We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Inn, great food, attentive and friendly service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Plough Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Plough Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hathersage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming Inn, great food, attentive and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

What a treat the Plough Inn is! A really delightful traditional inn with a very relaxed feel. The staff are friendly and welcoming but very professional. The ales on tap are delicious and bar staff are knowledgeable. Our room was very comfortable and great attention to detail (fresh fruit, hot chocolate, nice toiletries).
Something very special however is going on in the kitchen. The food is really quite superb. The usual pub grub dishes are on offer, together with some posher choices. What they manage to do with these old staples is fantastic - liver and bacon on champ was delicious as was the steak. A good range of imaginative and delicious starters is on offer (seared tuna loin was fabulous). The portions are generous, so a day of hiking in the lovely countryside will be well rewarded.
Breakfast was also a treat with lots of lighter offerings in addition to the traditional cooked breakfast.
This was a really memorable experience and a total revelation. Despite some of the commentsI have read on trip advisor, I thought the food (and accommodation) was remarkably good value for money. Not the cheapest, certainly, but for this quality of offering, it was worth every penny. I stayed with my best friend on a road trip but am looking forward to coming back with my husband.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DunneScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    77
    47
    22
    14
See reviews for
66
136
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wivenhoe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

The plough is a hotel with high aspirations. The guest rooms are furnished to a very high standard, such as you would expect to find in a big name city hotel. By way of illustration - automatic shower in huge marble-tiled shower bay; hi-fi with iPod dock; carefully designed spotlighting throughout; extensive storage; double-glazed windows with heavy curtains for a good night's sleep; wi-fi in both hotel and guest rooms. The double room for one cost £160 for two nights.

The restaurant is, as others have said, very good and you pay for it. I had a trio of cured salmon as a starter (pic) followed by liver & bacon, both of which were excellent. The latter was so good I had it again the following night. But you pay what you should for this quality - the main course was £14 (all in).

All the staff were attentive and interested, as were the owners. Any criticisms I would have are trivial, so I won't note them here.

Highly recommended, provided you are prepared to pay for quality.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
193 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Dined with a group of friends for Saturday lunch & can recommend. Lovely food & staff all very good. Sat outside in a small patio area which was lovely. A little on the expensive side but worth the extra for the quality, ambience and service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Romantics77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Ate here a couple of times whilst on holiday. The food was very good and the surroundings beautiful. However we felt the food was overpriced e.g. most desserts were around £7 and a pint approaching £4. There was a pianist playing on Friday evenings which was a nice touch. We recommend The Plough as long as you don't mind paying a bit more than other pubs in the area.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hathersage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We visited The Plough with our little dog and were treated to a wonderful meal in delightful surroundings. Dogs are allowed in all areas except the restaurant, but the decor is so good you would think you are in a top restaurant and our little dog really appreciated the lovely carpet on which she was able to lay under our table! The staff were friendly and we all received a very warm welcome. The food was very good although I found the lasagne rather rich. The bakewell pudding dessert was amazing. This is another little gem in the delightful Peak District which we shall return to.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank janetc472014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

After making a reservation at very short notice for 12 we were welcomed warmly and shown to an ideal table for our large family gathering including 4 young children. Service was attentive and nothing too much trouble. Food was lovely, most opting for the Sunday lunch - my vegetarian pepper and feta tart was equally tasty. House white wine and prosecco served well chilled and good value. We will defiantly return. Thank you.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank reneaero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Surprised to find most diners seated inside this delightful country inn on a warm and sunny day. We chose to occupy one of the outside dining areas with pleasant views over open spaces.Excellent quality food well presented and efficiently served by friendly staff.Drink prices on the high side.Will certainly call again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hathersage
0.7 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.7 mi away
Little John Hotel
Little John Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hathersage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
5.5 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
5.2 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Property: The Plough Inn
Address: Leadmill, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hathersage
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hathersage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plough Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Plough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Hotel Hathersage
The Plough Inn Hathersage, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing