book the private meeting/dining room such as wedding parties and the like.
However, the location is such that there are two excellent pubs in short walking distance to sit outside and have a beer.
The rooms could do with air conditioning but have opening windows and table fans.
A great place to stay. We paid £89 B&B for the room, very good value.
This is the sister hotel to The Cavendish on the Chatsworth Estate which is also superb but a little more pricey.

Room Tip: There are just two rooms to avoid which are at ground level at the front with road noise - but the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJ1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

For readers with short memories the middle of July 2013 was VERY HOT for the UK.
I needed a place to stay for a Sunday night. The area was ideal for my purpose. A check on a few price comparison sites and I discovered that booking direct was cheapest (four days before I needed the room. I booked a standard room. I could not fault the standard of the room as it looked as though it had just been freshly decorated. Only two problems.
1. The room was incredibly hot although the staff had pulled the blinds down to keep it a bit cooler. I pulled the blinds up, opened the windows, put the fan on, and the problem was soon solved. My room was at the side and it was a Sunday so the traffic noise caused no hassle.
2. A small point, but if there had been two people using the room it would have been impossible to watch the TV from the comfortable easy chairs provided. However as the hotel was built in the 1600s I suppose they did not think about that problem then!
Shower was in the bath and was both hot enough and powerful enough. There was a good supply of soap etc.
Wifi was free and good enough for my needs (emailing and catching up on facebook friends).
Bed was comfortable, clothes storage adequate,
The staff were polite and helpful in every way. There was a small bar in a residents lounge with reasonable prices.
I did not use the restaurant as it was a bit pricey for what I wanted that night but the menu looked good and I would consider the restaurant if I had been with my wife on a weekend break.

Room Tip: Room 19 was on the side and might be a bit noisy during the week
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbob31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed Saturday night in July. The room was quite large and spacious with creaky floorboards but a tiny bathroom. It was a very hot night, the room had no air con so could not get to sleep. The staff were very helpful and the evening meal was excellent but the service was a bit slow. The breakfast again was excellent but service again slow.Overall quite good but too expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hathersage
4.6 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
19.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
2.3 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
9.9 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
6.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Property: George Hotel
Address: Main Road, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hathersage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hathersage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Hathersage, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing