We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Stay In Old Robin Hood”
other travellers have booked this property
Old Robin Hood
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old Robin Hood
Entrance to Old Robin Hood.  Bicycle shed available. Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
Old Robin Hood
Entrance to Old Robin Hood.  Bicycle shed available.
Kitchen
Livingroom, seating for 15 and wood burning stove
Large dining area with views onto the Peak district Seating for 15
View from Livingroom & Garden
Games Area - Pool Table
Games Area - Football Table
Bedroom 1 Kingsize with Sofa bed option.  Sleeps up to 3
Bedroom 2  2x singles plus pullout.  Sleeps up to 3
Downstairs family shower
Bedroom 3 - Double with En suite. Sleeps 2
Ensuite bathroom Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4 - 2 singles plus two pull outs. Sleeps up to 4
Bedroom 5 - King size and sofa bed option. Sleeps up to  3
Outside Hot tub, seating for 15 and BBQ
Large garden for a games outdoors
Parking Area
Fab Sunsets at the Old Robin Hood
In the snow..front of house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Holmesfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
M2Skb
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 12 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here to see in New Year 2016. We had a great stay the house was big enough to accommodate our large group, plenty of space around the house to be well spread out. The house is well equipped with bedding and towels provided. The Angel was a lovely visit and in walking distance. The area has great walks for people who like enjoying the outdoors. The house didn't come without faults these were just some of them, some were addressed whilst we were there as we notified the letter, whilst there.

* Stagnant water in the hot tub we asked Tina to call over top up and add more chemical.
* The broken pool table which couldn't be used for fear it would collapse, we had to stay in whist it was being repaired this took some considerable time.
* The washing machine didn't spin properly (found this out on second day re-washing a dirty shower mat).
* The gate didn't shut properly to the garden so couldn't let dog out without a lead.
* Spaniels coming over a pooping in the garden (first day).
* Being told only on arrival that the dog wasn't allowed in the living room. This should be advised before accepting a booking) people like to have their pets with them, that why they take them away.
*Broken fridge shelf which collapsed and we lost a considerable amount of juice (you told me this later after our arrival this was done by previous people but you had forgotten to remove it.
* Door didn't close properly to en-suit shower, water goes through.
* Fire would not stay lit (contacted you about this you gave us info about the lever at the top, but this didn't rectify the problem).
*Ping pong bats broken.
* Old dirty spaghetti in the bottom of the bin (was there when we took first bag out).
* Outside light by shed didn't work.

We paid £328 a night to stay and lost a day whilst the pool table was being repaired. No reimbursement for that. Please sign the house back with a viewing with the letter, you may not get your full deposit back otherwise!

We enjoyed our stay very much in a beautiful location the house is beautiful but not perfectly kept.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2016
I knew when I saw the name of this visitor the review would be poor, and a lot the points were managed, the real issue here is that the people who came to stay spilt red wine on a brand new duvet cover - they were the first to use it. Unfortunately they were not happy that they had to pay for this. I have had the house rented for many years and I have only held a part of a deposit 5 times due to damages, which was never more than �60. After these people left we had a missing towel and a broken bed, which I didn't charge for. When the above points were raised we sent someone in to fix the hot tub (due to over use and visitor pressing the wrong buttons) and the pool table -this took 1 hour in total. Nothing else was mentioned during the visit. But when pointed out after the visit we did the following, purchased a new pool table, new table tennis bats, fixed the shower (very slight issue). Fire has been checked and no one in the last year has had a problem so unsure why these guests did. We also have just had the house painted. We do keep the house well, and with 15 people staying every week on average there is wear and tear that we work on constantly. Overall I feel the review is a little harsh but we will always take on all the comments and action items immediately.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie1...
2 reviews
“Great Stay In Old Robin Hood”
Reviewed 29 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I stayed at Old Robin Hood with my partners family, There were 11 of us staying and it was just perfect. Log fires, cosy and comfortable and the cherry on the cake was the hot tub with a view! The house is very well equipped in a perfect location for country walks and visits to Chatsworth House.The owners were very helpful and even sent my hat back after I left it at the house! I would highly recommend a stay at the Old Robin Hood.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2016
Thank you Nathalie for your kind review it was nice to see your group back for the 2nd time. Hope to see you all again in 2016.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minibreak...
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another wonderful weekend at the Old Robin Hood!”
Reviewed 23 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Wintry weekends away at the Robin Hood are becoming a tradition for us! Fantastic value for a wonderful property - incredible views (even in miserable weather), cosy rooms and, of course, the hot tub. :) Once again, Aoife managed our stay perfectly. We hope to be back again soon!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2015
Thank you all so much for coming to stay again. Glad you had a great time. And thanks for taking time to do a review. Regards to all
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin A
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great robust fun house for a top stag do.”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

15 of us descended on the Barn for a stag do in Sheffield and had a whale of time. Enough space for us all and room to eat, drink and chill together. Spectacular views. Great local pubs (and Sheffield FC on your doorstep for some top non-league footie) plus it is not too expensive to get taxis into Sheffield for a night out after which you can recover whilst looking up at the stars from the hot tub. Aoife was very helpful and friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2015
Thanks Justin for the feedback great to see you all enjoy the house.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good weekend away - some technical problems”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We are a group of friends celebrating two birthdays and also visiting Chatsworth House for the sculpture exhibition. We visited from Friday-Sunday 4th-6th September.

Overall I would say it was a good house rental overall - however there are quite a few niggles that need addressing:

Wifi only worked on the Friday night - however this only reached to the kitchen and not to the living room. By Saturday morning the wireless was inaccessible - no one in our group could get it to work. I contacted the owner Aoife, however there was some response via text and some attempt to fix the issue remotely however there was no resolution - when I responded later her phone was 'dead' and didn't reply until much later. On Sunday morning Aoife came to speak to us (they live next door to the property) but again there was no solution except to go to closer to their house to use their wifi - however this information was given to us as we were packing our bags.

Obviously wifi isn't the biggest reason to rent house like this - however if you rely on it for work or as a form of communication (our entire group had very poor mobile phone reception) then you'll be out of luck.

Also the TV in the living room is very dated with exposed wires. The TV takes a SCART cable and won't work with HDMI etc. which was disappointing.

One of the single bedsheets had a small red stain on the sheets - probably requires bleaching or replacing

Pool table was a welcome addition, however it was very rickety and wobbly. Foosball table was very nice.

Toilet in the upstairs ensuite did not flush well - the tank never filled up enough to be able to do a proper flush.

Living room floor was very uneven near the steps, potentially dangerous for small kids/older people.

Apart from these small niggles, the property is quite good - large, spacious, ideal for large groups. Hot tub was a welcome addition, and kept very nice and hot.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2015
Thank you for your feedback, we will carry out repairs that you have pointed out. on the floor being uneven- it has underfloor heating, if you put too much cover on the floor you negate the heat. We have had many people staying over the last 5 years and it has not been a problem.
Apologies for the wifi issue, I was away on the day and it is unusual for our customers not to be able to contact me.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Sep 2015
Glad you had a great time. Hope to see you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Danny C
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“How Every 30th Should Be...”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I just wanted to drop you a quick review as we’ve all now made it back to Norwich. I just want to say what an amazing time we’ve all had over the weekend. The place and view were perfect and you have been lovely with helping us out over the weekend.

Three of us had birthdays this weekend two of which had our 30th, we couldn’t think of anywhere we would rather have been, everything we needed was there and at hand.

Kind Regards
Danny

P.s. I think all the girls are now in mourning without Poppy around!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing