We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great place for a big group”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sladen Lodge

Welcome to Sladen Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Sladen Lodge
Superking en-suite bedroom Superking en-suite bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
95 reviews
Welcome to Sladen Lodge
Superking en-suite bedroom
Superking en-suite bedroom
Spacious and comfortable lounge with stunning views
Second sitting room for peace and quiet
Dining room with a view
All bedrooms are en-suite
Celebrate with friends and family at Sladen Lodge
Views of the Hope Valley from some bedrooms
Fabulous views from the sunny south facing patio
Well equipped kitchen
Lovely big dining room where you can all dine together around one table
Fabulous location
Recently installed second kitchen
Beautifully light and airy atrium
Superking en-suite bedroom
Sladen Lodge in spring
Enjoy a cool glass of wine on the south facing patio
Sladen Lodge in the Autumn
Spectacular surrounding area
The beautiful Hope Valley
World famous Stanage Edge
The 'shivering mountain' Mam Tor
Hathersage village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Hathersage, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 95 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
padali
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great place for a big group”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We celebrated a 90th birthday here with family coming from Australia and all over the UK. The house is very well thought-out, well-equipped and warm (weather quite cool while we were here), furnished to a high standard. The wi-fi was easy to access and worked well.

The kitchen has two dishwashers - so you can run one while another one is loading - and lots of crockery, glasses and cutlery. I liked the fact that the owners say they accept there will be minor breakages, so you aren't worrying about the odd accident.

And there is a separate drying/utility room with microwave and second fridge. Seven bedrooms all with modern en-suites and TVs, so everyone gets a similar level of comfort. Big, spacious sitting room with a large screen TV, plus several other areas to sit - small sitting room; around the dining table; outside on the patio, so everyone can find somewhere that suits them. This made it a very relaxing holiday.

It's a great centre for walking and other visits - Chatsworth, Eyam both near. We walked via the church (Little John, Jane Eyre connections) up to Stanage Edge from the house.

The office was very helpful with queries, suggesting other possible rentals for rest of family, and possible local caterers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Sladen Lodge. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCPNottin...
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 26 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

I stayed here on a long weekend (Friday-Monday) as part of a large group (16 ladies) celebrating 2 birthdays. As soon as we walked into the lodge we knew it was comfortable and equipped to the highest standard. The kitchen equipment supplied is unbelievable - every detail is thought through. The rooms are warm and comfortable, as are the beds. Complimentary toiletries are provided, as are some household basics, such as toilet paper, dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid etc. We found 2 bottles of Prosecco and some milk in the fridge when we arrived - a nice touch. All rooms have flat screen TVs and there is Sky TV and a Blu Ray DVD player in the main lounge. It is the perfect home from home. There are plenty of walking books provided within the lodge itself and we went on walks on both days as the weather was perfect. The lodge enjoys gorgeous views.
The only minor complaints from us were technical. The iPod docking station was faulty and there was no lead for it (we checked with the owner). Also, the Wifi was virtually non-existent, despite a recent upgrade. These were, however, only minor gripes which didn't spoil our weekend.
If you are a large group who need a warm place to stay in the Peak District, don't hesitate - book Sladen Lodge. You won't regret it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of this lodge
Liked least: Lack of WiFi
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Sladen Lodge and for your very kind comments. We have replaced the missing ipod lead and have a new router for the wifi so the minor gripes have been rectified. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sam b
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Sladen Lodge”
Reviewed 19 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We had amazing weekend at Sladen Lodge and from the moment we walked in the door we were impressed. The whole house is so warm and comfortable with the comfiest beds and amazing showers all with lovely toiletries for use during the stay

The kitchen was so well equipped with pots and glasses, caffetierres, serving dishes, mixers and plenty of dishwasher tablets. The utility was a great addition with a "drinks fridge" and to use as snack store

We had an amazing walk up to Stanage Edge which we did in a circle from the the house and so we didn't need to move the car once

Highly recommend Sladen Lodge for a stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosieness
Liked least: No dislikes
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2016
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Sladen Lodge and were able to take advantage of the beautiful location as well
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KezDQ
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gem Accommodation”
Reviewed 22 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

A real gem of a place to stay, well located at the edge of Hathersage but well within walking distance of all amenities. Beautiful accommodation, beautifully furnished and all bedrooms with en suite. Wonderful view, nice gardens and fully equipped with everything you could possibly need. Decorated for Christmas which was lovely and two bottles of prosecco on arrival a really nice touch. Wholeheartedly recommended and hope to return someday soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great bedrooms and communal living room to seat all
Liked least: Intermittent wi fi but minor carp
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
57trish
1 review
“Fantastic lodge”
Reviewed 13 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Wonderfully lodge with 7 lovely bedrooms, spacious lounge and dinner table. Everything was provided that we could possibly need, wonderful location and lots of pubs within walking distance. Plenty of hot water and heating. Perfect place to stay with friends or family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and rooms
Liked least: Weather
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2015
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A perfect house for a hen do”
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Our group of 16 spent three nights at Sladen Lodge for a hen party. We really enjoyed the time we spent there. In comparison to a lot of other large houses we looked at online, we were impressed by the ensuite bathrooms in every room, the large living room with space to accommodate our whole group, the large dining area with room for all, and the gorgeous terrace (a fantastic place to have a relaxed Sunday morning breakfast in the sun). The house was clean, extremely well-equipped (two dishwashers and loads of plates/pans/cutlery/glasses) and in a beautiful location. There was enough parking space to fit the six cars we came in. The owner was friendly and quickly showed us around on arrival. During booking and lead-up to our arrival, Anna provided helpful, professional information via email.

The only small downside was the proximity to the train tracks. The point at which they passed nearest to the house seemed to be the point where the train drivers choose to blast their horns! A good pair of ear plugs came in handy!

Great weekend, all the group went away happy! I'd wholly recommend the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The communal spaces suitable for a large group
Liked least: The nearby train line
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire T
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We booked Sladen Lodge for a hen party as we thought it would be ideally based in the Midlands and we had people travelling from all over the country. The Sladen team were extremely helpful when booking the accommodation and when we arrived we were not disappointed! All rooms were perfect and made each of us feel totally relaxed and comfortable. We would recommend Sladen Lodge 100% if you are visiting the Midlands :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing