We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Santo's Higham Farm Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Higham
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire
Level Contributor
120 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed 9 November 2011

stayed just for 1 night on business
super receptionist vannessa checked me in very good rate
rooms vary in sixe but mine was ok double bed large plasma screen multi channell tv nice bathroom bidet shower cubicle
with instant hot shower plenty of hanging space in a deceptive large wardrobe
internet access free and instant (BIG BONUS)
food in bar very good but menu needs to be a bit more varied and a smile from the bar staff would be a help although service was most efficiant
good breakfast served to you makes a welcome change from buffet style all well presented and hot
in conclusion a very good independant hotel which deserves to be patronised (i will definatly come back) but just needs to watch some small niggles kettle flex did not reach the plug had to boil on the floor not a problem for me but some people would have a moan about
and finnaly mr santo get your bar staff to cheer up
straw bear

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strawbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    53
    23
    5
    6
See reviews for
44
78
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

A great family run hotel with all the usual conference facilities you would expect, plus exceptionally good customer service. Nice accomodation (28 rooms), great food and reasonably priced. Great central location - just off the M1 but with great views over the countryside.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reading, uk
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Stayed for 2 nights (on business in the area). It was fine, I prefer a place like this compared to say Premier Inn or Holiday Inn Express. Great staff, quirky but very comfortable and clean room. Would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbpop123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed overnight at this hotel recently whilst guests at a wedding. The room we had was spacious, and yes, we overlooked the courtyard and we went to bed before the festivites had finished, however, even though we had the windows open, the noise didn't bother us. The food was very good, breakfast had a good choice on the menu and was a buffet style. The staff were very helpful and polite. The hotel is situated in a lovely location, with splendid views over the Amber Valley, by all means check with the hotel about weddings at the weekends, but I'm sure you will find that the staff will do their best to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Santos the owner worked extremely hard making sure everything was perfect for his guests. I would definately recommend this hotel for it's location and it's very pleasant atmosphere.

Room Tip: Check if there is a wedding party and if so, ask for a room on the quiet side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea_walters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wooburn bucks uk
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Upgraded to a superior room,no towels no toiletries,nice flat screen tv sound no picture ...member of staff unable to get it to work.
Would have liked bedside lights !
Breakfast was okay except bacon had been cooked some time before and was very dry.dinner in restaurant very poor value,disappointed as it was my husbands birthday so following night chose to eat elsewhere,because of location had to drive a distance.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolyno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I booked two rooms for five nights for my traveling companion and myself as a base while we toured Derbyshire. The hotel is in a quiet village in a stone farmhouse that has been enlarged. The rooms are good sized and the bathrooms are modern and spacious with huge tubs with showers over. There is a good sized flat screen tv and free WiFi throughout the hotel.

The decor in some rooms borders on the bizarre. One room, called the Great Wall, we were booked into, and it was so extreme that we didn't know whether to laugh or to be astonished. My travel companion flatly refused to accept the room. The furniture was no more "Chinese" than "Danish Modern". The queen sized bed, the wardrobe, the nightstands were all rococo in shape, but painted glossy black and covered from top to bottom in the most garish and hideous multicolored flowers and the whole lot covered in glossy polyurethane. There was a large photograph of a Vietnamese farmer on the wall, but it was supposed to have been of a Chinese fellow. I cannot imagine why anyone would want to stay in that room. Be sure you inquire when you book.

As we were booked for five nights, they moved my friend into another room, after showing her what was available. One was their handicapped room, with two twin beds and a "wet room" for the bath. While basically fine, it wasn't what she wanted. The only other available room (this was a Saturday night) was a queen bedded room with a cricket (the sport) theme and while perfectly fine in many ways, the drawback was that the only windows opened up into a courtyard that had been recently covered over and so any air coming in was actually still inside air. In addition, the wedding was booked to use that space as well as others in the hotel and the DJ and dancing kept my friend from getting any sleep until past midnight. While I did book the first four nights of our stay through an online booking agency, I had called the hotel directly to confirm they had received the reservation, I also inquired about staying a fifth night, on the Wednesday. I was told they could accommodate us, but no one mentioned the fact that a wedding was booked into the hotel. The front desk staff was helpful in finding my friend another room, and while they did say that she would need to move to a different room for the last night of our stay, they did neglect to mention that they had a second wedding booked on that last night! We heard about the wedding from someone in the hotel's restaurant, and we feel we should have been told about the second wedding, because there was no way my friend was going to put up with the noise from it through her interior courtyard window. On the morning of our next to the last stay she was dressing and drying her hair a group of men chose to hold a meeting in the courtyard outside her window at 8:30 am! She stuck her head out and asked them to move, which they did, but when we discussed this with the owner, he admitted that he hadn't thought about the noise issue for the two rooms that open up into the courtyard. It hadn't occurred to him. While he seemed to be willing to make adjustments, none should have been necessary as someone should have figured this out on his own.

The front desk staff has been very good, in general, and responsive to requests for room fans, restaurant suggestions, the nearest supermarket where we could get a picnic dinner, and so forth. The included breakfast is perfectly fine, either a buffet on the weekends, or cooked to order if you wish poached or soft boiled eggs, or porridge (excellent), hot brown or white toast, and so on.

The hotel does also have a full bar and a restaurant. We did eat in the restaurant our first night as we'd driven some long while and toured two houses and and gardens on our way up north and we knew we wouldn't want to go restaurant searching that night. We each ordered the rib eye steak and while mine was perfectly okay, my companion's was so full of strings and gristle as to be inedible. To be fair they did take it off the bill and as we left the restaurant I noticed that another diner had the same problem with the steak. The main issue I have with the restaurant is that it is entirely a la carte and the prices are very high. A three course meal could easily set you back £50 and that is too high for daily dinners. There is nothing simple like a salad with cheese or a hot or cold sandwich. So after the first night here we have had to go searching for meals elsewhere. There are a number of pubs relatively near by but that also means much the same sort of food too many nights in a row. Some sort of lighter menu at a lighter cost would be most welcome.

I also mentioned to the owner that while the huge bathtub with rainshower is very nice, there really ought to be a hand grip to steady oneself as you get in and out of the tub.

The hotel is very well situated for touring The Peak District, and it is free from road noise or city noise. So, as long as you inquire about weddings (which the hotel does frequently) and that you insist on a room away from the noise, I think you can be comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkhsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Nice rooms comfortable beds, great breakfast and nice evening meals friendly staff would definately stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Higham
8.6 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,299 reviews
6.0 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
711 reviews
6.5 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Derbyshire Derby
The Derbyshire Derby
#2 of 2 in South Normanton
1,444 reviews
6.0 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
336 reviews
9.3 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santo's Higham Farm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santo's Higham Farm Hotel

Property: Santo's Higham Farm Hotel
Address: Main Road, Higham DE55 6EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Higham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Higham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Santo's Higham Farm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Santo's Higham Farm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santo's Higham Farm Hotel Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing