We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Old Robin Hood
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old Robin Hood
Entrance to Old Robin Hood.  Bicycle shed available. Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Old Robin Hood
Entrance to Old Robin Hood.  Bicycle shed available.
Kitchen
Livingroom, seating for 15 and wood burning stove
Large dining area with views onto the Peak district Seating for 15
View from Livingroom & Garden
Games Area - Pool Table
Games Area - Football Table
Bedroom 1 Kingsize with Sofa bed option.  Sleeps up to 3
Bedroom 2  2x singles plus pullout.  Sleeps up to 3
Downstairs family shower
Bedroom 3 - Double with En suite. Sleeps 2
Ensuite bathroom Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4 - 2 singles plus two pull outs. Sleeps up to 4
Bedroom 5 - King size and sofa bed option. Sleeps up to  3
Outside Hot tub, seating for 15 and BBQ
Large garden for a games outdoors
Parking Area
Fab Sunsets at the Old Robin Hood
In the snow..front of house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Holmesfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
McKimboFa...
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 8 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

15 families gathered together for my Mum's 70th birthday weekend ranging from 5 years old to 74... Including several teenagers who loved the pool table and baby-foot. House was clean, really well equipped and perfect for our get-together.

Thoroughlly enjoyed. Pubs down the road were great - and visited Bakewell for a few hours which was lovely - very quaint.

Thank you for a great weekend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paullogan...
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect birthday location”
Reviewed 24 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

I was surprised by my wife for my 50th with a stay in the beautiful Peak District. What made it even better was the location.
The house was perfect, high up on a hill with stunning views over the moors. All rooms were of the highest quality, plenty of room for everyone, clean, and well equipped. The gardens were lovely to wander in, with the added bonus of a great hot tub.
Will stay there again, very soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Dec 2016
Thanks for your kind words, glad you enjoyed the special day at the Old Robin Hood. Come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gemgem38
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place ”
Reviewed 18 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

There were 13 of us staying here for a hen do, it's even better than it looks on the photos!

Positives:
The house is huge and has plenty of beds.
All bedding and towels provided.
Clean!
Hot tub is fab.
Well stocked kitchen (cutlery, plates, pans etc.).
Big lounge/dining room, lovely beams across the ceiling and bonus of a log fire (although we didn't use it).
Pool table and football table as well as games for the garden (bat and ball etc.) and board games.
Great location, only 25min taxi from Sheffield but equally next to plenty of fields and a nice country pub down the road (The Angel).

Negatives (only a few and definitely wouldn't put me off going again):
There are only two "proper" showers (there is a plug in shower in a stand-alone bath in one of the bathrooms but it's not very practical).
Ran out of toilet roll and couldn't find anymore in the house.
Dogs from next door are very lively and were knocking over glasses in the garden (the morning after) and also the cat from next door ran into the house (as did the dog at one point) and would not come out from under the bed - had to call the next door neighbour to help us.

Would definitely go back here!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2016
Hi Gemma
Thank you for your lovely review. I apologise for the animal visit. I will ensure the more care is taken to ensure this does not happen again. As a self catering cottage, we do leave a starter kit of provisions for the house. The shower comment is a difficult one, as some people want baths ..we have debated about changing the bath, but feedback from renters is that they like having the option. We would love to welcome you and your group back. I really appreciate the time you have taken to write this review for everyone. Take care Aoife
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela M
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super views of a superb location with a hot tub to boot!”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Super large spaces in a lovely conversion with lots of lovely wooden beams and high ceilings. A great location with good walks and local pubs with good food.
The kitchen could do with an equipment check. I would have liked a ladle and a slotted spoon amongst one or two other things and the oven when switched on needed some buttons pressing for it to work, which necessitated referring to the oven manual which wasn't straightforward for me, luckily a friend had a similar oven and helped out. There were a couple of missing tiny buttons which may have made a difference if present.
The owners were very friendly and a handyman was fixing some issues as we were checking out. A good place for bigger groups. We were only 5. Lots of games and activities for rainy days. A welcome pack of essentials such as tea milk bread and butter would have been a nice touch but not essential.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Val209
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely large house with beautiful views”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This is a lovely large house very suited to a large party or large family gathering. The hot tub is a great asset. However we were a group of five women looking for a lovely large house so we could have a bedroom each. This meant that some of the niceties we had appreciated in properties we had visited previously were missing . This would include things such as a welcome pack ,a hairdryer for each room not just one for the house and perhaps slightly more attention to detail in the presentation of the house, such as removing chipped crockery from the kitchen and perhaps some proper dining chairs that are more appropriate to the rest of the furniture in the house. However the weekend was enjoyable in a beautiful area and the pub in the village , The Angel, is well worth a visit. So this is a great house perhaps more suited to a larger group.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: The folding dining chairs
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2016
Thank you for your feedback, I will take actions on the comments. We do provide a welcome pack so unsure what was missing. As we have a variety of party sizes, we have flexibility buy providing some dining chairs that can be folder down but I'll ask some more future visitors so I can understand what changes we might need to make. Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honiton
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub was great. Well equipped with games room and games for the garden to keep the kids entertained.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing