We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable stay in a lovely and well...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hathersage, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Sgt_Peppe...
Sgt_Pepper_9
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay in a lovely and well located cottage”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We enjoyed 4 nights in this comfortable and well appointed cottage with "all mod cons" James and Bal made us very welcome. A quiet location on a working Trout Farm, but with a good pub restaurant right across the road (The Plough Inn). Worth doing some research on Hathersage as there are interesting things in the village. Open Air Swiiming pool for example. The location is also very good for reaching all the most interesting parts of the Peak District. We enjoyed Haddon Hall and Eyam Village as much as Chatsworth. Good walks available right from the door.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
4 May 2017
Its very kind of you to take the time to leave us a great review. We hope that you will visit us again when you plan to visit the other impressive historical buildings in the area. Kind regards James & Bal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne T
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 15 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Just returned from a wonderful relaxing weekend at Pond View Cottage.

Beautiful cottage and amazing scenery there is everything you need inside. On arrival James showed us around Pond View and explained where and how things worked. Our weekend was snowy and cold but we still managed to walk 8 miles which we throughly enjoyed.

The pub opposite is a lovely family run country pub. Wonderful food and lovely people.

We will be back in summer, don't hesitate to book this it is a must weekend break.

And thank you to James for showing us round the trout farm you have an amazing place.

Date of stay: February 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
17 Feb 2017
Thank you both for taking the time to leave a lovely review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The Peaks are a great place to be in all year round- we look forward to seeing you again in the summer time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Date of stay: January 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Jan 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your great review! We are so pleased that you loved the Peak District- please visit again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hm31191
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Amazing cottage and location”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Had a great stay at the pond view cottage. Beautifully decorated and well equipped. Bal and James gave us a very warm welcome and were very helpful. Great location with stunning views. Would definitely recommend this cottage.

Thank you
Henna and Yusef

Date of stay: July 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
26 Oct 2016
Thank you for a lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again. Kind regards to all 3 of you! James & Bal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie H
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pint Sized Peak District Retreat for 2”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Just returned from a wonderful 4 night stay at this beautiful one up one (upside!) down retreat in the Peak District. Very cleverly designed and beautifully furnished to maximise space yet provide everything you need for a short break (upstairs lounge/diner/kitchen & ground floor bedroom and shower room) it has seating by the fishpond and a table & chairs for two on the sun trap front mini terrace where there is also a handy storage box for wet and muddy boots. To cap it all off it's location is directly across the road from a lovely inn (The Plough) and only a 10 minute walk (all pavement) into Hathersage centre. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Date of stay: August 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
2 Sep 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review. We are pleased that you've had a great time at Pond View Cottage. We hope that you'll visit the Peaks again. Regards James & Bal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jillweath...
Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Beautiful cosy cottage in an amazing area and a very warm welcome from the owners. We had a fabulous short break.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
Thank you for your great review- we really appreciate you taking the time to leave a review! We look forward to welcoming you all again! Kind regards Bal & James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon D
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent stay - great find”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We have just returned from a long weekend to Pond View Cottage, Hathersage. Our trip was fantastic from start to finish. The cottage was a great find and in a perfect location for us. It is in a peaceful location but was close enough to the village of Hathersage to walk to (about 20 minutes). There are lots of places to eat in the village, and with a pub across the road from the cottage which has a restaurant as well. Communications before we arrived from Bal were fantastic, with great directions and lots of recommendations of places to eat and walks to do. We were greeted on our arrival from a very friendly James, who showed us the cottage. Pond View is well equipped with everything you could ask for, and all of very good quality. There is a lovely outdoor seating area which unfortunately we didn't use thanks to the British weather. There was secure storage for our bikes and great outdoor storage for those muddy boots after a walk around the fields of Hathersage. Thank you to James for showing us around the Trout Farm, it was really fascinating to hear about how the trout are farmed.
Thank you to both of you for your hospitality. I am sure we will return soon.
Sharon and Andrew

Date of stay: April 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
27 Apr 2016
Hi Sharon & Andrew- thank you both for leaving such a lovely review. We really do hope that you visit us again soon so that you can further explore the Peaks! We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards James & Bal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.